We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, mice running in the hallway.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Rodi Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Windber, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow, mice running in the hallway.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I booked the Comfort Inn hoping to spend a nice night after the Pirates game and then head to the Zoo the next day. Boy were we in for a surprise. We waited 20 minutes for the receptionist to get off of the phone prior to being able to check in(with 3 kids waiting patiently). We were instructed to follow the stairs down the the first floor where our room was located. Once we got down to the first floor it was basically just a basement. Very dark and gloomy; the whole place smelled like mold and mildew. There was actually a large fan 2 doors down from our room blowing air all night. Then to cap it all off we were walking up to the restaurant when another lady starts yelling that she saw a mouse. My family and I also saw it and I managed to chase it to the side of the building where it disappeared into a crack in the wall. Needless to say, my kids did not sleep very well and we really should have left and went to another hotel. I talked to the front desk and they told me they would "look into" the mouse situation. I have stayed at Comfort Inn's before, but this experience will keep me away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    45
    19
    25
See reviews for
68
30
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the weekend of July 19-22nd. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the pool was in nice condition and much larger than other Comfort Inns we've visited across the country. The location was ideal for us, and there are really no other hotel choices in Penn Hills. We paid a rate of $80/night which was probably about right -- I would not have wanted to pay more for this hotel due to several issues that others have commented about -- shabby carpets throughout, generally worn furniture and bedding (with holes in the bedspreads), shower towels that are cheap and get quickly saturated with water when you towel off. Although the A/C unit kept the room cool, it somehow didn't remove the humidty so it always felt moist in the room. We asked the office manager about it, and he said they had been noticing this in the rooms throughout the hotel since early July and weren't sure what to do about it. One other negative -- the line for breakfast got very long by 8 or 8:30. The hotel seemed to be booked completely, and the dining area is definitely too small for that many rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This property is very large and sprawling. The setting is lovely, on a hill, with many trees. The facility is a little shabby--the carpet looked very well used and there was a rip in the bed skirt. Due to the fact that it is built on a hill, there are several levels, with stairs between and no elevators! Also, no luggage carts. However the room was clean, a good size, and comfortable. I had a queen bed and a fold out couch. Maid service was slapdash--cups for coffee were not replaced after I had used them all the first night. The bathroom was incredibly tiny, and after I got in the tub, I realized that it was much smaller than standard size. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was great! Lots of selection, and a pleasant place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewitt, Iowa, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was advertised as newly remodeled. Wallpaper peeling from walls, dirty carpet, and spiders in the room. If this was actually newly remodeled, the contractors need to be sued. The hotel was also advertised as having a large pool, which was a necessity for us since we were travelling with children. The pool was closed for maintenance. Room keys wouldn't work to get into the hotel and had to go back to front desk after a long walk to get keys reset...twice. One of the front staff was very rude and unsympathetic. I am extremely dissatisfied with this hotel. When we informed the front staff the pool was a requirement for us, they didn't seem to care and offered nothing as compensation for not having what was advertised and the general condition of the hotel being misrepresented. If I was in charge of customer relations, I definitely would not attach my name to this particular property. Again extremely dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere ELSE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

$68 a night is better than the advertised $119, but it is clearly not a $119 hotel. Located convenient to the expressway to Pittsburgh and close to the Monroeville turnpike entrance, this venue offers adequate, but tattered lodging. Rooms are relatively clean, but the dust covered telephone was a give-a-way that the clean is not thorough. Lampshade is cracked and the room is dark despite seven lighting sources. Closet sliders are off-hinge. This venue needs some attention. Buffet breakfast provides toy-sized yogurt, cereal, sausage patties and scramble egg-like substance, toy-sized donuts, make-your-own waffles and choke-it-down coffee-like liquid.
But even if the price were $ 69, it would be nearly worth it.

Room Tip: bottom level has prevailing mold smell. Stay on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was pleasant - the desk personnel, cleaning staff and waitress.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. After traveling all day we didn't want to go out again. Dinner in the lounge was delicious. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We had to stay for night in Pittsburgh on Memorial Day , before helping our daughter move into her apartment in town the next day. We went to the hotel with a Hotel coupon. Michael at the reception was exceeding helpful with a 4 page list of dining options in the vicinity ( their in house restaurant was closed on account of the holiday ) . The rooms were large , clean, comfortable beds, clean sheets, towels and a very decent breakfast.
A footnote : we discovered four days later that my wife had lost misplaced her laptop sleeve , when we called the hotel on the off chance that they may have it , they promptly called us back after investigating and locations it. We went back today to get it .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Conference Center

Address: 699 Rodi Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.