We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make this place GREAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The people make this place GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is not downtown. BUT it is close to the Penguins and a shuttle will take you to many of the other places where you would want to go. I frequently stay at this Holiday Inn when in Pittsburgh on business. The shuttle drivers are good to deal with, especially Mr Chip. The front desk staff are some of the best I have dealt with. Gladys is always doing her best to ensure customer satisfaction. The updated rooms have lots of plugs and special lighting. The price is expensive compared to other cities, but for Pittsburgh it is better than most downtown hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    116
    50
    11
    19
See reviews for
76
71
19
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is way overpriced but.. It's a great location for Station Square and the South Side. The free shuttle service was clutch. Our fridge was barely working and was leaking upon arrival. Overall, it was a good stay but I'd have to get one heck of a deal to stay here again. Not worth the rate!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My name is Lee Ticker, and my daughter and i stayed at your hotel sat august 10th on our way from Philadelphia to the Dayton area for her return back to college. The room was very nice and the service by all your employees was fantastic. Gladys, at the front desk, and David O., and David D., the shuttle drivers, gave us excellent service. The shuttle took us to get our Primanti's brothers sandwich, and to/from the train to get to the Steelers game that night. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!. Of course the only negative is that we had to be in the same city that the Penguins and Sidney Crosby play in, LOL( We love him in Philly!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The bad - trains go by between 11pm and 8am and whistle very loudly. Bring earplugs. Parking is $14 a night. The people stocking the breakfast room need to replace empty food trays more quickly. The good - free wifi, really nicely appointed rooms. Great AC. Nice bathroom. Lots of towels. Good water pressure. I had full view of city. Nice hot breakfast, eggs, bacon, great biscuits. Gritty interesting area of town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

For a long weekend getaway this was a great stay. King size bed and the pillows were super comfy, the room was clean and we had no issues other than a musky/smoky smell (in a non-smoking room) that we noticed when we walked in - but wasn't noticeable after being in it for a minute.

Otherwise the front lobby staff was super helpful, always giving advice and tips that helped us. The shuttle was great to get around (either to the free trolley station at 1st avenue, which you can walk to in about 7 minutes anyways, or to most other locations if a game isn't being played).

Breakfast had most of the staples, but not the best breakfast buffet I've been to. The food did the trick and was usually warm enough, just seemed to run out very quickly. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel using my husband's reward points, he uses HI for business almost weekly. The location of the hotel was my biggest frustration. I should have done a bit more research before settling on the hotel, because I would have found that it is located on a very unattractive and busy street, near a "hip and trendy" area that is really not very hospitable at all. I live in an urban area, so I enjoy urban areas, but this area was not enjoyable to me. So we did use the shuttle, which was nice, but we found it necessary if you want to visit downtown Pittsburgh. If it weren't for that shuttle, we would have been trapped at this hotel with really nowhere to go.
Were I to go to Pittsburgh again, I would definitely get a hotel in the downtown area, somewhere around the Market Square area, which was full of people, restaurants, things to do, etc.
As far as the comfort of the hotel, it was ok, but definitely not spotless. There was a thick layer of dust on the glass shelves in the bathroom, the sheets seemed old to me, the bathroom had a lot of mold spots in the tub area. It just felt a bit tired.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for taking your time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! First of all I would like to thank you for using your IHG Rewards points towards booking with us! I hate to hear that you found our prime location frustrating and unattractive. Our intersection and location is actually far from such and full of Pittsburgh history! We are located just at the foot of the 10th Street Bridge, entering Pittsburgh’s Historic Southside. Right next door is one of the city’s most fascinating Landmarks, the Oliver Bath House, holding its place on S 10th Street for over a Century. The historic Southside actually holds over 200 bars, restaurants, retail shops and concert venues in its district; within walking distance to our facility. Our part of town holds something for everyone and will never disappoint upon initial exploration. Our shuttle is especially convenient while exploring other parts of downtown Pittsburgh, alleviating additional parking fees within the city.
I would like to further apologize about the condition of your room. The dust has since been cleared, Maintenance has re-caulked all of our tubs, and brand new linens have been ordered to keep up with the crisp and modern look of our newly renovated rooms.
We welcome you back in the future, to personally show you ALL that Pittsburgh’s Historic Southside has to offer. Let us host you in our city and we assure you that you will not be disappointed.
Sincerely,
Gladys B
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The front lobby is nice and clean. The front desk staff are very polite and helpful. My fience forgot to bring make up remover wipes and the staff went above and beyond finding her one, much appriciated. The room we had was fairly spacious and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and provided for a good nights rest. The room has a modern feel to it; the bathroom was clean, the shower worked well and drained sufficiently the water did not back up in the tub. As far as noise goes it is located in a fairly large city so you have to expect some noise but it didn't interrupt my sleep. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend higher floors and lower room numbers for the city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate your first impression on our new lobby, as well as our more than accommodating front office staff! As a Holiday Inn (IHG) Brand, we strive to provide additional amenities, to cover anything our prospective or potential guests may forget. We provide these items as a courtesy, free of charge. We pride ourselves in providing clean, spacious and comfortable rooms to all of our guests. I am elated to hear that you found all of our accommodations better than desirable. The entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express – Pittsburgh Southside openly welcomes your return, and will continue to “WOW” you in any way possible. We anticipate your return!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.