We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful near and far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point State Park

Point State Park
601 Commonwealth Place, Bldg a, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)
+1 412-565-2850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 78 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving as a key strategic spot during the French and Indian War, this National Historic Landmark and park offer stunning views of the city and a variety of outdoor recreation.
Butler
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful near and far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I took my sister here while she was in from NJ. Point state park just got finished with some renovations and it is absolutely beautiful! I was proud to show off the city, the river walk along the shore was very nice, great views of the stadiums and attractions on the north shore. After wards we went up the incline and it was even more beautiful from a distance...just a stunning city!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Urban pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited Point State Park on the last weekend that "The Duck" was in town. What's "The Duck?" Well if you have to ask, you missed some fun. Think of the little rubber ducks that kids play with in the bathtub...now blow it up about 1000 times! The Duck was a big attraction in Pittsburgh for a couple weeks during October. Despite cool temps and threatening skies, The Point area was swarming with people. It was great to see so many people enjoying the day.
As others have noted, the park is located at the fabled confluence of the Monongahela and Allegheny rivers which join to form the Ohio (OH-IO) river. The fountain was turned on and looking good. The views across the rivers are always beautiful. We enjoyed a nice lunch at a convenient pizza place and did some "people watching." It was great to see so many people of all ages out and about downtown. Point State Park is an urban treasure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved it! You can see downtown Pittsburgh and both of the inclines. The giant rubber duck was there as part of the International Arts Festival which was pretty cool. The fountain is working again and it was gorgeous. I loved the view of Heinz Field as well. Steeler nation baby!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ducky Leaves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently went to Point State Park since the renovations it looks gorgeous. The fountain looked great and I did not see any trash. Very clean. We also got to see the "duck" that's a plus. (:

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went there to walk close to the water and what a nice view at water level of the same sights seen from the Duquesne Incline. Tough to find using GPS but there were many others walking to the park so we found the way...definite must see if you like the waterfront

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point State Park also viewed

 

Been to Point State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.