My husband and I (with our two sons ages 7 and 11) booked this hotel via Hotwire and it came in much cheaper than other downtown hotels which can run pretty high for our budget on the weekends. Our main objective was to take in a Pirates game. In addition to this, we walked to the Point, Station Square, and the Strip Marketplace. The Point and the Markets were very fun and interesting. The boys had fun running through the Point's park and tasting the Market's foods and drinks.
This hotel provided a shuttle that took use EVERYWHERE we wanted to go downtown. We curtiously tipped the driver and they were always thankful, friendly, and helpful. On the downside, it is good we didn't have a tight schedule as you never knew if you were waiting 5 or 20 minutes for the shuttle to arrive back to the hotel. Coming from out of town and not wanting to pay for parking, we were more than willing to wait without complaint.
This hotel was a hotspot for young party-goers. There is a bar scene within walking distance so there was many groups of young adults looking to have a good time. This didn't hinder our time, it was just noted.
Not any family-friendly restaurants within walking distance but the shuttle would have taken us whereever.
I will say the pool is VERY VERY small and was crowded. The boys swam for 20 minutes and were ready to go back to the room.
The fitness room is well stocked: two treadmills, one eliptical, one bike machine, free weights, yoga mats, medicine balls, and three TVs.
Good breakfast but it was crowded most of the morning.
Our room was very cleam and our bed was VERY comfortable. The matress was better that what we have at home!
Other reviewers noted that the check-in area has heavy traffic and this IS true. The check-in procedure needs to be revamped to accomodate more cars SAFELY pulled into the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor!! I am glad to hear your family had a great weekend and received a good deal while booking on a third-party site. I hope to hear that you did make it to the Pirates Game, which you did mention was the main objective of your visit. On top of this, I am especially thrilled that you and your family were able to walk to and enjoy, Station Square, Point State Park, Market Square and the Strip District! In this season, the weather is too perfect to wander amongst these areas, making Pittsburgh that much more desirable as a city-location/vacation visit.
Report response as inappropriate
Yes, we do have a courtesy hotel shuttle that runs consistently on a First-Come-First-Serve basis for ALL of our guests, anywhere within Three miles. Now, most city property hotel shuttles do run on the hour; and with ours being first come first serve, the wait time is typically never more than 15-30minutes, at most. In the rare occurrence that we do run a longer than normal wait time, we do have a back-up shuttle, and we also have 2 front desk staff that are fully trained to cover in the event of a heavy traffic situation or a high volume event. I am also glad you mentioned the city’s parking situation… most of all locations downtown have hefty parking fees, as well as limited space, which especially make our hotel shuttle convenient.
There are actually quite a few “Family Style” Restaurants near-by. If you are unsure of the area, we openly welcome use of our hotel shuttle. Any one of our experienced drivers will gladly take you directly to a restaurant suiting your family’s taste.
The pool area is next on our “To- Do” list of renovations, but we are limited on space. We are elated to hear that you loved our newly expanded Fitness Center! We put a lot of thought into the new additions we wanted to place in the facility.
I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast room and our breakfast staff. I sincerely apologize our space was slightly crowded, yet I am thrilled you enjoyed our Breakfast Staff. They do the best with what they have and I can truly say they never disappoint.
Yes, our check-In can become heavy at times. We have a high volume of prospective guests, and we love every guest that stays with us. During every check-in experience, we want to let every guest know all of our amenities, and we do not want to hold back; directions, dinner recommendations, tourist attractions, this is what we relay to our guests. When you pull up in your car, the front area might be crowded, yet our Front office Staff will direct you where to park.
Thank you for mentioning the comfort level of our mattresses! This is the main service we aim to provide, being your home away from home. Our staff here at The Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-Southside anxiously awaits your return. Thank you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.