We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina

Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina
5491 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15206-3481 (Downtown)
412-404-8487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 1,874 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Fairmount
Transit: Save the parking hassle and take the bus! Consult the Port Authority website for details on the 88 (up/down Penn Ave), 87 (from downtown), 77 (from Monroeville), and more.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Left another restaurant close to this location hingry adn disappointed - went to Verde to find food - fantastic - great tasting, great presentation and fantastic service. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    11
    12
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a "modern" Mexican find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent updating of Mexican (not the usual Tex-Mex) dishes.
Very good flavors & textures
Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They are trying, but it could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The scene in this restaurant is great; nice seating area, with outdoor patio, cool bar. The food is so so, however, sometimes good, sometimes bad. The tamales were undercooked, the corn tortillas are bad, but the ceviche was great. I hope they get better, it has a lot of potential. One thing, the tequila prices are a bit ridiculous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I hope the tequila is good, the food isn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I dragged my husband here on a weeknight just to try something new. What a mistake. The chips were store bought, my chicken enchiladas were soggy and oddly flavored and my elotes -- the corn on the cob appetizer -- had clearly been taken out of the freezer, thawed in the microwave (because there were still cold spots on it) and served. Really awful. A chain restaurant like Don Pablos or Patron would have been better -- at least the food would have been hot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had so much fun on the patio at Verde Cantina. It was relaxing with good food, service, and cold beer. It is right across from Pittsburgh Glass Studio and was very convenient for my friends and I. I think we were there for five days straight for dinner, and the waiters and waitresses took great care of us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Mexican Kitchen and Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.