We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and comfortable family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service and comfortable family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a night's stay as a family. Having an infant and a toddler, they made sure we were able to check in quickly and gave us a spacious room. We got the room for a really good price and the complimentary shuttle in the southside meant we could travel into town as a family without the headache of parking etc... The service was fantastic and they also gave us some complimentary milk cartons for our kids ( which was discretionary I presume). Small things like that made a big difference to us. The personable way all the staff dealt with our kids at our complimentary breakfast was fantastic, helping us as parents get the time to look for food ourselves. The pool and gym available were nice and tucked away and not on display which can sometimes feel awkward. Good family experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    103
    47
    11
    18
See reviews for
68
70
19
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and cheerful. The shuttle drivers were as well, especially considering it was the Fourth of July and the city was busy. The housekeeping staff were so nice and the room itself was spotless. The breakfast was surprisingly well done for a hotel with "express" in its name. The convenience of the shuttles as well as being able to walk to locations means I will stay here again. Though it was a quick trip and we were barely at the hotel, we were extremely happy with our decision to stay.
The price was a good value, considering it was the Fourth of July and all city hotels raised their prices.
Also, we got there early and they were able to accommodate us, even with it being a busy holiday weekend. Kudos to the house cleaning staff!!

Room Tip: Try to get a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I arrived at the hotel, booked for us by our company, with 3 colleagues and 3 vehicles in tow that we were transporting in for an event display in Pittsburgh. I called ahead to confirm availability of early check-in, as we were slated to arrive an hour early and needed to unload our personal belongings before proceeding to the event site. I was told that one of our rooms would be ready, which sufficed for our needs. The only employee in the lobby stood at the rear of the front desk, back to the door. After standing there for a moment, I spoke up and said hello. He glanced back and sighed, and turned back around flipping through what appeared to be a magazine.After another few minutes he finally walk ed over and said "What do you need?" I said I was checking in, and he quickly cut me off asking "What kind of room do you have?" I said they were booked through our company and I did not know, offering to provide my name to look it up. He stared at me in disbelief and repeated "You don't know what kind of room you have?" I again repeated myself and suggested it would perhaps be helpful to look up my name. He again said "aaannnd you don't know what your room is?" (Personally, my patience can only handle so much repetition) I took out my license and placed it on the desk and asked him to please look up out reservations. He took it and then promptly told me that the rooms weren't ready. I reminded that I had called earlier, and believe I had spoken with him (voice was spot on), and was told one of the rooms was ready. He made a call and then came back and said one of them was in fact ready. He asked if we were driving, and I said we were currently in 3 vehicles, however were proceeding to take 2 to the event site. He said we were only allowed parking for 2 vehicles. I inquired if it was really an issue, as we only wished to unload out belongings and would be taking the 2 vehicles to the event immediately after, that they would not be kept in their parking lot. He said I would still have to pay additional for the third vehicle regardless, and I told him to just put it on the room. At this point he stated that he could not add parking to my room, that I would have to prepay it immediately. (this is the first hotel in my life that couldn't add such a thing to your room bill) I proceeded to take out my debit card, and he said no, I had to pay cash. Parking was cash only. I questioned this, however was told that I could not leave before pre-paying the additional parking fee. I walked over to my colleagues, as I didn't have the $14 cash on me, and they all scrounged up a few dollars, which I paid. After asking for a receipt for expense purposes, was told only transactions going through the computer could print a receipt. I was in a hurry at this point, and decided to speak with someone about this later. I was handed keys and provided no other information about the hotel such as breakfast or how to log in to wifi. Upon entering the room that was available and having been on a fairly long car ride, we discovered the toilet was broken.

Later that evening, I stopped by the front desk after the shift change to inquire about getting a receipt, as one was required by the company so I could be reimbursed. The new employee at the front desk looked baffled, and after explaining the earlier situation, she raised her eyebrows. She pulled up our rooms and showed no record of an additional car, and said that they actually did not require cash and usually billed it on the room. She got a manager, who after again explaining what happened and what I needed, seemed quite bothered about the ordeal, as it was becoming apparent that the earlier staff member may have lied and pocketed my money. She looked up who had checked me in, and said she was going to tally the registers and contact the employee and would follow up with me shortly, and said she would need to investigate before giving me a receipt. (insinuating that I may not be telling the truth) I told her we were headed to dinner, but that I would wait and she could call me in my room. After 45 minutes of no call, we left for dinner. When I returned and asked for the manager, still needing a receipt, was told the manager was gone, but that she herself had meant to call me because she had a receipt. I looked it over, it ready 'Cash payment - parking' with the amount and date on letterhead, and it was satisfactory for my purposes. She made a point of mentioning that nothing was amiss, drawers weren't short or anything.

