We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay! Convenient Shuttle to PNC park, most friendly staff ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome stay! Convenient Shuttle to PNC park, most friendly staff ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable cozy room. Excellent location. We loved that we had parking right in back. Awesome shuttle service. The staff in the breakfast area and at the front desk where is the most friendly people I have met at at a holiday is. Seriously warm and outgoing. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    41
    9
    17
See reviews for
59
63
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is just a block or two from all the action. Fun shops, bars, and restarants! The attached restarant is amazing. The shower was atrocious and water went everywhere. It was either stingy or pounding. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and let me park early.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My two friends and I enjoyed our one-night stay at this hotel. Our room looked like it had been recently updated and was well-lit with a seating area, desk space, nice bathroom, full length mirror and micro/fridge with sink. There were a lot of choices for breakfast. Anytime we approached the front desk we were greeted warmly and they did all they could to answer our questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Member of IHG Group and searched all hotels in Pgh for suite or connecting rooms for 3 adults/4 children for week stay. Picked Southside hotel due to suite accommodation and location of family. Beds were very comfortable and room was quiet even though hotel in busy city area. Want to send out Kudos to breakfast staff for making the grandkids have a great experience. One staffer made sure that one of the many TVs was turned on to cartoons for them to watch while they ate breakfast each morning (7 days). Only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the pool. Although indoors, the pool was small and the water was extremely cold. Could not adjust to water temp even being in the pool for 2 hrs with grandkids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband is from Pittsburgh, and has not been back in a very long time. I wanted this time to be nice for him as he has been ill, and is disabled. His sister thought this would be a "good" place so he insisted on this hotel.
I asked for a nice view of the city across the river, and was told I had one. I have a great view ...of the parking lot and some empty buildings next door.
Asked for a higher floor ...am on three. Obviously was not heard.
There seems to be a lot of young party people and was kept up with noises in hall.
Tub leaves much to be desired, as does room in general. Very dated, dark, and as mentioned view is terrible.
You pay $14.00 for parking, there is constant traffic out side, and you take your life in your hands trying to cross the street.
Pool is very small, although the fitness room seemed nice.
There is a Shuttle which will take you anywhere within 3 miles...have not used as yet, so do not know how it will go . I did however hear people complaining about the "slowness" of service.
Would I recommend? Not really.... There are better located and equipped hotels. This hotel advertises a restaurant on-site and a lounge .... it has neither. There is a French restaurant next
door.

Room Tip: choose another hotel if you have "expectations". Room 307 - refuse it. Drain is slow , ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear DreamTravel2,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, bathroom condition and parking arrangement. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Front desk staff (Gladys) was super friendly and really informative. Location was walking distance to many bars and clubs but in a gritty historic area. Up our alley but not for all out of towners! Room was decent size and clean but the bed totally broke our backs. Like a rock. Bathroom had a broken shower rod that made for a really wet bathroom when taking a shower. Microwave and fridge in room was a convenient touch. Pool was tiny with no clean towels but the workout amenities were very nice. Breakfast area was packed but had 2 staff members that were laughing and having a great time with all the guests while they were keeping the food area full and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I (with our two sons ages 7 and 11) booked this hotel via Hotwire and it came in much cheaper than other downtown hotels which can run pretty high for our budget on the weekends. Our main objective was to take in a Pirates game. In addition to this, we walked to the Point, Station Square, and the Strip Marketplace. The Point and the Markets were very fun and interesting. The boys had fun running through the Point's park and tasting the Market's foods and drinks.
This hotel provided a shuttle that took use EVERYWHERE we wanted to go downtown. We curtiously tipped the driver and they were always thankful, friendly, and helpful. On the downside, it is good we didn't have a tight schedule as you never knew if you were waiting 5 or 20 minutes for the shuttle to arrive back to the hotel. Coming from out of town and not wanting to pay for parking, we were more than willing to wait without complaint.
This hotel was a hotspot for young party-goers. There is a bar scene within walking distance so there was many groups of young adults looking to have a good time. This didn't hinder our time, it was just noted.
Not any family-friendly restaurants within walking distance but the shuttle would have taken us whereever.
I will say the pool is VERY VERY small and was crowded. The boys swam for 20 minutes and were ready to go back to the room.
The fitness room is well stocked: two treadmills, one eliptical, one bike machine, free weights, yoga mats, medicine balls, and three TVs.
Good breakfast but it was crowded most of the morning.
Our room was very cleam and our bed was VERY comfortable. The matress was better that what we have at home!
Other reviewers noted that the check-in area has heavy traffic and this IS true. The check-in procedure needs to be revamped to accomodate more cars SAFELY pulled into the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor!! I am glad to hear your family had a great weekend and received a good deal while booking on a third-party site. I hope to hear that you did make it to the Pirates Game, which you did mention was the main objective of your visit. On top of this, I am especially thrilled that you and your family were able to walk to and enjoy, Station Square, Point State Park, Market Square and the Strip District! In this season, the weather is too perfect to wander amongst these areas, making Pittsburgh that much more desirable as a city-location/vacation visit.
Yes, we do have a courtesy hotel shuttle that runs consistently on a First-Come-First-Serve basis for ALL of our guests, anywhere within Three miles. Now, most city property hotel shuttles do run on the hour; and with ours being first come first serve, the wait time is typically never more than 15-30minutes, at most. In the rare occurrence that we do run a longer than normal wait time, we do have a back-up shuttle, and we also have 2 front desk staff that are fully trained to cover in the event of a heavy traffic situation or a high volume event. I am also glad you mentioned the city’s parking situation… most of all locations downtown have hefty parking fees, as well as limited space, which especially make our hotel shuttle convenient.
There are actually quite a few “Family Style” Restaurants near-by. If you are unsure of the area, we openly welcome use of our hotel shuttle. Any one of our experienced drivers will gladly take you directly to a restaurant suiting your family’s taste.
The pool area is next on our “To- Do” list of renovations, but we are limited on space. We are elated to hear that you loved our newly expanded Fitness Center! We put a lot of thought into the new additions we wanted to place in the facility.
I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast room and our breakfast staff. I sincerely apologize our space was slightly crowded, yet I am thrilled you enjoyed our Breakfast Staff. They do the best with what they have and I can truly say they never disappoint.
Yes, our check-In can become heavy at times. We have a high volume of prospective guests, and we love every guest that stays with us. During every check-in experience, we want to let every guest know all of our amenities, and we do not want to hold back; directions, dinner recommendations, tourist attractions, this is what we relay to our guests. When you pull up in your car, the front area might be crowded, yet our Front office Staff will direct you where to park.
Thank you for mentioning the comfort level of our mattresses! This is the main service we aim to provide, being your home away from home. Our staff here at The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-Southside anxiously awaits your return. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.