We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224 (Bloomfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a CMU visit. The hotel is nice, has clean room, friendly staff - everything you would expect from a courtyard.

I didn't know the hotel charge a $18/day parking fee until we arrived, not a nice surprise.

The hotel offers free shuttle to CMU, which is very convenient, however the shuttle was late for ~20min to pick us up back to hotel, kind of annoying. Some room to improve scheduling.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
wildy2008,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to CMU. I’m pleased to know that our friendly staff and clean rooms met the service excellence you’ve come to expect from us. Your feedback on the shuttle service is important to me and provides areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    68
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
26
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and have had a positive experience each time.
The hotel staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. I was greeted every time I entered the hotel by the front desk staff. The valet parking staff did an excellent job of anticipating my needs and meeting them. Room service was excellent for the service. The food from the hotel restaurant was just OK, but the quantity of food and lower price relative to other hotels made up for that.
There is a Starbucks attached to the hotel by a door from the inside and a Panera less than two blocks away.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you marginally less street noise. Smaller rooms with a balcony will be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
MOP4440,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing our Courtyard when staying in the Pittsburgh area. I'm glad you felt welcomed and well taken care of by our friendly staff. We hope you'll continue to visit us when traveling in this area. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this property because the hotel donated a night for a charity auction and we purchased it in order to support the charity. I was traveling with my daughter. The route to the hotel was a little questionable. Since we did not know the city we were a little concerned on our drive to the property. Fortunately, a short distance from the hotel the neighbourhood improved significantly. We were quite relieved. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and directed us to a nice restaurant for dinner. The room was spacious and clean and quite comfortable. If I return to Pittsburgh this hotel will be on my list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
TravelGirl181747,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We appreciate your charity support, and we're glad you chose to stay with us. I'm pleased to know that you and your daughter had a nice, pleasant stay with us. I hope you made some great memories and enjoyed your time together. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we hope you'll stop and visit us again. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had to make a quick trip to Pittsburgh and so I was able to get a good price from Priceline to stay here. The room was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. Climate control was easily adjustable and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. While breakfast is not included, the buffet downstairs is quite good and reasonably priced. Beware of the mandatory valet parking at about $20 a day (including tax). If you plan on spending more than one night there you may want to find an alternative parking arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
R6Man,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard. I'm pleased to know that you liked our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and delicious breakfast. We're glad you made a quick trip to Pittsburgh and stayed with us! Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked two rooms for visiting family members, and needed for one of the rooms to be accessible for my mother. The booking agent and all of the folks at the front desk could not have been more helpful with room selection options and check-in. The hotel is is very nice and well-maintained; the location was perfect; the price reasonable. But what really stands out is the staff. Thank you for being so welcoming!

Room Tip: They are extremely accommodating for guests with special needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
margielee,
We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us at Courtyard. I'm glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your family, and I'm pleased you enjoyed their warm and welcoming assistance. We enjoyed your company and hope you visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My father scheduled a knee replacement at Shadyside Hospital in January. As we live 60 miles away and winter weather could be a challenge my parents and sister stayed at the Courtyard the night before surgery and for the next two nights.

On check in the staff was very attentive to the needs of 80 year olds without being noisy. Clear and thoughtful descriptions were given on how to best get to the hospital the next morning. The front desk manager explained that the room change from suite to regular room when Dad was in the hospital could be at any time during the day and help was always available.

The meals were great but most appreciated was the kind attention in a stressful time. Surgery went well and check out was on time. Thank you Marriott.

Room Tip: The 6th floor suite had a great view of East Liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
John R,
We're glad to hear from you and learn of your pleasant stay with us. I'm pleased to know that our staff was attentive to your needs, and I'm especially pleased to know that we were able to provide a comfortable place for you and your family to rest. I'm glad to hear that your Dad is recovering well. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel offers free shuttle service to nearby areas like CMU and Shadyside. Sometimes, the wait for a driver and/or a shuttle can be quite long though. Once, when my husband and I had been waiting for an hour, one of the supervisors, Selim, offered to drive us to our destination. He certainly went beyond the call of duty. He is an asset to the hotel.
The manager, Alex, is very friendly. Her presence during our check-in process made us feel at home instantly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Carol L,
It is wonderful to hear from you. We appreciate your kind words, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. Thank you for remembering us personally and taking the time for the personalized review. We think of our hotel as our home tool and we always celebrate, as a team, when we have succeeded in passing that along to our guests! We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you back.
Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Address: 5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy a breakfast buffet or a full dinner in our Catalyst Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.