We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh's Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Heaven

Bicycle Heaven
1800 Preble & Columbus Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15233
4127344034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bicycle Heaven is the World's largest bicycle museum and bike shop.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pittsburgh's Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hidden gem was an astounding surprise when my Brother suggested we check it out. Loaded with 90,000+ bicycles and parts, all available for sale on EBay, this packed museum is a dizzying array of art, nostalgia, locomotion and shiny memories of yesteryear. Nothing can prepare you for its maze-like magnificence of orderly display of everything bicycle. From the large front wheelers from the turn-of-the-century to gas powered BMX's this museum is a true treasure of Pittsburgh.

A little hard to find, it is a gem worth digging for. The Proprietor is so accommodating that he actually searched until he found my Father's first bike, an "Elgin!" Anyone from 5-500 will enjoy plumbing its depths and re-living their past...or future.

http://www.steelcactus.com/BIKEMUSEUM1
http://www.steelcactus.com/BIKEMUSEUM2
http://www.steelcactus.com/BIKEMUSEUM3

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Like No Other For the Love of Bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great Owner, Great Setup, Great Location on northside. Went twice in a month incase we missed anything.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson hills
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunshine on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not what we expected, but far better! Items of interest everywhere. They take donations and we were more than happy to donate. Beautifully done ! We will be back and will tell everyone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Aptly Named”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The average run of the mill tourist is probably not going to seek out Bike Heaven. But for a cycling aficionado, it is as close to heaven as they are going to find on earth. The place is hard to find and hard to get to. There is ample parking but the street to the parking area looks like the surface of the moon.
But once inside, the converted warehouse is filled to overflowing with bikes and bike related items. Many examples are unfortunately lost in the stacks and stacks and racks and racks. But a lot of the "crown jewels" are beautifully displayed.
There is no admittance fee. The place also contains a small bike repair facility that provides outstanding service for a reasonable cost.
The only reason for 4 vice 5 stars is the niche nature of the attraction. The place is clean, neat and attractive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bicycle Heaven also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Bicycle Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.