The following day we had an early start for the event, but had some down time around lunch and by chance decided to go back to the hotel to relax for a bit. Shortly after getting into my room, housekeeping knocked on the door, and I called out that we were in the room. Housekeeping kept knocking and so I went to the door and repeated that I was currently inside, but that I would be gone in approximately an hour if she wanted to come back at that time. Not five minutes later another member of housekeeping began knocking on the door. I again went to the door, and the woman looked startled to see me. I explained that I had just told another woman that I would begone in a hour, to please come back. She said "Well I'm trying to do my job!" Confused at the small outburst, I affirmed that I understood and was just letting her know a better time. She threw her hands up in the air and did some sort of cross in the air with her fingers as she slowly backed away grumbling. Not another 5 minutes later there were more knocks on my door, this time from my colleagues asking me why various housekeeping members were banging on their door every few minutes demanding they open the door and telling them it was time for them to get out. They advised they were told that our stay was over and we were past the check out time and needed to get out immediately. Obviously concerned and annoyed, I went directly down to the front desk to find out what the problem was. I was told that our rooms were only for one night. I explained that they were booked for 4 nights by our employer, and also expressed that if the original staff member had done their job and confirmed my reservation details at the time of check-in that I would have been alerted to the error earlier. (What were they going to do had we not by chance gone back to the hotel and instead had not arrived back until late evening as anticipated?) I asked for our rooms to be correctly updated, and was told that every single room in the hotel was booked for that night and we could not be accommodated. She suggested that we could try and find another hotel for that night, and they could again room us the following night, but we would need another hotel again for the last night. (in what world does THAT make sense?!) She said it was booked through a travel site and sometimes those did not book multiple nights and needed separate reservations for each night. I've booked my own personal travel through travel sites before, and that is bologna. She said they did need us to vacate the rooms as soon as possible. So we headed up to the rooms, packed, and loaded up with no where to go and needing to head back to the event for the rest of the day.

A couple days into my stay in Pittsburgh elsewhere, I noticed that the hotel had charged my personal debit card for the extra parking. I immediately called in to speak with a manager and was told no one was there. He offered to take a message, and as I began describing the situation again, this staff member interjected "Ohh, was that xxxx? Yeah, I heard about that, I couldn't believe it!" (this leads me to believe everything was not as 'hunky dory' as I was led to believe) He profusely apologized for my experience and said it definitely sounded like a few people dropped the ball. He advised me of the specific manager I needed to speak with, and assured me I would hear back from her the following day. He also transferred me to her voicemail, where I also left a message.

I was not called back. After 2 days, I called in again and was told a manager was there but unavailable to speak with me. This staff member told me they would personally deliver my message. They called back a few minutes later to let me know that they were mistaken and the manager was not there, so I would not be getting a call back. Shortly after, I missed a call from another manager, not the one I requested to speak with multiple times. I again tried calling the next day for the manager I was told I needed to speak with and left a voicemail. I again received no call back, despite giving a deadline before filing fraud charges with my bank. Fraud charges were filed in light of their inability to respond to a simple request, which apparently the hotel now has the gall to dispute.

Neither I nor my company will be booking further stays with the Holiday Inn Express. This stay was an absolute cluster and none of the staff made any attempts to rectify, make up for, or accommodate the series of problems. You can tell they don't like their job and don't want to be there. I find it to be a serious matter that an employee may have been attempting to pocket money and wonder how many other travelers this has happened to at this hotel.

