We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service of any hotel chain ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Burlington, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst customer service of any hotel chain ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In August 2012 I stayed 4 nights for a business trip. My NJ company sends employees to Pittsburgh monthly and they have a corporate American Express card that pays all hotel bills prior to my stay. I gave the desk clerk my bank account visa for "incidentals" of which there were none. So, even though my corporation paid for my hotel stay and parking (the hotel gave me a copy of the AMEX paid bill upon checkout) the hotel decided to also deduct the cost from my personal checking account causing me a few hundred dollars in bounced check fees. Fortunately I noticed this right away and called the hotel only to be treated very rudely and told "I don't have time to deal with this now" by the desk clerk (somehow this was my fault). So I called later in the evening, around 11pm and was told the same thing. The next day I called again, was told they were too busy, and then waited up until 1:00am to call again and again was told they were too busy. I then called a Holiday Inn reservation desk (by this time a few days had passed and I had called the hotel approximately 10 times and was continuously treated very badly). The reservation desk was willing to help but had no access to the records of my stay. They gave me a number for guest services. I called that number which is answered with a message that a representative will be with me shortly. I was on hold 2 hours before I hung up. I called the reservation desk again and this time they connected me, but, again I hung up after 1.5 hours. I called the hotel again at 1:00am and was told they didn't have time to speak to me about this and I replied, "Do I have to get an attorney to get my money back?" The desk clerk nastily replied, "You do what you have to honey." I can confirm that I was not in the least rude to these people so there was no need for this rudeness. My corporate office also called and was treated very rudely. It took me a month to get my money back and to this day the hotel has never taken any responsibility or even apologized, nor did they refund my bounced check fees.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Asst General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Kim R.,We certainly apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. The Holiday Inn Express Southside, delivers customer service and aims high to accommodate our guests needs and requests. So, we encourage you to try our facility again. Our hotel believes we are an All star Team. Again,we apologize that we were not successful in providing a positive experience for you and your friends.
At times we receive comments that are both positive and negative.
In customer service, you learn from the feedback.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    41
    9
    17
See reviews for
62
64
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location, great room, and great staff. I would definitely return. The shuttle service is wonderful. The room was clean, spacious, and everything you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was good, and the cookies and coffee upon checkin are a delightful added touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skellefteå
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Exp at south side is a really nice hotel were the staff make you feel as you're at a family hotel.
Nice staff, service minded front desk which gives you a kind welcoming and they are keen to make you wanna be back again. The rooms have been renovated even though the "old" ones was not bad. Cleaning is good, it's a perfect area to spend the night without going down town, Carson street has it all, restaurants, club's, pub's, everything needed.
Is it all good ? No, the breakfast could be better, it's good enough as business breakfast but I'd prefer more if I'll bring the family. Price is good though, parking is great.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking if you prefer to over sleep and don't want the morning traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This "express" hotel has just about everything you could ask for. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff, for the most part, was very courteous and helpful. The shuttle is great. And, this is probably the best free breakfast I have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Md
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Family recent spent a night here and was overwhelmed at the overall attitude and presence of staff. The warm family type atmosphere was over the top. I must give accolades to Shawn and Teresa they made this stay most enjoyable. The breakfast staff was also very professional in representing the establishment. Thanks Again and I will be back.

Room Tip: Great City view from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M, Agm at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
5 STARS: Thank You. The Attitude we project as staff of Holiday Inn Express Southside is Genuine. We have 5 winning way of IHG: . Show we care! Do the right thing!
Aim higher! Celebrate differences! and Work better together!

To those staff member named and departments I will pass on the wonderful compliment.
We feel our hotel should be a home away from home.. Thank You for sharing your thoughts and please join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I usually stay at the University Center Holiday Inn Express when I come to pittsburgh (son at PITT), but it was fully booked last weekend, so I tried this location. The rooms are newer and nicer here -- and very clean. Loved the flat screen TV, the little kitchen area, the comfortable bed, and I was lucky to have a great view of the city from my 5th floor room -- all great!

The price is too high for the ambiance in this hotel -- it's very nice, but it just doesn't offer a $250.00+ overall hotel experience.

The breakfast lacked quality hot food (protein) options, but for those who love carbs in the morning, it would be great. It's a pleasant little breakfast room -- and again, the staff was lovely.

The shuttle service is wonderful! The driver (wish I new his name) was excellent -- courteous and extremely helpful, conversational and friendly. I wish they had infomed me (when I booked) that the hotel pool was not in use (found out when I checked in). All in all, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Dear Management of the Holiday Inn Express,

I had to send an email and let you know that I was truly impressed when I stayed the Pittsburgh/South Side Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Of course, I have managed to forget the names of the lovely staff people who assisted me…’senior moment’. But I will say that upon check-in your staff was on-point and very well informed about the city and where to go, eat, and what to do. Now, let me tell you about the two gentlemen who shuttled me around Pittsburgh and even picked me up. Getting to the University of Pittsburgh and Duquesne, for my events, was made easy because of the door-to-door service. I’d heard parking was a nightmare and luckily didn’t have to encounter it—all thanks to the shuttle drivers.

Finally, I was grabbing breakfast on my way out the door and the kind staff members helped me turn my meal into a ‘grab ‘n go’. Lastly, I’d like to tell you that the suite I was in…was spot on. Loved it.

Thanks so much and if/when I return to Pittsburgh, I will seek out your hotel and recommend it to others.

Continued success,

Charmed, Charm City (Baltimore, MD)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMHIXS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking time to share with us, on how your stay went. I’m elated to hear you had a pleasant experience at our hotel, and found your room to be spacious and clean. Thank you for also highlighting our staff members, The two Shuttle drivers Names were: David D & David O. The Breakfast Staff: Ms. Dee and Mr. Jim. Its always a pleasure when people share their experiences, next time visit the Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side

Address: 20 South Tenth Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.