We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Historical Hotel in an Interesting City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Historical Hotel in an Interesting City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I spent seven days at this hotel. Our spacious room had a view of the river. We appreciated the history of the hotel and the quality of the modern restroom. The staff were always helpful. The hotel was close to an excellent gyro place so we never ate at the hotel and don't know anything about the hotel's food quality. The lobby was beautiful. We enjoyed walking down the stairs into the lobby every morning.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    242
    80
    18
    14
See reviews for
137
340
49
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Great location, beautiful lobby, clean rooms with high ceilings and comfortable beds. RIght across the bridge from PNC. No reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We were in town for a wedding and the bride and groom blocked rooms here for out of state guests such as ourselves. Renaissance is a Marriott property and I was pleased to be able to earn Marriott Rewards points during my stay. I am a frequent business traveler and stay at Marriotts quite often. Anyway, the front desk agent was amazing, I wish I remembered her name. She was wonderful. She noted my Marriott rewards number and assigned us to an absolutely gorgeous corner room with huge windows on two sides, overlooking the river and PNC Park. We could not have asked for better! The room was very clean and the bed was supremely comfortable. They had forgotten to give us our gift bag from the bride and groom upon check-in and we had pretty much written it off but soon enough someone came knocking on our door with the bag in hand, without us even having to have mentioned it.

I did hear that parking is $25 a day plus whatever you want to tip them, we did not have car so it did not effect us but I can see how that could add up. There is a garage across the street, not sure if that is any cheaper.

There is no pool in the hotel but apparently guests can use the Bally's next door for their pool, gym and hottub.

The location is great and the bell staff and doormen are excellent as well. I would stay here again without any qualms whatsoever. In fact we didn't want to pack up to leave after two nights...we wished we had one more night here to cozy up and relax in this beautifully classic building and especially our comfortable room with its amazing views. All in all Pittsburgh was a pleasant surprise as was this hotel - we can't wait to go back and visit both again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We received this hotel through using online booking site, priceline.com. We called 4 days prior to confirm that we could get 2 beds in the room since there was 4 of us traveling. They said they would put in our request. When we arrived, Matt was our check in person. He was great! Very friendly, outgoing and we did indeed have our 2 queen beds in our room. Our room was very spacious with nice view of Heinz Field and PNC Park. We were 25 minutes away from Waterfront which is a great entertainment complex with a cinema with 22 screens, shopping and some great restaurants. Parking was easy, only 5 bucks a day across the street. We got pizza from the place a couple doors over from our hotel and is was pretty good. We had a few beers at a little greek restaurant bar while waiting for our pizza and also at the bar right next door. Fairly decent neighborhood bars. I would suggest this hotel to anyone that was going to the Pittsburgh area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I am relocating to Pittsburgh next year and will not be recommending this hotel to family and friends who may be visiting. Although the experience was not entirely negative, there is no reason to give them the business.

I will give the hotel the benefit of the doubt by saying that Hotels.com was a poor choice to use as a booking agent, however, the Renaissance didn't make an effort to recover from Hotels.com's mistake. Hotels.com incorrectly assigned me to a room with insufficient beds and when I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff, they were short with me and made no effort to capitalize on a perfect service recovery opportunity. They shut me down and didn't even bother to look to see if there were other rooms or options available. Although this wasn't their fault, they could have made me a happy customer by trying to make the situation more desirable for me.

The room was small, nothing special, with a very small window placed in the corner of the room. It was by no means a room that I would have wanted to spend a substantial amount of time in. Housekeeping did a nice job and were friendly in the halls.

The phone wasn't working correctly and the Internet in the room was slow. I passed this message along to the Front Desk, but neither issue was addressed (phone was still not working when we checked out). Although these issues are minor, it goes to show that the staff isn't particularly dedicated to meeting the needs of its customers.

The valet staff was friendly and actually provided a higher level of customer service to us than the Front Desk. Also, there was a bellhop named Michael (I think) who was extremely personable, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in who we were, where we were from and what brought us to Pittsburgh. That gesture went a long way, much further than anything else did during our stay.

I've only stayed at 2 hotels in Pittsburgh, but I can imagine that my time and money would have been better spent at any of the other properties in the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I have stayed in many, and The Renaissance is by far the most elegant, upscale hotel in Pittsburgh. The location is ideal for football (Go Steelers!) and baseball (Go Bucs!), theater, museums, dining and shopping. The marble lobby is beautiful, and the service is always excellent. Upgrade to a corner room if possible - the river view is fantastic. I enjoy The Bridge Bar on site, and notable bars nearby are Olive or Twist (across the street) and Bosa Nova. There is also a roof top lounge at Six Penn Kitchen on the corner. I am not impressed by the on site restaurant, Opus. It is in need of some updating, and with all the fine dining to choose from in the city it just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We were just in Pittsburgh for one night. Great location - and even with a baseball game going on we could find a parking spot in the deck across the street - so not a problem. Nice staff, great, large room, lounge breakfast was plenty. Absolutely gorgeous lobby!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.