This has 2 stars only because, aside from the broken toilet, the rooms were fine (if a bit dated) and the breakfast had a better than average selection. Wifi was slow and spotty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and special thanks for contacting us directly. Any and all issues have since been resolved. All we want to do is ensure the safety and pleasure of all of our guests; as well as making sure any wrongdoings are made right. Thank you for allowing us to do that. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Pittsburgh South Side. There were a lot of great things about this hotel. The room was very nice. The breakfast was excellent. Parking was very easy and reasonable. The location was great. Whenever we needed anything in regards to these things the staff was so helpful in every way. In fact, if my rating was only based on these first few things I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating.
Unfortunately, the one feature we had a lot of trouble with was one that was very important to us, the shuttle service. This was not run well at all. There seemed to be no one who knew how the service worked. I can't tell you how long we had to wait to get a shuttle ride. One night, we called after a Pirates game to get a ride back to the hotel and the girl at the front desk said sorry but we can't get there for at least 30 minutes. We were left in the middle of an unsafe area with no way to get back. We ended up walking back to the hotel.
Again, nearly everything about this hotel was great. They just need to improve on the shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Greetings, thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on TripAdvisor! Thank you for taking mention to our beautiful rooms, full breakfast and secure parking. Our location is definitely prime; within walking distance to over 200 bars, restaurants and retail shops. I am also much appreciative of your kudos to our staff; each and every team member have been trained by some of the best, and our main priority at all times is to satisfy the needs of our guests. I do want to take the time to apologize upon any shortcomings of our Shuttle Service. The week that you stayed, we had a brand new team member start with us, driving the shuttle. We much appreciate any and all patience you provided during this time, as we have all had our “first day” at something. If there is anything further we can do in regards to your stay, I am more than happy to assist. My main personal goal is to ensure that all of my guests depart %100 satisfied. Please email me direct at hiexss@kratsaproperties.com. I look forward to hearing from you and seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

i booked this hotel at the last minute, and was not disappointed. The front desk staff was attentive and very patient with some rude guests that were being difficult. Also, the shuttle service was great! Mr. Chips was super helpful and served the role of concierge. I will definitely return the next time I am in Pittsburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Wow, 5 stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am elated to hear that noticed the patience of our staff. Mr. Chip is our senior driver and most definitely the best concierge we have on staff. I cannot wait to relay your kind words to him. He will await your return as the rest of us will. Thank You!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were at the start of a cycling trip on the Great Allegheny Passage. The location was terrific for us - near the Carson Street restaurants (2 blocks from the outstanding Cafe du Jour), a block from the entrance to the GAP, and walking distance to downtown (but if you don't want to walk the hotel shuttle will take you anywhere within 3 miles).

The staff was very friendly and exceptionally helpful. The room was spacious. Everything we could want was provided. Everything was clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I love the fact that you did your research on our river-walk trail system. Within city limits, the trail extends along all 3 of our rivers, yet the greatest point thru DC along Cumberland MD. I am elated you got to experience Café Du Jour, one of the hidden gems in Pittsburgh, along the Southside. I am so glad that you were provided everything that you needed, and on top of that, your rooms were spacious and clean. Thank You!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made good restaurant and things to do suggestions. Room and common areas very clean and comfortable. The fee shuttle was a great benefit and took us multiple places at all different times and never waited more than 5-10 minutes for it. The hotel is only about 3 blocks from the the strip with lots of good restaurants, bars and shops. The couple of blocks there are a bit desolate but we felt safe (you can always just take the shuttle - would be about a minute). I found the mattress comfortable enough, but my preferences is for softer and they were firm. They had lots of pillows on the bed and were labeled soft and firm (nice touch), Breakfast had some options don't usually get at the chains like warm fresh baked cinnamon buns. They also offered breakfast take away containers which is very convenient, Didn't get a chance to use the pool. Our bill had an error on it but it was quickly corrected - so I recommend looking it over. I would stay here again if I was in Pittsburgh. Reasonable price for quality and location, Much cheaper then downtown by convention center but very easy to get to, Ask for upper floor room as most of the lower ones appear to look out at the parking lot.

Room Tip: ask for upper floors if you want view and 1st floor to be close to pool and gym but 1st fl hallway h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am elated you found use of our Front Office Staff’s restaurant and area attraction suggestions. I am also very pleased to hear that you found our hotel and room accommodations to be clean and comfortable. Our shuttle is within minutes of great nightlife, most of which is within walking distance, yet the shuttle is ideal when you are unfamiliar with the area. I am glad you enjoyed our new HUGE soft and firm body pillows. They are something that is being introduced brand-wide, and receiving rave reviews so far. I am also glad you made use of the take-away containers – most deluxe continental breakfasts do not have them. Any billing error or anything that does not feel right, we please request that you bring it to the Front Desk. We take Great Pride in making sure that all of our guests leave happy. So any question, please bring to us before departing. Upon your next stay, definitely request the high floor/city river view, and we will be sure to accommodate. Call us directly to book your next stay and we will see you soon!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.