We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but meat and potato's. A+++ Awesome but RSVP!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meat & Potatoes

Meat & Potatoes
649 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)
(412) 325-7007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Meat & Potatoes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,874 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Street
Transit: Being a downtown Pittsburgh location, there are many options and we recommend going to the Port Authority website for schedules, rates and general information.
Description: Meat & Potatoes is a place with a warm, inviting pub atmosphere that serves sophisticated, yet unpretentious food. An extensive, and creative, cocktail, beer and wine list is an integral part of what we do at our wonderful establishment. Come visit a place where the locals dine!
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anything but meat and potato's. A+++ Awesome but RSVP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Amazing food, innovative cocktails, great space in the midst of the Cultural District. My wife had the duck and I had the salmon. My fish was savory, sweet, and the duck came with amazing perogi's as well. We did not have reservations but the concierge at the Renaissance suggested we could sit at the bar quite easily 715-8pm when it clears out a bit for the start of the plays in the various theaters in the area. We did just that and had a great time. My salmon was unlike I have ever had before, the skin was perhaps fried separately and set atop, so crisp.... We will for sure be coming back to this great spot. Did I mention the sound system? Very nice. Its up scale but not too too pricey. Our entrees were 17-19$, 3 cocktails @ 10$ and the tab was about 80$

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    144
    83
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good, didn't disappoint for sure! Would go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went for lunch on a Wednesday afternoon. They were very busy and service didn't falter. Everyone loved what was ordered and we definitely shared bites of each others plates! Gotta get the fried pickles, they were perfect in every way. Our meat and potato palates were extremely satisfied. I'm sure the whole menu is good and the prices were right in line with other downtown lunch prices for quality and style of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateJen123
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Probably the best food I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm very hard to please with food and this place was amazing! Firstly, we got there very close to when the kitchen closed and I was a bit skeptical that we would get good food. However, they insured us it wasn't a problem and they stay open until the crowd leaves.
We ordered many appitizers (group of 6), and then ordered meals. Every appitizer was AMAZING! Fried brussel sprouts, cheese plate, french fries, toast with goat butter & jam... all so good.
Our meals came out and everyone was raving about them. I got a salad because I was sure I'd fill up on the apps, and event he salad was delicious.
Overall I'm super pleased and would recommend to anyone staying near-by!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We both loved it! My friend and I went to dinner before seeing a show downtown. We got fried pickles to start then the duck breast and the agnolotti pasta. All 3 were just delicious, the duck was fabulous. Service was fast, friendly, and efficient. The atmosphere was fun, and I am going to bring my parents here next weekend when they come to town. I would suggest making a reservation before you eat here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Earns its moniker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Picked this spot b/c close to our show (Benedum theater - one block away). Arrived at reservation time (5.30) and seated promptly by friendly hostess (unlike previous reviews -we have no complaints here). Our server came to table within minutes and asked if we were going to show so he could note for kitchen. We enjoyed our leisurely meal and did not feel rushed. Nice selection of unusual cocktails. I ordered the Moscow mule - which was near perfect (served in copper cup) with the exception that there was so much ice, it was a little difficult to drink. Good selection of 5 draft beers - my hub opted for an IPA and was disappointed when it came in a can - warm. From menu, looks like all beers in "tin" or draft - no bottles. For rest of meal. He ordered seasonal drafts. No bread - even to order al carte. Missed that. Each got pig ear salad. Very unusual ($10) and tasty. Split "meat & potatoes" for 2. ($55). Well marbled ribeye -served on wood platter- with roasted rosemary potatoes and marrow gratin. Very satisfying. Cool gastropub atmosphere. Entrees, flatbreads, burgs - varied selection. Would recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Potatoes also viewed

 

Been to Meat & Potatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meat & Potatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.