We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Regent Square standout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Root 174

Root 174
1113 S Braddock Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15218
(412) 243-4348
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Regent Square standout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Small, inviting space with solid cocktails and a surprising twist on comfort classics. Enjoyed their version of Devils on Horseback with Chorizo and Manchega and was wowed by the Pork Belly on Rice Crispy Treats.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Interesting food combinations. Great food for vegans and meat lovers. Delicious and healthy too. Great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Totally awesome meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My daughter and I did the tasting menu, which I think was 6 courses, but seemed like more. For a few of the courses, they brought two different dishes and we shared, so it seemed like even more. Each dish was well seasoned, attractive and tasty. My only negative comment would be that three dishes had 5 minute (soft boiled) eggs. While runny eggs are delicious, three different dishes using the same major ingredient was a little too much. Our server was excellent and he did a wine pairing for me. Overall a very, very good meal. One less runny egg and this owuld have been a 5 star rating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner for Vegan sister!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I travelled from Butler to celebrate my sister's(vegan) birthday...Creative and unique menu!!! I am a surf and turf guy at heart with an open mind and pallet.

I enjoyed the Vegan Meatballs!!!

Great food...no matter what you fancy!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Creative, fresh, local, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

'Root' is our top neighborhood restaurant - one of my favorites in Pittsburgh. Sometimes it can be hard to get a table. Yes, the brussel sprouts are the best. Our service has always been impeccable, the waiters are really knowledgeable about the food and drinks, the food is consistently delicious. It used to be strictly BYOB but now has a limited bar and wine selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root 174 also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Root 174? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Root 174, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.