We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224 (Bloomfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Check in was smooth, but then the issues started.
The sheets on our beds were damp and the air conditioner was very loud.
The shuttle service was a nice feature, but it was very unorganized and the driver gave me the wrong number to call to for a pick up a few hours later, so we had to make other arrangements back to the hotel. The driver also did not have knowledge of any of the other amenities of the hotel, and seemed uncaring that we needed this information.
The attendant at the store did not know the correct prices of items. We were told one price and then charged another on two items.
The restaurant service was terrible. It took a long time to be seated. We practically had to beg for coffee and silverware. The food was average at best and not worth the high price. The waitress did not seem aware that we were kept waiting for everything.
Others in our party feel the parking charge is outrageous considering the price they paid for a night's stay.
The location of this hotel is good, but management really needs to work on their customer service training. I will not stay there again and would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear lorilalu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we feel that as difficult as it may be to hear, feedback such as yours is essential. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the trouble you experienced. It’s never our goal to fall short in providing 100% guest satisfaction, and we’re truly sorry this was the case during your stay. Be assured, these issues are being addressed, and your review has prompted us to schedule a training refresher for each department. We greatly appreciate your business and hope you will return to allow us an opportunity to show you the excellent product and service we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    68
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
26
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The entrance looks nice and inviting however the room i got smelled damp. Like feet.
Its free internet but its not wireless and the cord is so short that you have to sit by the desk to work. The sink is outside the bathroom which i don't like. Otherwise the rooms were ok. The A/C sounded a lot so i had to turn it off to be able too sleep.
To be fair they might have changed the room if i had asked. Nice staff

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed while visiting Carnegie Mellon Univ. Better than average Courtyard. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I stayed at the Shadyside Courtyard for two nights while on business with some colleagues. Overall it was a decent hotel. Check in was smooth - the lobby is pretty big with a small bar and restaraunt. They only have valet parking at a cost of $17 per day. The king room was good sized with nice furniture and a flat screen TV. The bed was moderately comfortable, but the heating/AC system was somewhat noisy. Free internet, but it isn't wireless. They have an indoor pool and a pretty nice fitness center. Breakfast was good at a cost of $11. There are some decent restaraunts in the local area. The hotel has a shuttle van and they will take you to and from any of the local establishments. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Check in was smooth and fast, we proceeded to our room and was greeted by the previous guest’s urine on the toilet and floor, although the staff quickly attended to the situation, we questioned the cleanliness of the rest of the facility for the remainder of the stay. The mandatory valet service is not uncommon with a city hotel, it would be nice if one of them could drive a manual transmision, I watched my car stall six times as they were driving it down the block when we were checking out. Thanks for the clutch work Marriott!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, NY
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Checked in after 2:00 a.m., they were ready for us! Room nice and neat. On check in they offered us some complimentary water after our long drive. Breakfast was perfect pick me up.

The only bad thing that I have to say is that I am sorry we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

If you've been to a Courtyard before, you know what to expect. Location is great for the hospitals, less so for CMU or Pitt, but they have a free shuttle service. A few places nearby (Starbucks on site, Panera bread and Sam's club around the corner), more options on Walnut about a ten-minute walk. The lobby is warm and welcoming, but my room was cold and simple. I had one of those air-conditioners that are mentioned in other reviews: very noisy and not exceptionally efficient. Other than that, no complaints. Housekeeping is reasonable and the staff were friendly enough. There's wired internet in the rooms but no wifi; wireless is only available in the lobby.

Booked through Priceline for less than $50 a night. I don't think I'd pay the hotel's regular rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Address: 5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy a breakfast buffet or a full dinner in our Catalyst Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.