We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute location, pretty good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiling Banana Leaf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smiling Banana Leaf
5901 Bryant Street, Pittsburgh, PA
412.362.3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute location, pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We liked the food very much, however it was not consistently fresh when we went back a second time. It was still tasty, just not as fresh. There's some outdoor seating around the corner, which is very nice. The coconut juice drink was very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Spot on the East Side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Took my son here for lunch as a break from finals at Pitt. Great neighborhood location with easy on street parking. Unique, comfortable dining room that was clean with some interesting decor. Waitress was especially friendly and provided quick service. We orderd dumplings and Tom Gai Yum soup for appetizers that were perfectly prepared and nicely presented. Lunch plates were Tofu red curry and pad thai that were equally delicious, but other items on the menu looked very good as well. I will return here a group of friends for dinner so we cans ample several other dishes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staff was very nice, accommodating and knowledgeable. Food was very fresh and tasty. This is a small local restaurant in a neighborhood, but worth the drive if your looking for good Thai food. We left full. Yum!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Thai but Over-hyped.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited the SBL after hearing rave reviews about it; because it was a Sunday evening we didn't think we would need reservations for a party of 4 but we were definitely wrong; we only waited for about 25 minutes for a table but being that it was cold outside and there is literally no room to wait inside for a table, this became problematic.

Once we were seated we were actually forgotten by our server as they don't necessarily seem to have one server who is assigned to certain tables which was a little annoying after waiting and there literally only being maybe 8 tables in the whole restaurant.

The atmosphere is very earthy/middle eastern, there was beautiful natural light coming in & it was very quaint & clean- perfect. The food was okay Thai but honestly nothing special; my husband and I have been to many Thai places in Pittsburgh and this would probably be #5 on our list (with Spice Island Tea House and Bangkok Balcony being our faves). We ordered a wide variety of foods and everyone was happy with theirs but like I said, it wasn't anything spectacular. They also ran out of Thai iced tea which was a little disappointing since 3 of us ordered one but they only had enough for one.

You only had the option of ordering the dinner portion, which was understandable although some of us wanted to order the lunch portion; however, we were glad we got the dinner size as it was really not very big at all and we couldn't imagine how small the lunch portion must have been.

All in all, it's worth checking out if you're looking for something generic and a new place to go, but definitely doesn't deserve the title of best Thai in the Burgh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai places in burgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you love Thai food you have to go here!

We recently went to Thailand and this has to be the one of the best in the burgh! One of our favorite places to go when we crave thai food! Always clean the plate here and cannot get nenough. Sometimes we order extra for lunch the next day so good (not too many restaurants you can say that about).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to Smiling Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiling Banana Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.