We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express South Side PIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express South Side PIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant suprise. The rooms we nicely decorated and spotless, The GYM has updated equipment flat screen TV's. The most outstanding thing at this property was a person, Miss Loretta; this vibrant woman takes personality, service and professionalism to the highest level. Her home made breakfast inclusions rival any resturant.

Room Tip: I would ask for a high floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst GM at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Five Stars, Holiday Inn Express Southside extends its thanks, for such a wonderful review. Ms. Loretta, our breakfast hostess often has comments on her specialties for our guest pallets.
Our hotel has completed its first phase of renovation of rooms and public areas. As of March, 2013 we will be starting an additional phase of renovation of breakfast and lobby areas. We are extremely excited. Surprise! Yes, we are a lovely hotel sitting among commercial, residential and small business.
We appreciate your comments. Look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    42
    9
    17
See reviews for
63
64
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just finished a two night stay at this hotel. I will never go back. My biggest complaints are the shoddy construction of the place, and the hidden fees.

First, hidden fee you should be aware of: $14 per night to park.... to PARK! $130 a night isn't enough to cover my parking too? Also, be aware that this is a separate fee from the corporate credit card used to pay for the room, and cannot, I was told, be charged to that account.

Second, the cheap construction. So much noise. Conversations by the staff and other guests in the hallway were clearly understandable inside the room. I was out in the hall, and could hear my wife wad up a paper sack inside the room, and I was at least 8 feet away from our door! This means you have no privacy! Who knows what the strangers passing by your room might hear! Also, every time any nearby door was allowed to close itself, it would slam. Every time that happened, the walls, and therefore the headboard, would shake violently. This was actually painful while sitting in bed watching TV with my head resting against the headboard. Then, there are the trains. I know the hotel owner have no control over the train schedule, but the horns were extremely loud inside the room. All in all, it seems there is no insulation, or any other attempt to deaden sounds into or out of the rooms.

Third, the food. I know this is a free breakfast, but it was little more than edible. It is great if you are on a diet. You won't want more than one serving of anything they had to cook.

Since you have read this far, I'll list the good points now.
The hotel is clean. I have no complaints about this.
Most of the staff are friendly and courteous.
They do offer a free shuttle service. I found this to be extremely useful!

***The BEST*** thing about this hotel is the morning shuttle driver. Mr Chip is a wonderful man! I cannot express how much I enjoyed talking with him during our trip. He is a shining example of customer service and local knowledge. If I ever make it back to Pittsburgh, I truly hope to see him again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Mr. B
The Holiday Inn Express Southside Family regrets your stay wasn’t pleasant. However, a little history of the City of Champions, Pittsburgh, Pa is surrounded by trains, water and bridges. Sometime surrounded by movie film crews filming and with the most popular stars; Russell Crow, Tom Cruise, Denzel Washington, Janet Leigh, Jodie Foster. 447 bridges, in the city, surround by three rivers, and minimum of 7 trains companies surrounding the Pittsburgh area. Unfortunately, the train will blow horns for safety and security for trail crossing and tunnels where some homeless will reside. Hotel was built 10 years ago and the construction and sound proofing wasn’t the same as now in 2013. I will pass your information and concerns to the owners. The hotel regrets your stay wasn’t up to your expectations. Mr. Chip has 40 plus years in the hospitality business. I’ll be sure to make him aware of your extremely wonderful comment as to the front desk. As for parking, it’s listed on our website and various travel listing. Parking is $14.00 per day. The Holiday Inn Express Southside invites you back to our fair city to enjoy the Shuttle, Mt. Washington, and Bourbon Street of Southside-known as Carson Street. So don’t sleep in your car. Give us a call, and try us again. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed here to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday on the Southside of Pittsburgh. Check in was fast and efficient, the room was spacious and spotless. The only down side was parking was $14 a night. I know, I know, cheap compared to other cities but I'm not used to paying for parking and the room, lol. Don't hesitate to stay here!!

Room Tip: I'm told you can get a room with a view of downtown Pittsburgh, which is awesome but, we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Ms F.W

First! Happy Birthday to your daughter, I hope she was one who was serenaded by the Breakfast Staff. Who provide guest(s) on those special occasions a muffin with a candle and song? How wonderful sharing the 21st birthday with family. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Southside was happy to share your visit and thanks you for taking the time to recognize the cleanness of our spacious rooms.
Unfortunately, in the city limits of Pittsburgh, most hotels charge a parking fee. On the bright side you have in and out privileges, and that wonderful shuttle that travels a restricted 3 mile radius. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We welcome you back anytime.
Thanks Again ,for that wonderful 5 star rating.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a wonderful experience during my stay recently. From check-in to check-out the staff was super accomodating. They were knowledgable about the area, providing recommendations for dining. The staff at the front desk took time to explain the available ammentities, including the free shuttle provided. The room was spacious and provided all that I needed. Breakfast the next day was very tasty and the staff in the room; especially Dee, were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
The only unfortunate part was the unruly guests who decided to yell and argue in the halls at 3 am. A wakeup call certainly, but quickly drowned out by the fan in the room. So do wish guests were more considerate of others.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling into the Pittsburgh area.

Room Tip: I might recommend trying to get a room as far to the exterior as possible. Would be less guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst GM at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Avid Traveler88
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Southside appreciates your kind words. Empowerment is the choice wording that I can use to say the entire staff aims high, take action, and truly tries to be ready for all of guest. Southside the Bourbon Street of Pittsburgh is a place to be known, over 125 bars, grills, eateries and entertainment venues. As well as theaters & film, home tours, art galleries, to renting bikes to tour parts of the city. I thank you for providing such a compliment that I will certainly share with all department in the hotel. Please be reassured that we do have security on the premises daily to help resolve the noise issues. Look forward to you visiting our location again.
Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First, the ladies at the front desk were fantastic. They were so helpful with everything. We arrived on a snowy, messy day and they were so accomodating with us being a little late. Second, the rooms and building were very clean and inviting. Third, housekeeping was great as they were very quick if we needed anything. It was a great trip. I also wanted to thank the shuttle driver again for his help!

Room Tip: For the weekend and time of year, check out the suites! Late January seems to be a slower time for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, AGM at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share with us, on how your stay went. I’m elated to hear you had a pleasant experience at our hotel, and found your room to be spacious and clean. Your comment on the time of year was correct. The winter months are just a little slower but you recieve great winter deals. We recently have gone thur renovations in rooms and now getting ready for the lobby area.
I will certainly pass on your comments to all departments.
Especially the Girls of your recent stay. Again, Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been to this hotel twice. Once in August '12 for a trip to Kennywood and once for a Steelers game at the end of December '12. Both times the hotel staff has been exceptional. The rooms were clean and exactly what we'd expect. The breakfast that is provided has been great both times. The cinnamon rolls are some of the best and the pancake machine is the bomb. The staff has been exceptional on every stay. Always friendly, always helpful. Parking is extra here, but it's part of staying in the city. This hotel is close to downtown and the major roadways. Carson street which is nearby has a ton of bars/restaurants close by as well. Definitely a great place to say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst.General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank Yo for your response its guest lke yourself who make us the hotel we are!. Holiday Inn Express,Southside, Bourbon St of Pittsburgh, The breakfast is the standard of Ihg. especially those wonderful cinnamon rolls. Our rooms have been newly updated thru renovations. We pride ourselves for having clean and fresh rooms.So we welcome you back any time your in the most liveable city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night with friends. The hotel was in an excellent location, a couple blocks from all bars and restaurants on Carson St. They also offered a free shuttle service that was on a first come, first serve basis, that would take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius (we used it to go to Heinz Hall). The hotel rate included breakfast, which we didn't eat due to the ending time, but did not include the $15 parking. They also had cookies and coffee around the clock. Our only complaints were that, in the handicap accessible room we were given, the bathroom wasn't well lit and it only had one small, low mirror that would only work for someone in a wheelchair. If that person travels with anyone else, they will have to bend way over to see into the mirror. Then there's the fact that the room info binder lists check out time as being noon. At 11am, housekeeping came and told us that checkout is actually at 11am, that the binders haven't been updated, and that they would "let" us stay until noon. Gee, thanks. Overall, the value and location of the hotel are great and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the the 4 star rating. We appreciate your comments and we have forwarded the information to the various departments for lighting and mirror locations. Your Right the old binders do have the old times ,thats why- we will extend your check-out time to Noon. Just to let you know we have ordered the new binders.
We are delighted you had a wonderful stay,come again soon. St Patricks Day is just around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.