We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer HI Expresses I've stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Kennesaw, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of the nicer HI Expresses I've stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

This is a really nice Holiday Inn, one that sets the bar for me for other hotels in its class. The building is new, the rooms are in great condition, it has a pool, and is just a really nice property.

The location is great -- Carson Street, with its many bars and restaurants, is right around the corner, and the city awaits across the river. There's even a mediocre Italian restaurant on the premises, if you're lazy, and a dozen places that'll deliver subs and pizzas to you.

The building is new, always a plus. The rooms are decent sized. Be aware that there's road noise on the road side, and train noise wherever. If you're a light sleeper, this might not be the place for you. There's even jacuzzi rooms, which I stayed at once. The jacuzzi was in the room so you could be decadent and soak while watching TV and doing nothing of redeeming value, it was great.

The staff is okay. Sometimes the front staff is helpful, sometimes not, but they're never rude. I'm a bit baffled as to why they took about 20 stays to remember me, but hey. And the shuttle driver in the morning, Mr. Chip, is just a really nice and laid-back guy.

As far as amenities, they have an indoor pool which I didn't use, and a very small exercise room. I think there were like 2 treadmills and a bike, nothing for weight lifting of any sort. Oh, and a TV. The breakfast is standard HI Express breakfast, but the room is large and open. I think there's free wireless in the lobby. The rooms have wired Internet, though. Parking is expensive, be warned, it's like $8 or maybe even $12 a night, I don't know, I always take a cab. Also be warned that it can be hard finding a cab around Southside, not sure why, I guess they cruise the city more or something.

All in all, though, this is my favorite HI Express hotel, and I recommend it without reservation for anyone going to the city.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    127
    57
    14
    21
See reviews for
85
79
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york, pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We just got back from our 6th stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Southside. I have never had any problems at all with this hotel. Everything is always super clean, the staff are very courteous and helpful, and the rooms are always great.

Until this weekend, we had stayed in every room type except the King Suite with Jacuzzi tub. Since it was our anniversary, we decided to upgrade. We booked online and got a great rate $153 for a saturday stay. Made the 4 hour drive to Pittsburgh and looked around South Side for a while. Checked in at 3 pm and went up to our beautiful 6th floor room. This room was ahhh-mazing. The king size bed was so comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was spotlessly clean. The bathroom had huge comfy towels. We were in heaven.

Took a nap and a dip in the jacuzzi. Decided to get some dinner. Asked the front desk for a recommendation. They suggested a seafood restaurant in the new South Side works area. Unfortunately, it had a 2 1/2 wait. Found another restaurant down in the Station Square mall. Great food, great band.

Sadly, we were only staying one night. So, Sunday, we had to get up and leave our beautiful room. Had breakfast downstairs in the lunch room. The cinnamon rolls are so great. Fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, hot coffee, lots of teas, bread and french toast. MMMM.

We'll definitely be back again. And we'll definitely spring for the jacuzzi suite.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

The room itself was huge. The room I got had 2 queen sized beds and a nice archway with columns separating the sleeping area from the sitting / breakfast area. There was also a little kitchenette and the bathroom was nice.

If your intent is to be on the south side, then this hotel is in a great location. It is right around the corner from a dance club for the college types called halo cafe and a great restaurant is nearby called bruschettas.

The service was great. There is a huge parking lot that will keep your car safe. There is an indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

Hotel is in a good location for Station Square, within a mile. Hotel has a free shuttle in a 5 mile raddius. You can just park your car and take the shuttle around. There is a charge for Parking, the lot is secured. If you don't know the area get directions to the hotel. Not easy to see from rd. you turn off from.
Heard good things about resturant next door but did not make it there, to many choices in Station Square, in Pittsburgh in general.
Would love to go back just to check out the shops on the south side.

Check in was fast. Staff was laid back. Didn't seem bright but all were nice. Lobby was comfy, clean.

Room was great for the price. Sat.- $108.00, Much cheaper then other downtown hotels. We got a 2qn. bed room with a sleeper sofa, Chair and a table w/2 chairs. Mirowave, fridge, coffee pot and a small sink. Room it's self was clean.

Bathroom was a nice size. Seperate door which is great when your traveling with people. Nice ammenities, Love the rounded shower curtains, Thick towels. Bathroom Floor was not as clean as it should be.

Did not swim or do the breakfast bar.

Express Check-out was easy. Got reciept underdoor, left keys in room.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

The hotel is an excellent value, the rooms or suites are clean and new. The location on the South Side is perfect. I have only one gripe which should not affect most people - the website eludes to wireless high speed Internet. While this is true in the LOBBY ONLY, I needed to scramble to a local Radio Shack to purchase a cable because the front desk doesn't have spares. I recommend the hotel, just bring your own cable.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

Overall pleased with accomodations. Shuttle service was very helpful. Front desk staff polite. Breakfast Server was very friendly and kind. Good price for being so close to downtown, and for use of shuttle service on a very busy holiday/football weekend. Would recommend and would come back.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times. It is actually a very nice hotel. Without a doubt the best Holiday Inn Express I have been in. It sits right on the river across from Duquense University and the City of Pittsburgh. South Side is a night life area of Pittsburgh, lots of bars, restaurants, etc... There is a $9 parking charge for an outside lot that does not make much sense, and the hotel is pricier than most HI Inn Expresses the cheapest you can usually get in is $99.00. All in all though a good hotel in a good location. Free high speed internet LAN connection in the room.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.