We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Near CMU & Pitt, but typical Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224 (Bloomfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Scottsdale, Az
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great location, Near CMU & Pitt, but typical Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would recommend this hotel just for the location near CMU.

Otherwise its another nice but nondescript Marriott. Service was good, rooms were good.

The manager was nice an moved us from the top floor (which we requested) to a lower floor, as the HVAC system on the roof made the ceiling in our room vibrate. This annoyed my wife, which is a bad thing.

However, there is a Starbucks attached to the hotel for you coffee drinkers!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, as the HVAC system makes the ceiling vibrate in some of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
AZSage,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We're pleased to have you and your wife as our guests, and glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad we were able to move you to a different room as we always aim to please. We're grateful for your recommendation to other viewers and hope we will see you again for another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
20
14
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chester county
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nothing terrible. Nothing great. Valet parking is a pain because about half the time there's no valet around. It was never explained by the guy having been out fetching a car because they would always appear from inside the hotel. This wasn't at a weird hour and happened four times in two days. This also results in big jams at the tiny pick up spot which can't fit many cars.

Restaurant is understaffed at breakfast. One waitress is not enough to run the whole place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
hockessin1,
Thank you for your review. We value your business, and we're glad to have had you as our guest. I apologize for gaps in Valet availability. We will ensure we evaluate the needs and busy rush hour times to maximize coverage for guests like yourself in the future. Thank you again for your patronage and valuable feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I often choose Courtyard by Marriott because of its reputation for value and consistency and I've never been disappointed. This hotel, though independently owned and operated by an independent regional group, exceeded my expectations. The staff were exceptionally helpful to the level that I usually receive at category 5 Marriott hotels such as J.W. and Ritz Carlton. The free shuttle service was an added bonus and greatly appreciated since taxi cabs were scarce and unreliable in this particular area. I would definitely choose this location again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
jasonbulger,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted to have had you stay as our guest, and pleased you enjoyed your visit. It's great to hear that we exceeded your expections! I appreciate you holding our staff in such high regard, and I'll make sure to share your comments with them. We welcome you to come and visit us again for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

While visiting a friend at Carnegie Mellon U., we stayed for the night at this property.

Things did not start out well. After a long drive, we were ready for a rest. However, the air conditioner in our first room was noisy, emitting random trills and vibrations every few minutes. It sounded worn out--about like my wife and I were feeling at that point. Concluding that rest was impossible while in the same room as this machine, we re-packed our belongings and headed to the front desk.

The gentleman with whom we spoke at Reception displayed exactly the attitude a stressed travel would hope for. He informed us that the hotel was in the process of replacing all of the air conditioning units, apologized for the inconvenience and moved us to an available room on a different--which happened to be a suite. He did these things not in a begrudging way, but with a genuine desire to please. The new room was not only more spacious, but perfectly quiet. It's a pleasure to acknowledge the excellent service from the front desk.

In the morning, we passed up breakfast at the hotel dining room in favor of some tasty treats at the adjoining Starbucks. We enjoyed complimentary coffee in the hotel's modern and comfortable lobby lounge.

For those intending to visit CMU or Pitt, we found the location of this property to be very convenient. Be aware, however, that on-site parking is valet only and rather costly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
John S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm very glad to hear that our Associate was able to accomodate you well and show you our genuine hospitality. I'm also glad to hear that we're located in a convenient area for you to visit your friend and enjoy the other activities surrounding us. We welcome you and your wife to stay with us again for another exceptional visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec City - Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spend a few nights (Sept.19-23), and all I can say is that the staff is extremenly helpful, cordial. I think they must have a smile ''glued'' to their face.
Rooms are clean, and many of them have balconies; so for anyone who has problem with closed windows and AC running, this is good.
Indoor pool is nice and clean; but I would suggest that the lighting be dimmed a bit.
Had breakfast one morning at for the low price of $10, you can have all you want.
This hotel is not in the downtown area; but not too far (15$ approx taxi ride). Public transport close by
Great Stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
irinaki2001,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. We're very pleased to hear you had an excellent visit with us and found our staff to be friendly. We're happy to have had you as our guest and hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We wanted a hotel convenient to Rodef Shalom Congregation as well as Carnegie Museum etc. Ths was perfect. The one downside is a valet parking system due to limited space but everything else was very satisfactory. You can walk to dining spots, some shops, look at interesting construction in the area as well as get to center city easily.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the hospital facility will b quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
1superlady,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Shadyside. We're pleased you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your visit. I hope you were able to fully experience our wonderful community with all that it has to offer. We invite you to come and stay with us again the next time you visit Pittsburgh.
Safe travels,
Alex Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was in town for some work at CMU and ended up placed at this Courtyard.

When I arrived, check in was quick and friendly. I was given a room on a middle floor closer to the elevator than I would normally like. I originally though this might be an issue, but I think because of the clientele there it was very quiet during my stay.

The room itself was a pretty standard Courtyard king room. Everything was in it's place and the refrigerator was actually nice and cold. This was a big plus because the water from the bathroom faucet could never get cold and I had a couple warm bottles of water that were better cold. The room was overall very clean. It showed a bit of wear here and there, but overall seemed pretty well maintained.

A great feature of this hotel is the free shuttle service to the surrounding areas. This let me easily get to CMU in the morning, but could be used to get to a variety of places nearby as well.

Overall it was a nice stay and I definitely wouldn't mind being back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Mark H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard. We’re very glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and had a comfortable, pleasant visit. I’m glad you liked our complimentary shuttle too. This is a wonderful service we offer our guests so I’m delighted to hear you highlight it as a great feature. We welcome you to come and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Alexandra Starr, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Address: 5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside is just steps from the shops of Shadyside and one mile from Oakland. Minutes from downtown Pittsburgh, the Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside thoughtfully appointed guest rooms offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Shadyside hotel. Enjoy a breakfast buffet or a full dinner in our Catalyst Restaurant. Relax in our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center or lounge. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/day. The perfect choice among Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside Hotel Pittsburgh
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.