We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Better Steak Options in Pittsburgh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse
247 North Shore Drive, Pittsburgh, PA
412.222.4014
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Way Better Steak Options in Pittsburgh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

DIned recently with business host. Asked for steak tartare off the menu and was astounded to learn they were charged for the price of a filet mignon off the menu. Steak are lathered in butter to the degree it makes you ill. Rib eye was not eadible too marbled. Filet was too rare.

French onion soup, so so. Chopped salad was average.

Ruth Chris is a better choice followed by Mortons and Cap Grill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent staff and wonderful atmosphere!! The food was excellent and prepared perfect!! Would definetly return on another visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I had read about Hyde Park being one of the best steakhouses nationally so I was highly enthused when ironically, it was across from my hotel by PNC Park when I went to Pittsburgh. First thing that you notice is the restaurants beauty. Dark red, black, metallic, tile, dark wood, cozy chairs, fireplace. It's very classy but not stuffy or pretentious. Our waiter was very patient and made many recommendations and explained the menu very well. The order was catered to our liking. It is the kind of place you walk in just "ooh" and "Ahh" over how everything looks. I had the filet mignon Oscar style. It was very good. But if you like more smokiness or garlic on your steak instead of sweetness then try otherwise. The breads great. The house-salad wasn't bad. The sprouts were delicious and my mother had the freshest salmon. Wine was great. Overall just a marvelous restaurant. Highly impressed. If you want one of those special, nice nice, upscale dinners then go here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second time there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Again ate at the bar area. Nice choice when not crowded. As another said chicken was mot up to expectations for this place. Service was great and friendly. Never touched ny wine bottle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am not a steak eater so I ordered grouper. Was ok. Most sides were heavily buttered and rich...not quite to my style.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.