We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Lovely refurbished old hotel. Staff were friendly.

Clean and comfortable, very large room. Lovely view of the water.

The restaurant was better than your average hotel fare.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    262
    85
    18
    14
See reviews for
143
360
51
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a great stay at the Pittsburgh Renassance, the room was so much more then what we
expected. Plus I must compliment the wonderful daylight barmaid at the Bradack bar, Rene'e
was so helpful on suggestions we're to go and enjoy our stay in the city. Her service and drinks
were the best we received on our stay, anywhere we went. Thank you Rene'e. You made us
feel so welcome to this great city and hotel.
Joe & Judie Barry

Room Tip: Room 410 has an ellecent view of the river and the north shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

What a wonderful hotel in the cultural district of Pittsburgh. Harkens back to what hotels and service used to be. Very comfortable bed, and everything smelled so clean! Excellent place to stay when attending a concert, theater or in our case a Penguins game. Everyone was very attentive to our needs, even jumping off of a ladder to open the door. Had drinks in the hotel bar after the game, just a great time all around. Plan to do this again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Everyone was very nice and helpful. Check-in was fast. The employees were all friendly. Everyone greeted us and opened the doors for us. They called cabs for us and even let us print something off on their printer. You can't beat the location. It is with in walking distance to everything. The only downfall was the view. There was no view from our room 418. We could only see the rooms across from us :( Other people had great views but I think it is more expensive. I highly recommend this hotel. It is expensive but the location is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled up from NC to PA for the Steelers game this past weekend and we were super excited since this was a wedding present to both of us. When we first arrived it was somewhat raining/snowing and my husband pulled up to the curb and I got out to ask the doorman where we could park and he completely ignored me and walked right passed me to get someone a taxi, which the taxi had already stopped and the people were already getting into. My husband had to roll down the window and stop the guy while I was standing in the raining weather to ask him where we could park for the hotel parking. He just pointed. That was the first experience.
Second experience was the check-in. The lady who checked us in was nice, however, when she said "Our room was ready and would I like to add my husband Mark's name to the room", my husband looked at me and said "who's Mark?" I don't know where the lady got that name from, but I said" I don't know who Mark is my husband's name is Chris". Bad move lady for any couple. Third, I was standing in line to check-out and my husband went off to load the luggage in the car. I was really upset with the checkout because the lady said "Can I help you guys" "How was you guys stay" "Do you guys need help with luggage" I don't mind the word "guys," but I was the only one that walked up to the counter and was talking to her and she kept looking off at someone else while she was speaking to me not even giving any eye contact. I look behind me and it was an old man standing and waiting for the next person. She kept looking at him and when I would answer her questions I would have to repeat myself twice because she wasn't paying attention. Poor service from entry, check-in and check-out. Great location for the game, but service, not politeness needs work! Staying there I felt like a room number, not a guest and I am also a Marriott Rewards Member.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed one night for a Steelers game. Heinz field is in walking distance.

Staff seemed to be overwhelmed with masses of Steelers fans checking in at the same time. Overqll great stay in a clean room with free wifi.

Recommand it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel during a "sports weekend" in Pittsburgh. The hotel is perectly located. It is just across the river from the ball park and two subways stops to both Heinze Field and Consol Energy Center. You could walk to the stadium but the weather was poor so we chose the train. The hotel is two blocks from the train station.

The hotel is an older grand hotel and is very nice. The rooms are small but finished nicely and service is excellent. It is a bit pricey if you boom directly. I booked through Priceline and thought the value was excellent.

There is not a lot of nightlife in the immediate area. There is a good sportsbar called Red Beards across the street and it is a $7 taxi ride to South Side bar strip.

Great hotel that I would definitley recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.