We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal and a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great deal and a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a wonderful experience during my stay recently. From check-in to check-out the staff was super accomodating. They were knowledgable about the area, providing recommendations for dining. The staff at the front desk took time to explain the available ammentities, including the free shuttle provided. The room was spacious and provided all that I needed. Breakfast the next day was very tasty and the staff in the room; especially Dee, were friendly, welcoming and very helpful.
The only unfortunate part was the unruly guests who decided to yell and argue in the halls at 3 am. A wakeup call certainly, but quickly drowned out by the fan in the room. So do wish guests were more considerate of others.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling into the Pittsburgh area.

Room Tip: I might recommend trying to get a room as far to the exterior as possible. Would be less guest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst GM at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Avid Traveler88
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh Southside appreciates your kind words. Empowerment is the choice wording that I can use to say the entire staff aims high, take action, and truly tries to be ready for all of guest. Southside the Bourbon Street of Pittsburgh is a place to be known, over 125 bars, grills, eateries and entertainment venues. As well as theaters & film, home tours, art galleries, to renting bikes to tour parts of the city. I thank you for providing such a compliment that I will certainly share with all department in the hotel. Please be reassured that we do have security on the premises daily to help resolve the noise issues. Look forward to you visiting our location again.
Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    110
    47
    11
    18
See reviews for
71
71
19
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First, the ladies at the front desk were fantastic. They were so helpful with everything. We arrived on a snowy, messy day and they were so accomodating with us being a little late. Second, the rooms and building were very clean and inviting. Third, housekeeping was great as they were very quick if we needed anything. It was a great trip. I also wanted to thank the shuttle driver again for his help!

Room Tip: For the weekend and time of year, check out the suites! Late January seems to be a slower time for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, AGM at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share with us, on how your stay went. I’m elated to hear you had a pleasant experience at our hotel, and found your room to be spacious and clean. Your comment on the time of year was correct. The winter months are just a little slower but you recieve great winter deals. We recently have gone thur renovations in rooms and now getting ready for the lobby area.
I will certainly pass on your comments to all departments.
Especially the Girls of your recent stay. Again, Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been to this hotel twice. Once in August '12 for a trip to Kennywood and once for a Steelers game at the end of December '12. Both times the hotel staff has been exceptional. The rooms were clean and exactly what we'd expect. The breakfast that is provided has been great both times. The cinnamon rolls are some of the best and the pancake machine is the bomb. The staff has been exceptional on every stay. Always friendly, always helpful. Parking is extra here, but it's part of staying in the city. This hotel is close to downtown and the major roadways. Carson street which is nearby has a ton of bars/restaurants close by as well. Definitely a great place to say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst.General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank Yo for your response its guest lke yourself who make us the hotel we are!. Holiday Inn Express,Southside, Bourbon St of Pittsburgh, The breakfast is the standard of Ihg. especially those wonderful cinnamon rolls. Our rooms have been newly updated thru renovations. We pride ourselves for having clean and fresh rooms.So we welcome you back any time your in the most liveable city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night with friends. The hotel was in an excellent location, a couple blocks from all bars and restaurants on Carson St. They also offered a free shuttle service that was on a first come, first serve basis, that would take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius (we used it to go to Heinz Hall). The hotel rate included breakfast, which we didn't eat due to the ending time, but did not include the $15 parking. They also had cookies and coffee around the clock. Our only complaints were that, in the handicap accessible room we were given, the bathroom wasn't well lit and it only had one small, low mirror that would only work for someone in a wheelchair. If that person travels with anyone else, they will have to bend way over to see into the mirror. Then there's the fact that the room info binder lists check out time as being noon. At 11am, housekeeping came and told us that checkout is actually at 11am, that the binders haven't been updated, and that they would "let" us stay until noon. Gee, thanks. Overall, the value and location of the hotel are great and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the the 4 star rating. We appreciate your comments and we have forwarded the information to the various departments for lighting and mirror locations. Your Right the old binders do have the old times ,thats why- we will extend your check-out time to Noon. Just to let you know we have ordered the new binders.
We are delighted you had a wonderful stay,come again soon. St Patricks Day is just around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just had another delightful stay in this well run, newly remodeled hotel. As a return guest who hasn't been in Pittsburgh for a few years, we were pleasantly surprised to find familiar friendly faces in hotel staffing.

The front desk, breakfast room, and courtsey van staff cannnot be beat. Dave D was our driver this weekend. He is so friendly and helpful and will take you anywhere within a three mile radius of the property.

Try bidding on Priceline for a tremendous savings!

The restaurants on Carson Street are too numerous to mention. I started calling for dinner reservations at a little place called Dish off of Carson and could never get seated. Start very early if Dish is on your to do list.

Pittsburgh is a diversly beautiful and interesting city. This is a great hotel from which to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Wow Five Stars! Thank You. Yes, we can say we have staffing who have been around for 8 years plus. We appreciate the kinds words. I'll be sure to share the positive feedback to the staff and especially David D. Appreciate your time spent come again and enjoy the Otis Spumkeyer Cookies. next ime your in the city of Pittsburgh. We look forward to your next vist..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellroy, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There's only a couple places to stay on the southside flats area and they are both pretty nice. This hotel is clean and has great service. Breakfast, shuttle, daily newspaper and the breakfast bar is top notch. This place is pricey @ over $200 a night but I made my own bid on Priceline and got it for $99 a night for Sat and Sun. The regular price is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our hope is that you were one of those special birthday guests who were serenaded by the staff singing Happy Birthday. We apologize that you were not aware off the parking fee, which is posted on our web-site. The next time you visit, ask the front desk about alternative parking options. Thank you for the wonderful compliment concerning the spacious and spotless rooms. I will share the information to our Executive Housekeeper.
Come and enjoy our wonderful city again. We invite you to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Southside Location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My granddaughter and I stayed @ the Holiday Inn, South Side last Saturday night. I would like to commend your desk clerk, Teresa Ponce for being very informative and accommodating to us the entire time we spent at the hotel. Any question we asked her, she answered for us with a smile. She gave us excellent information on the shuttle service, directions, restaurants, and just general information we requested. Her excellent service made our trip stress free and enjoyable. She is an asset to your operation. Overall, our stay with this Holiday Inn was most pleasing and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are so delighted that you and your family ENJOYED your stay. We also thank you for visiting Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh, Southside. We appreciate your feedback, and your personal words about our front desk associated. We take great pleasure in providing customer service and care. We feel our hotel should be a home away from home.. Thank You for sharing your thoughts and please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.