We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat, if you're so inclined!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monongahela Incline

Monongahela Incline
Grandview Avenue, Carson Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15211
412-442-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 78 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Historic Sites, Trams, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tram, opened in 1870, still carries passengers up and down Mount Washington.
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A treat, if you're so inclined!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Monongahela was built in 1870 and carried us from near Station Square to Grandview Avenue, atop Mount Washington, a little under 370 feet. The inclines are an intrinsic part of Pittsburgh history ... there was, at one time, 17 of these passenger-carrying vehicles which served as public transportation for the workers who lived on the hill. Our tram was fitted for 23 people, and we had it to ourselves. The views were great, and even greater when we reached the top of the hill and went to one of the jutting decks. We bought round-trip tickets and then walked to Duquesnes incline (passing St. Mary of the Mount on the way, which can be seen clearly at night). It is a bit long (about a mile) on a paved sidewalk, but it's a bit of a strain because it's not flat and at times, darnright hilly. We enjoyed it but others might not, and then we went down the hill at Duquesnes with our round-trip ticket and then walked to the other side of the river along a pedestrian-friendly path along the bridge to the Fort Pitt Museum. Total time: about 2.5 hours, with our hotel shuttle bus dropping us off at the incline and picking us up at Fort Pitt. If going up/down the same incline: less than half an hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    175
    29
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I highly recommend the incline, and it was a great way to see the city from above. I'm not afraid of heights but I can see how some people might not like it. However, there are three different areas you can sit on in the tram and if you sit in the back, you really don't see the dramatic height difference. It's well worth the $3.50 (round trip). There was nobody tending to the bottom of the incline - you pay at the top. That I found a little odd b/c we weren't 100 percent sure about the whole paying or boarding and how that worked, but we figured it out.

The view from the top is really pretty and thought we took the Monongahela Incline (vs the Duquesne), I'm not sure it matters from a view standpoint. When I got to the top, they pointed us that the other incline was a mile away. We were going to try to the Duquesne Incline, but we were already parked at Station Square, so we chose that one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice ride to a pleasant view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Easy walking distance from the downtown core. Pleasant well-maintained structure. Exact fare in cash was required which is a bit of a pain (change machines at the base were both empty).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice ride, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Monongahela Incline is a great way to get to the top of Mt. Washington. The ride itself takes about 5 minutes to get to the top but the views are great. We went just before dark so we could see the city before dark and after. The view of the city all lite up is well worth it. There is an admission of like $3.50 per person round trip and kids were like $1.75. We parked in the parking area for Station Square then walked across the street to the incline. There is a little ice cream shop at the top called DiFiore's Ice Cream. Our kids enjoyed this little treat and it's easy to find. When you come out of the incline at the top, take a right and walk about half a block then take the street to the left. You can actually see the ice cream sign from the roadway. However, don't expect very friendly service from what I saw.(See my review on the ice cream shop). If you are in the area, this is a must do.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OMG, SCARY, LOL, if your afraid of heights forget this attraction !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The line was short, and the ride to the top was very slow, but still quite scary if your afraid of heights like me. It was definitely worth the challenge so I got on and thought that the views were spectacular. The overlook at the top was worth the trip. Great picture taking of the city and the area in general. Don't miss this one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monongahela Incline also viewed

 

Been to Monongahela Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monongahela Incline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.