We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exemplary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“exemplary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place very comfortable.I stay here one entire week. Actually I am still here because I will leave tomorrow but I want to make a review before getting home.

The hotel is very close to downtown and is close to every interesting thing in Pittsburgh. There is a shuttle service that for free will bring you every where within 3 miles.
The staff was very friendly. Room are extraordinary big.

exemplary!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Greetings, Thank you for taking your time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! First of all, I want to thank you on your prompt review prior to your actual departure from our hotel. I also want to take the time to thank you for your extended stay. I am absolutely elated that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and spacious. I love the fact you noticed our courtesy shuttle service and our friendly staff. Any time during your travels to Pittsburgh, our doors are always open to you. Please stop by and visit us again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    103
    47
    11
    18
See reviews for
68
70
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I don't know what people expect when they book a hotel room but you aren't going to find a better place to stay in terms of location, amenities, and cleanliness if your going to a baseball or football game in Pittsburg. This is the closest hotel to Carson Street and there aren't any hotels on Carson Street. It's two blocks away and a short walk to the 110 bars in that area. The hotel is recently remodeled and in great shape! Our room was very clean and I don't care if some of the grout work is sloppy or it's chipped or missing. It was clean, quiet, and if you party it up right that train you hear in the morning will be the one in your head, not on the tracks. It's not as loud as people complained about here. Plus, it's Pittsburg! Enjoy the experience because this area is in the heartland of where all of the old steel mills use to be. All of the old homes on the hills heard that for years and was part of their lives. It's the old sound of Pittsburg and if you really do want "quiet" then don't stay in the closest hotel to the biggest party district in Pittsburg. It's a great hotel and has a great price. They have a decent continental breakfast in the morning and is close to a party store so you can also buy snacks and sandwiches for your room as well. Plus, there are a ton of restaurants along Carson Street. I'd recommend this to anyone but understand that a lot of fans stay here. It will be busy and energetic with fans during big games.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok. In contrast to other reviewers we found the shuttle bus driver to be very helpful and he went out of his way to explain the attractions in Pittsburgh. We had no problems with the pick ups either, he was punctual and polite. The downside is the area around the hotel looks a bit rundown but there are plenty of bars, restaurants and nightlife within walking distance. Also there must be a train line nearby as the trains were quite noisy through the night. I suppose this would depend on the location of your room though, some would be quieter than others. There was quite a lot of noise from some of the other guests also in the early hours, again this is probably due to the proximity of the hotel to the numerous bars, I assume it is a good place to stay if you are sampling the local nightlife.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Greetings, Thank you for taking your time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us! I appreciate the positive review of our shuttle drivers. I will be sure to relay your comments to them. Our drivers are not only courteous and professional, but also very knowledgeable of the area and our city’s offerings. Our entire staff aims to please, and each team member is always able to lend a helping hand. I do apologize for any noise you may have experienced, there is a train track 1 block away from one far end of the building. Any sensitive sleeper can request the “quiet” side, away from any traffic. As far as any other noise, our location tends to have a lively energy at times, the “Bourbon Street of Pittsburgh” offers over 200 bars, restaurants, retail shops and small concert venues within walking distance of our front door. We gladly welcome you back to see what else our amazing city has to offer, demonstrating all ways our pleasant, upbeat staff will wow you.
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Rooms large and relatively clean, secure parking. This hotel seems to cater for younger clients who enjoy the local night life. The downside of this is that our one night stay here was interrupted by noisy guests as well as the train horn from the railway that is located a few metres away from the hotel. Discussed this in the morning with 'Robyn' who was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear UK-Northants-Family,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. We would like to apologize for the challenges you had with the noise and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Second time I have stayed here. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast typical of a HEI but not horrible. Close to the subway system, hotel shuttle will take you to the station and you can get to most of Pittsburgh from there. Will be back again.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room facing the back towards downtown on an upper floor, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate a second time review as to set you as a “regular” on our scoreboard! Our staff is known to be one of the friendliest of the area; and our rooms to be spacious and clean. I am pleased to hear our courtesy shuttle was able to take you to our closest stop, “First Avenue Station” From which you can visit North Shore (Free of Charge) and South Hills Village, if you are looking for shopping malls. Also, we have improved on our breakfast.. Our famous cinnamon rolls are always warm, and our pancake machine will always deliver! Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have stayed at this Holiday in express many, many times. We love hopping in and out of bars on Carson Street at night and use this hotel as a base to take day trips out of Pittsburgh during the day. But back to the hotel review. The front desk staff has always been some of the friendliest people that we have run across. The staff has always been excellent and has responded to any request that we have made very quickly, rooms are always super clean and its always nice to be within walking distance of many attractions. They also have a shuttle service that runs on the weekends which can take you over to the North Side, the casino and ball parks. How can you go wrong? The continental breakfast is actually pretty good too!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate you taking the time to mention the (over) 200 bars, restaurants and retail shops within walking distance to our front door. Not to mention, just outside of our front door, the infamous 10th St Bridge, leading into downtown, Market Square and other various points of interest. Thank you for the much kudos to our amazing Front Desk Staff! We always aim to please! We pride ourselves on our clean rooms and especially our shuttle service! We not only run on the weekends, but 7 days a week; 7am until 11pm, anywhere within 3 miles of our front door. On major event days, we do utilize specific pick-ups and drop-offs; to keep our shuttle service consistant for all of our guests. Our Hot Buffet style breakfast is great too! Thank you for your commentary on our property, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I would have given this hotel a 5 out of 5 but the parking and parking fees and the shuttle caused the drop. When we stayed there, the parking lot was so packed cars were parking behind other cars and on the sidewalk. The shuttle limit was only 11 people so when you have 18 people waiting to take the shuttle, it makes it a longer to get where you want to go. We ended up walking to PNC park to watch a Pirates game. It wasn't that bad going but coming back at night was a bit scary. Other than that, the hotel was nice and it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.