We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where to start.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 53 hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not sure where to start.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here on April 26th for the Fleewood Mac concert. Check in was a NIGHTMARE. I will say we were partially at fault for not listing all 5 names on the room because of this I had to make calls to the other ladies who were in our room while trying to check in.. Please know this is not a normal practice I think it is rude BUT I had to speak to the person who booked the room, the girl who was checking us in was NASTY AND RUDE she KICKED ME OUT OF LINE IN FRONT OF A LOBBY FULL OF PEOPLE. She said she didn't have to deal with me being rude?? OMG I wasn't even remotely rude. I had been speaking with another lady in line. She humiliated me. I left the lobby crying and had to get my sister who was waiting in the car to check us in. I have traveled from Coast to Coast... I have never gone through anything like this before in my life. We booked a suite because there were 5 of us, we didn't try to sneak in extra people. The room was over $400.00 with parking etc for one night. Please be aware that it is $14.00 a day to park. They do charge you the day you check out as well. The lady who checked us out was super sweet and was well aware of the incident that happen with check in because when my sister and I came back to hotel from concert SHE apologized for what happen to us. She comped our parking which was nice. The room was not worth that kind of money. There were no extra towels in the room or blankets for the fold out sofa. Also, there were only vending machines down by the pool area which had a HORRIBLE smell. The final straw that broke the camels back was my sister left her ENTIRE makeup bag in the hotel. Ladies, you know how devastating this can be. She called the hotel and they had. She was thrilled because they said they would ship it too her. It is June 2 and she is still waiting. Horrible customer service. IT makes me sad to know I wont stay here again. We love going to Pittsburgh and spending the night, will not stay here again. I will give my money to another hotel who appreciates it.

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels to choose from in Pittsburgh. Use this place as your last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear jeannine29,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    89
    37
    8
    17
See reviews for
57
60
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily for price. This is my third shot with a Holiday Inn property at various locations. The hotel was either new or newly renovated. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When I booked, I specifically asked about the shuttle service to the University of Pittsburgh. I was assured that they did indeed provide this service.

We got into our room about 4pm on our arrival day, and left for dinner soon after. The room seemed well appointed and clean. When we returned, we unpacked, and my daughter showered. I pulled the covers of my bed down, and watched TV while waiting for the shower. It had been very hot out, and I thought my legs were sweating. When I reached down to see why my legs felt so wet, I realized that my bed was wet. WITH URINE. NOT MINE.

I called the front desk and the first question out of the desk clerk's mouth was "how long have you been in the room?" He then offered to give me "points" on my loyalty card. I informed him that I expected the manager to come up immediately, to be moved immediately, and to have the charge for the night removed.

To their credit, the shift manager did come up and she was horrified. We did move rooms and the hotel ultimately removed all of the charges. The desk staff was sincerely apologetic and seemed truly upset at the situation. Unfortunately, I consider this a never, ever experience.

The other things that concerned me about my stay was that although the staff confirmed the availability of a shuttle, they seemed over extended. One driver in particular made us feel that it was a hassle to go into downtown to the University, even though it was clearly within their stated radius.

No more Holiday Inn for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Brooklynative,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is great to hear that after some initial issues our staff was able to address your concerns during your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the shuttle service as well as your room accommodation. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice and helpfull staff. Great location. Frequent shuttle to downtown and North Side. Right on Carson Street for evening activities. Parking was secure and plentiful. Did not use any of the other facilities so I cant comment on those.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Priority Club Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass them along. I am happy to hear you found use of our courtesy hotel shuttle and our location to be convenient during your stay here with us. I am also glad to hear you appreciated our secure parking. During your next stay, be sure to utilize our newly renovated fitness center, located next to our indoor pool; and be sure to join us for our full hot breakfast every morning, hosted by our bright and cheerful breakfast crew! We look forward to your next stay. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Priority Club Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side three times in the last 9 months. I've stayed to attend a baseball game, for a purely personal trip, and to attend a CLE downtown. I really enjoy staying at this hotel.

The location is great. I don't have a hard time getting to or from the hotel and that's a minor miracle for me in Pittsburgh. Downtown and Station Square (catch the boat to and from the ball games) and the Hot Metal Bridge area is a reasonable walk, if you prefer to walk than drive. Carson Street has about any kind of food or drink you'd want. I love the chance to have Pi's coal fired pizza and the French cuisine at Cafe du Jour. And there's a bottle shop just a couple blocks away, as well.

Check-in is always easy and friendly and efficient. The hotel works to accommodate special requests. For instance, I had two cars for my last trip, and they did allow me to park both instead of just one. I also checked out on the same day as my CLE downtown. The hotel allowed me to leave my car on their lot for the day. I walked back from the site and simply departed. I really appreciated the gesture. Further, the hotel shuttle would have returned to pick me up, but it only took me about 15 minutes to walk back and I needed the exercise before driving the 3 hours back home.

The coffee and cookies in the afternoon is a nice touch, and I think this is one of the better breakfasts in the area. I think their biscuits and gravy are awesome. I am gluten-free and low-carb, but I cannot resist this!

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Wi-Fi is acceptable. The pool area is fine.

The price has always been right.

Overall, one of my go-to hotels in the area for my monthly trips to Pittsburgh. Looking forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: View overlooking the parking lot isn't bad at all, actually. You can see the bridge(s), which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We called the hotel directly May 8 to book for an unexpected May 9 stay for a funeral. Betty on the phone was wonderful, and was happy to coordinate adjacent rooms with our other family. The location, price, staff, ammenities, and cleanliness all exceeded our expectations. Free breakfast and wi-fi were particularly appreciated. Seemed like this would be a good base for exploring the city if we'd had time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, IHG Rewards Club Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I regret to hear your initial reasoning for booking with us, but I am glad to hear you found our amenities most accommodating. We aim to exceed any and all expectations. Ms. Betty is the “Mom” of our team and I am absolutely elated to hear that she guided you in the right direction toward your family. Ms. Betty excels beyond professionalism and will go out of her way to assist anyone in need. I am also pleased you found our breakfast and free wi-fi, extra appreciative. If you ever have time to re-visit our amazing city for leisure, we would be more than happy to show you around!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Loyalty Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER NY
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

construction /renovation project seems needlessly uncontrolled in lobby area. Rooms were clean, but overpriced a bit. Breakfast ("free"/included) was better than the average free lobby fare. The cinnamon rolls were remarkably better than average. large screen TV in our room was non functional. Bathrooms clean and spacious. Parking was "adequate" but at $250/night for Holiday Inn, being charged $14 for parking seems ridiculous. Desk staff were very accomodating, but on one visit to the front desk for a problem, an apparent staff member continued to chat with friends from behind the counter, and I was left to wait for the other desk staff to finish a series of phone calls.

Room Tip: ask about the rooms that have been renovated. corner rooms have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear BlueMaxx14,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast and found the rooms clean. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this place recently and we liked it. They are undergoing renovation in the lobby and this is probably why they have deals on Hotwire.
They have a parking and it costs extra. Check in was fast and the front desk staff were decent and nice. The room was spacious enough for us. The rooms. linen and towels were clean. Our room had a fridge and microwave which was helpful. Breakfast room is small, but breakfast items were more than sufficient.
The only drawback is the train noise ! which is obviously out of control in this property.
Pros: being close to downtown, decent breakfast, good deal.
Cons: train noise ! the hotel should see more renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn
Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list