We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Dellroy, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There's only a couple places to stay on the southside flats area and they are both pretty nice. This hotel is clean and has great service. Breakfast, shuttle, daily newspaper and the breakfast bar is top notch. This place is pricey @ over $200 a night but I made my own bid on Priceline and got it for $99 a night for Sat and Sun. The regular price is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our hope is that you were one of those special birthday guests who were serenaded by the staff singing Happy Birthday. We apologize that you were not aware off the parking fee, which is posted on our web-site. The next time you visit, ask the front desk about alternative parking options. Thank you for the wonderful compliment concerning the spacious and spotless rooms. I will share the information to our Executive Housekeeper.
Come and enjoy our wonderful city again. We invite you to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Southside Location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    102
    45
    10
    18
See reviews for
68
69
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My granddaughter and I stayed @ the Holiday Inn, South Side last Saturday night. I would like to commend your desk clerk, Teresa Ponce for being very informative and accommodating to us the entire time we spent at the hotel. Any question we asked her, she answered for us with a smile. She gave us excellent information on the shuttle service, directions, restaurants, and just general information we requested. Her excellent service made our trip stress free and enjoyable. She is an asset to your operation. Overall, our stay with this Holiday Inn was most pleasing and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are so delighted that you and your family ENJOYED your stay. We also thank you for visiting Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh, Southside. We appreciate your feedback, and your personal words about our front desk associated. We take great pleasure in providing customer service and care. We feel our hotel should be a home away from home.. Thank You for sharing your thoughts and please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here especially the friendly and helpful staff and short walk to the south side night life. Typical of holiday inn express...not fancy luxury but clean and comfortable. We got a great deal on this room on priceline for the night before thanksgiving as a stopover on our way to grandma's house and were very happy. Next year we will probably stay here again on our thanksgiving trek.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Asst. General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We at the Holiday Inn Express, appreciate your response and views, Our location is what has been term as : Bourbon Street of Southside! There is so much to see and do. So next time on your way to Grandma house please take her some Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies. We are glad to you enjoyed your stay and you found our location to be convenient for your activities.
So, we are inviting you back next Thanksgiving. Thank You for your kind words. We work tat providing great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have you ever heard of a hotel staff going out of her way to help guest to get transportation in order not to miss an important meeting? This lady Teresa Ponce at Holiday Inn Express did that for us. When we could not find a taxi by calling all the taxi companies in town, she asked her mother to help drive us to our important meeting in town. We were just so touched! This is the most amazing expereince I have had with any hotel stay.

I was on a business trip with two other colleagues and stayed in Pittsburgh evening of Monday November 12th, 2012. This is the evening of the big game when Pittsburgh Steeler was playing Kansas Chiefs. There were many fans in the city and hotels were a bit diffiult to book and much more expensive than regular times. Because of the game previous evening, it was impossible to find a taxi the next morning as they were all busy sending fans to the airport (Pittsburgh local people later jokingly told us, they think there are probably only 10 taxis in the whole town:) We tried to call many taxi companies but to no result, we were dangerously late for our important meeting. So Teresa called her mom to drive us to our meeting in town. This is the most amazing service I have ever experienced in a hotel. Thank you Teresa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here in February 2012 for a Penguins game, and I really enjoyed my experience! The staff were the friendliest I have ever encountered in a hotel. My friend and I were unsure of what to do in Pittsburgh and they gave us a list of great ideas! Also the shuttle service is quite handy. The only downside was that my room was near the side of the train tracks so it was a bit noisy, but I feel bad even saying that because it is a great hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In August 2012 I stayed 4 nights for a business trip. My NJ company sends employees to Pittsburgh monthly and they have a corporate American Express card that pays all hotel bills prior to my stay. I gave the desk clerk my bank account visa for "incidentals" of which there were none. So, even though my corporation paid for my hotel stay and parking (the hotel gave me a copy of the AMEX paid bill upon checkout) the hotel decided to also deduct the cost from my personal checking account causing me a few hundred dollars in bounced check fees. Fortunately I noticed this right away and called the hotel only to be treated very rudely and told "I don't have time to deal with this now" by the desk clerk (somehow this was my fault). So I called later in the evening, around 11pm and was told the same thing. The next day I called again, was told they were too busy, and then waited up until 1:00am to call again and again was told they were too busy. I then called a Holiday Inn reservation desk (by this time a few days had passed and I had called the hotel approximately 10 times and was continuously treated very badly). The reservation desk was willing to help but had no access to the records of my stay. They gave me a number for guest services. I called that number which is answered with a message that a representative will be with me shortly. I was on hold 2 hours before I hung up. I called the reservation desk again and this time they connected me, but, again I hung up after 1.5 hours. I called the hotel again at 1:00am and was told they didn't have time to speak to me about this and I replied, "Do I have to get an attorney to get my money back?" The desk clerk nastily replied, "You do what you have to honey." I can confirm that I was not in the least rude to these people so there was no need for this rudeness. My corporate office also called and was treated very rudely. It took me a month to get my money back and to this day the hotel has never taken any responsibility or even apologized, nor did they refund my bounced check fees.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Asst General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Kim R.,We certainly apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. The Holiday Inn Express Southside, delivers customer service and aims high to accommodate our guests needs and requests. So, we encourage you to try our facility again. Our hotel believes we are an All star Team. Again,we apologize that we were not successful in providing a positive experience for you and your friends.
At times we receive comments that are both positive and negative.
In customer service, you learn from the feedback.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location, great room, and great staff. I would definitely return. The shuttle service is wonderful. The room was clean, spacious, and everything you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was good, and the cookies and coffee upon checkin are a delightful added touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.