We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding steak, seafood and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse
247 North Shore Drive, Pittsburgh, PA
412.222.4014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding steak, seafood and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went for dinner. We had appetizers of shrimp and scallop wrapped in bacon which was very tasty. We followed this with the seafood tower, which was fresh, and had a lot of seafood. For dinner we had filet mignon, which was cooked perfectly and steaming hot. The gruyere potatoes au gratin was especially delicious! Elegant dining, and priced accordingly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    30
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Should have been better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I had dinner here while on a Pittsburgh getaway. I admit it was probably not the best fit for 5 girls NOT looking for a huge meal. After our server took out orders of 4 burgers and a petite filet entree they virtually disappeared. They dropped off the salads and forgot one. Took 5 minutes to get their attention. We had to ask for bread (for the filet girl of course) and although she ordered her meat "well done" it was literally a hockey puck sitting alone in the middle of a large plate. All alone! It was so dry and crunchy she could barely get it down. The burgers were delicious and a great value in comparison to the $35.00 hockey puck. The salads were good as were the sides of spinach and fries. The onion straws were cold and greasy though. Not a bad place, but definitely could have been better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“after dinner show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stopped by this past Saturday after seeing Wicked. This was our second trip to Hyde Park and I felt it was not up to par as the first visit a few months prior. The steak (fillets) were good but the side was not the big baked potato I expected but these small things they called potatoes. Tasty but hardly the football sized baked potato I was waiting for. The crowd was OK but due to the weather not that busy. We are going back in a month for V-Day and I hope it is better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ytown
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BRING YOUR APPETITE! Marvelous! Best, most perfect steak EVER - and side dish portions are large and can be shared!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Three of us went here for dinner and we could not have asked for a better meal or better service. Three of us split everything but the steaks. The side salad with homemade house dressing (and the house Greek dressing is delicious as well!) was just enough when split between the three of us. The juicy, perfectly charred steaks were cooked to perfection - even when ordered to cook well done - and the garlic and mushrooms to top it off added that little extra flavor, although the steak was scrumptious without them! The asparagus and mac and cheese (side dishes) cost extra (pricey!), but are enough to share, as the three of us were unable to finish our steaks and the sides. It is obvious that the food is very fresh and the chefs take as much pride in presentation as they do the taste. The warm rolls and pretzels were out of this world. We wanted dessert but were way too full and couldn't bear to eat another bite (I was still full the following morning!). The items are more on the pricey end (min $34 for a 7 oz steak); however, if you are looking for a juicy, tasty steak, this is DEFINITELY the place to eat. The atmosphere is definitely more upscale and valet parking is $5 plus tip, although we walked there from our hotel. We wore nice jeans so we decided to sit in the bar area, yet still felt like we were in an upscale restaurant. I would drive over an hour to eat here, just to have another one of their steaks. In fact, I plan on bringing my husband there for dinner again very soon - he always enjoys a good steak and would LOVE this eatery!!! Looking forward to going back sooner than later!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Took family to Hyde Park for dinner before a show. Service was fast and courteous. The meals were excellent. There were lots of compliments from everyone. Definitely a good choice for family and/or business.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.