We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“decent business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this place recently and we liked it. They are undergoing renovation in the lobby and this is probably why they have deals on Hotwire.
They have a parking and it costs extra. Check in was fast and the front desk staff were decent and nice. The room was spacious enough for us. The rooms. linen and towels were clean. Our room had a fridge and microwave which was helpful. Breakfast room is small, but breakfast items were more than sufficient.
The only drawback is the train noise ! which is obviously out of control in this property.
Pros: being close to downtown, decent breakfast, good deal.
Cons: train noise ! the hotel should see more renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    100
    42
    10
    17
See reviews for
67
66
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Not the typical Holiday Inn Express experience. People loud in hallways late at night, is near night life, but seemed to be teenagers. Front desk has cameras everywhere, but apparently doesn't care. Breakfast was missing all the usuals an hour before ending. No biscuits, no rolls, no assuage, no eggs. Room was full of people, staff either didn't care or wasn't prepared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kirk H,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay. When I first checked in and went to my room wasn't too happy with the view but luckily the front desk attendant Frank called and was able to switch my room to a corner room with 2 windows. I was in town for a Pittsburgh Penguins game and the hotel was the perfect location. The shuttle was able to take my friend and I to the game and picked us up. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again for future games I plan to attend. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladys B, Priority Club Champion at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Wow, 5 stars!! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback of your great stay at our property. I am glad to hear Frank was able to accommodate your request after your initial check-in. He is one of our newest team members and he is shining bright. We only have a total of 8 suites in the corner of our building, which overlook our downtown; having the feature of an added 2nd “view” window. Our corner suites are in high demand, and I am elated you had the chance to experience the treat of the added city view. Our shuttle service until 11pm is only minutes away from the Consol Energy Center, which makes travelling for Pittsburgh Penguin games that much more convenient. Thank you again for the kind words and gracious thanks towards our lovely staff, and we look forward to hosting you again, in our city’s next battle toward the Stanley Cup Championship!!
Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Priority Club Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Beach, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms very comfortable for 5 adults and 2 children. Breakfast tasty and fresh. Staff friendly and helpful. Cheapest, best find in downtown Pittsburgh. The staff allowed us to park 2 vehicles and only charged us for one. We were in town to visit my sick father in law and the staff just made the whole trip that much easier. The rooms were modern and well equipped with sockets and USB ports and the like. Although we did not use the pool, that would have been the reason we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family returned from a trip to Pittsburgh last week for Easter vacation. What drew us to the HIE was the location, free breakfast, parking and shuttle service. They are remodeling the lobby so that area was half boarded up but the staff was attentive to our needs. We were given a 5th floor room on the corner, so we had two windows. One window looked onto the 10th street bridge. We enjoyed that view. They have room darkening shades on the windows and I was surprised to find the room very quiet at night despite all the hustle and bustle out side our window. We had two beds that were not the most comfortable, but that is not a deal breaker for us unless we have an extended stay. The room was very clean and they had a nice flat screen tv on the wall. The decor was up to date. They do not have room service but they have a small sink, refrigerator, microwave and paper plates etc. in the room. If you ask the front desk they will give you some menues for restaurants that deliver to your room. Most of them are pizza. We ordered from Dominoes and they were very prompt. They also offer a breakfast in the morning. Since the lobby is being remodeled, it was served in a small room close by. It was very busy so it was a little cramped in there. We just took our food to the room. They offered pancakes, eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit, cinnamon rolls, breads, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee etc. There is also a french restaurant just a few steps outside the front door. The shuttle took us to PNC Park, National Aviary and restaurants. We never waited more than 20 minutes.( We took the shuttle for dinner about 5 blocks to Fatheads. We walked back to the hotel after dinner. There were other restaurants nearby so there were people walking around so we felt safe. About one block from the hotel there isn't much happening, it was dark and we did pass by a man asleep in a doorway to a business, so we moved swiftly inside.) I'm not sure if in the summer they can be that accomodating with the suttle but they were great at this time of year. The drivers were helpful and friendly. We parked our car in their lot which is accessible with a room key. A couple minor negatives of our stay, were that there was not an information book in the room with detalis of their amenities, etc, so we had to talk to the front desk with questions. (they did have a Pittsburgh book) The other thing was the maid service was anxious to get rooms cleaned in the morning. Their carts are in the narrow hallways and one morning they knocked on our door. I couldn't get to the door fast enough and one of them had opened it. They saw me and quickly said sorry and shut the door. I was surprised they couldn't hear the tv on and the shower going. But again these are minor details to me. We really enjoy visiting Pittsburgh. PNC park is a beautiful park to watch a ball game. The National Aviary is a fun place to stop with kids. They have penguins, eagles, pelicans and many more birds. Fatheads restuarant has sandwiches the size of your head-hence the name. There is so much to do and the rolling hills, river and bridges are neat to see. We would stay at the Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the 10th street bridge on the upper levels. Nice view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was extremely nice! Great Place! I would definitely recommend. Great acces to the bars and city. Free shuttle to pick drunk butts up. Went there on St Pattys day and had a fantastic experience. The bar that's kind attaché to the hotel kinda sucked but what are ya gonna do?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bad - We were told the hotel gave discounts to UMPC patient families. My mother had major surgery. We stayed in this hotel several years ago. The surgery turned out to be much longer than expected. We were exhausted! When hubby checked in, he was told we couldn't get the discount because we hadn't called in advance to tell them about the discount. Apparently it is a huge price difference too. I was not happy. We also got the last parking spot in the lot. I was shocked to find out there was a big charge for that one too!

There was construction going on so the place was very crowded. Breakfast was moved to a tiny room and there were not enough tables for everyone. I went through the line and of course when I got to the front there were no eggs or any of the warm breakfast foods. So, I sat down for a few minutes with a coffee. The girl came in and refilled and the line was back up and by the time I got to the front again, it was gone. We ended up eating breakfast elsewhere. We needed to get ready to go see my mother.

I understand there are inconveniences with remodeling. But, I found it funny the same hotel that was charging us $17 for parking that we didn't know about in advance, and didn't provide us the breakfast we wanted, was the same hotel that was being rigid about the policy regarding fees. To make matters even worse, the charged our account twice. It is a good thing we had money in savings to transfer over.

Good - The room was nice, the staff was friendly for the most part. The girl in the breakfast room was working hard to keep up. We were on the end so we had a great view of the hospital where my mother was staying and the bridge.

Room Tip: Don't reserve online. Call and reserve to make sure you get the discount if you are there for UM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Shelley94,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.