We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Go Back in a HEARTBEAT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Would Go Back in a HEARTBEAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I experienced such wonderful hospitality while staying here! Within the first hour of checking in, they called to check in on me and see how I liked the room! The room was HUGE, very modern and very clean! Continental breakfast was convenient hours and complimentary Shuttle within a 3-mile radius! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
WOW! 5 Stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am absolutely elated to hear you encountered our exceptional customer service. Our Front Desk staff always aims to please in calling to ask if you need anything extra. I must say, myself and all of our front office staff aim to provide the most exceptional service possible. We aim to please in all areas here at the Holiday Inn Express – Pittsburgh Southside. I am personally glad to hear that you love all of our room upgrades, size and technology wise, and also our breakfast!! Our shuttle will always accommodate your recommendation of where you want to go within the city, so you can always depend on us. “Worth Every Penny”, we anticipate your return!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable cozy room. Excellent location. We loved that we had parking right in back. Awesome shuttle service. The staff in the breakfast area and at the front desk where is the most friendly people I have met at at a holiday is. Seriously warm and outgoing. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlie_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just a block or two from all the action. Fun shops, bars, and restarants! The attached restarant is amazing. The shower was atrocious and water went everywhere. It was either stingy or pounding. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and let me park early.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motownwvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My two friends and I enjoyed our one-night stay at this hotel. Our room looked like it had been recently updated and was well-lit with a seating area, desk space, nice bathroom, full length mirror and micro/fridge with sink. There were a lot of choices for breakfast. Anytime we approached the front desk we were greeted warmly and they did all they could to answer our questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyValentine2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Member of IHG Group and searched all hotels in Pgh for suite or connecting rooms for 3 adults/4 children for week stay. Picked Southside hotel due to suite accommodation and location of family. Beds were very comfortable and room was quiet even though hotel in busy city area. Want to send out Kudos to breakfast staff for making the grandkids have a great experience. One staffer made sure that one of the many TVs was turned on to cartoons for them to watch while they ate breakfast each morning (7 days). Only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the pool. Although indoors, the pool was small and the water was extremely cold. Could not adjust to water temp even being in the pool for 2 hrs with grandkids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband is from Pittsburgh, and has not been back in a very long time. I wanted this time to be nice for him as he has been ill, and is disabled. His sister thought this would be a "good" place so he insisted on this hotel.
I asked for a nice view of the city across the river, and was told I had one. I have a great view ...of the parking lot and some empty buildings next door.
Asked for a higher floor ...am on three. Obviously was not heard.
There seems to be a lot of young party people and was kept up with noises in hall.
Tub leaves much to be desired, as does room in general. Very dated, dark, and as mentioned view is terrible.
You pay $14.00 for parking, there is constant traffic out side, and you take your life in your hands trying to cross the street.
Pool is very small, although the fitness room seemed nice.
There is a Shuttle which will take you anywhere within 3 miles...have not used as yet, so do not know how it will go . I did however hear people complaining about the "slowness" of service.
Would I recommend? Not really.... There are better located and equipped hotels. This hotel advertises a restaurant on-site and a lounge .... it has neither. There is a French restaurant next
door.

Room Tip: choose another hotel if you have "expectations". Room 307 - refuse it. Drain is slow , ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear DreamTravel2,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, bathroom condition and parking arrangement. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Front desk staff (Gladys) was super friendly and really informative. Location was walking distance to many bars and clubs but in a gritty historic area. Up our alley but not for all out of towners! Room was decent size and clean but the bed totally broke our backs. Like a rock. Bathroom had a broken shower rod that made for a really wet bathroom when taking a shower. Microwave and fridge in room was a convenient touch. Pool was tiny with no clean towels but the workout amenities were very nice. Breakfast area was packed but had 2 staff members that were laughing and having a great time with all the guests while they were keeping the food area full and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhiannon0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
SpringHill Suites North Shore
#26 of 62 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 62 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,880 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing