We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice features, but a couple problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3896 Bigelow Boulevard, Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Hudson Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Some nice features, but a couple problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center for two nights, while touring Univ. Pittsburgh with my son. There were a number of nice things about this hotel, such as an excellent breakfast buffet, and comfortable room with kitchenette, but we ran into a couple of snags.

The biggest problem was that our room was incredibly hot, the first night, no matter how we adjusted the confusing temperature control. Eventually, after neither of us could fall asleep because of the heat, I finally called the front desk at midnight, and they sent up the night guard who had a special key to open the windows, to let in the fresh, winter air. That helped dramatically, and I wish I had called the front desk hours earlier about that problem. After that, we just kept those windows open a crack and we were comfortable.

Also, when we first arrived at the hotel, we inquired about taking the shuttle to Univ. Pittsburgh the following morning, only to be told that there were no openings left in the van. This was a major disappointment, since we didn't know the roads. However, quickly, they figured out that there would be a second van in the morning, and we got signed up for that one, so it eventually worked out ok.

Third, one of the reasons I chose this hotel was the availability of a hot tub, but it was out of order while we were there. Hopefully, it has been fixed.

On the plus side, the room was comfortable (bedroom plus kitchenette, sofabed in living area). Also, the breakfast was tasty and had a number of hot options (such as homefry potatoes with onions and peppers) and delicious chocolate muffins. The business center worked well, when I needed computer access.

Also, there is one restaurant within easy walking distance: Zarro's, across the street. It is a friendly place, with unique decor, and we had a very nice, and memorable meal there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    39
    21
    5
See reviews for
72
21
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel. The first time was February 2010. We were here then and now for the Big East Swimming Championships. I was glad the team parents decided to stay here a second time. I enjoyed the hotel and the shuttle service they provide is exceptional. The hotel is clean and the staff could not be friendlier.

The difference this time is that we brought our dog. We have a 90lb Chesapeake Bay Retriever and he was very comfortable at the hotel. The only problem bringing a big dog is that Pittsburgh doesn't have lots of green space for him to do his business. We found lots of roads up above the hotel to walk him and actually enjoyed the walks. (sweating up the hills and freezing down the hills) Be prepared to walk hills if you bring a pet. The hotel does provide a pet area but it really is for small pets, but it is nice.

Since we brought the pet we decided to eat most meals in. Everything in the room was in working order and there was plenty of pots & pans to do cooking. If you like Italian food less than two miles from the hotel is "Pittsburgh Little Italy" There are lots of shops to buy fresh pasta, sauce and bread to enjoy. Also there is a gourmet Giant Eagle not to far from the hotel which had lots of things to buy for cooking in a hotel.

Overall my experience the second time was no different than the first. Which says a lot since the trips were 24 months apart. The standards at this hotel are completely maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After traveling the world for fun, I came home to an emergency health problem that placed my husband in the Montefire Hospital in Pittsburgh. Needing a place to stay, rather than drive 56 miles daily, I booked into the Inn. I can't tell you what a relief it was to find staff so willing to help me find the best rooms, lovely, clean, and welcoming. The staff was so helpful and ready to listen when I needed to unload my fears and concerns. They arranged transportation to and from the hospital, had my luggage down when requested and the shuttle drivers were so polite and, actually, made me laugh and relax. I can tell you about the beautiful rooms, the clean sheets, comfortable bed, fantastic breakfast and evening buffet, but the staff!!!!! They were the best.! In the end, all was well with my husband, but I shall never forget how this establishment helped me through a very anxious time. I probably didn't tip enough, but here's lifting a glass to "Class"

Room Tip: Don't worry, they are all "classy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

we stayed for two nights for a hockey tournament. The rooms were a nice size and the breakfast was good. The hotel is not located near downtown and the photo that they post is not what the hotel looks like at all. It was a little confusing riding the elevators -but otherwise the hotel was fine. Next time I would prefer a hotel more in city center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel is located less than a mile from Univ of Pitt. The walk from Pitt back to hotel was about 20 minutes with a pretty consistent incline (nice little workout!). For those who want something more convenient, the hotel offers a shuttle service with very pleasant and knowledgeable drivers. Check with the front desk on shuttle times (they run until 8:45pm) and the drivers are literally a phone call away!

My daughter and I stayed in a 1 bdrm suite. The pull-out sofa was fairly uncomfortable but I've yet to really find one that is. The room was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet is served until 9:30 and they have the basics - pastries, eggs, sausage, fruits and cereals.

The fitness center is open 24/7 with card key access. It's pretty basic but the equipment is in good condition.

Parking is $12.50 in their garage and it's the cheapest I've found. Plus, after you check out, if you still need to stay in town but want to leave your car in the garage, you can. The front desk will give you a token to leave the garage and you don't get charged for the extra day.

Staff was really great. Very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

It was ok but it should have been less expensive. $40-$50 less would have made it well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel was just ok. There wasn't anything major that was bad, but a couple things did turn me off. I lost the TV signal for the HD channels about 8:30pm. The juice machine wasn't working at breakfast. They should have put up a sign. The room could have used some overall updating.

For the amount of money I paid, I expected more from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

Address: 3896 Bigelow Boulevard, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.