We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a Valentine getaway. Beautiful hotel, elegant lobby, wonderful location for downtown dining and theaters, and a short walk to the subway station where you can get free rides throughtout downtown and to Pittsburgh's North Shore. We had an exquisite corner room with almost panoramic views of the Allegheny River and North Shore. Very comfortable bed and bedding, spacious room and bath, spotless. Small point here, but there was nothing in the room about any amenities. Nothing to tell you whether there was wireless Internet service or a fitness room or where to get ice, no hotel map -- just a delivery menu for the restaurant downstairs.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    208
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
116
290
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Extended a business trip to include a long weekend with the family-wife and son (8).

Rooms are fairly large. Bed comfortable. Staff very pleasant. When they renovated the building they did not install the best windows so the room was cool and you will have to turn up the thermostat. Hotel heating unit is noisy. You will wake up early during the week from street noise but it is not too bad on the weekends.

The best feature of this hotel is the location. Hotel is very handy if you wish to go to the theater. Starbucks a couple minutes walk. A few resturants-catering to the theater crowd- a short walk away from the hotel. Convenient location for getting in, out and around the city. Across the river from PNC.Carnegie science museum short drive. City parking garage across the street-$5 a night on weekends and $12 weekday.

Hotel is in a 100+ year old building but aside from outside architecture and oddly lit lobby there is not a lot of ambiance to the hotel.

No nice extra's-ie turndown service, chocolate on bed, cookies for kids,etc. No pool. When we checked in no one mentioned any incentives for kids-ie. kids meals. There is nothing here to entice family's to stay here but the location.

I had been staying at the Omni William Penn and my son thought, based on the lobby, that he would rather have stayed there-more traditional grand hotel- but for getting around the city you cannot beat the renaisance. Note the hotel is still in the city and you will encounter some odd characters around the hotel.

Things in Pittsburgh to do with a 8 year old:
-Carnegie Science Center is great
-Carnegia Natural History museum is good
-Heinz Hall near theatre (was a movie palace)
-Pittsburgh Public Theater great place to catch a play. We saw 1776 and it was very good. They offer a family special 2 adult, 2 kids and coupons for free soda for $100-good deal!
-on a weekend morning check out the market on the strip.If possible eat breakfast at Pamela's but avoid Wholly Seafood it was horrible.
-Southside works shop and grab lunch-note parking is horrible
-my son enjoyed the incline
-if possible catch a sporting event great city of sports
-Simons mall with LL Bean Store approx. 15 drive from the hotel easy to find

Overall there is enough to do in Pittsburgh to keep your family happy.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which are quieter and give you a view of the river and stadiums. Interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bruce 066, Thank you very much for writing a review. While I am glad you enjoyed some parts of the city and hotel, I was sorry to read that we did not meet your need for a "kid’s experience". We definitely will work on that including the development of a what to do with Kids Navigator. Thank you for improving our future family experiences. Best. Barbara McMahon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For the past 10 years, we've been staying at the Renaissance if we're going to see a show or Pirates game. It's within walking distance to the theaters, PNC park, Heinz field and lots of great restaurants.

Our most recent stay on Jan. 26 was just like the our other stays at this property - absolutely wonderful. The property itself is breath-taking. The staff has always been polite and attentive. The bar and restaurant are very good as well.

We typically get the breakfast buffet when we're staying here. During our last stay, it would have been nice if the staff would have done a better job of refilling the buffet. I felt bad for the guests who arrived when we were leaving. The buffet was pretty much picked over and the staff didn't do anything to replenish it.


Over the years, the bar on the property has changed over the years. Now there's a bourbon bar at the Renaissance. It's crowded and the service is a bit slow. We actually prefer to sit in the lobby than the bar - it's less crowded and noisy.

Staying at this property is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear hinano902, thank you for taking time to write this review even if you have stayed with us before. We are delighted that it was another wonderful stay with the exception of the replenishment of the buffet. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly will work on that. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.e.ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We needed to getaway for some much needed R&R...this fit the bill. We got a executive suite on the 11th floor- amazing views of the area- room was well appointed, champagne came w pkg and it was very good. Front desk was super helpful!! Justin helped us to snag tickets to a hockey game at the last minute- using his personal email acct., that was a blast. Dinner at hotel (Braddocks)1st nite was fine..Dinner 2nd nite came from the front desk recommendation- it was stellar!! Ala Famiglia- You have to eat there..Being in the theatre district was great to stroll around grab a coffee and what else - get offered cheap seats to a show!! Had room service breakfast- was done very well. You have to splurge and stay here. Its the most we ever paid in 30yrs of marriage- but high time. The architecture, ambiance- amazing staff- and location..5 stars

Room Tip: Executive suites are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear teleservicerep, thank you very much for your review. It was so much fun reading it. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the room, food and beverage and then into the city for more fun. Unfortunately the desk agent who got those tickets is returning to New York but doesn't Brian do a great job. And isn't Ala Famiglia great. The next time you visit, try the Salsa dance lessons at the Cabaret Theater on Friday nights. FUN!!!! Enjoying life. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Would stay again, but not in room 1404. Location is really great for science center, PNC park, UPMC campus and associated museums plus its in the heart of the theater district. Good places to eat with a range of cuisines in walking distance. You can valet or park across the street for $5.00. View of river from room is fantastic. Room is worn, gouges in the wood around the bathroom and hallway. The walls and ceiling are stained like someone ate spaghetti and threw it at the wall above the bedside lights along with whipped cream and threw it on the ceiling in the middle of the room as well. It's pretty hard to miss. Service was good and staff friendly and helpful. No complaints on cleanliness in the rest of the room. Next time I will check out the room earlier and decide if another is in order vs just staying in it.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are hotter and you cannot control the thermostat in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are great. large open spaces, high ceilings, nice contemporary bathroom. I recommend the corner suites. The beds were so comfortable with the perfect pillows. The hotel was in the cultural district of Pittsburgh and was near a lot of great restaurants. Parking is across the street and runs about $10 per day. The lobby was comfortable and had a nice restaurant and bar. Stay on 8th floor or higher and try to get a room overlooking the river to get a great view of the stadiums and the river.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Agb4048, thank you very much for writing a review of the Renaissance Pittsburgh. We love knowing what people think of our hotel and tips on how to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed the rooms, the view and location. Parking is about $5.00 on weekends....a real steal for city parking. Hope that you will visit again soon. With much appreciation. Barbara McMahon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

With a group of four of us, and two king rooms, we were only going to be in town for one night after a concert on the south side. Before even arriving we called ahead just to see if early check-in was available, and they assured us it wouldn't be a problem though we were about two hours ahead of time. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was more than courteous. When my boyfriend and I entered our room, we were instantly smiling and loved how neat and comfortable it felt. It was snowing upon our arrival so when we looked out the window the snow looked like it was going up, what a gorgeous building and slight view of the frozen river next door. Later we had dinner at the bar downstairs (Braddock) and it was delicious. Definitely a must to eat at least one meal here. The valets were just as sweet and informational when we needed a cab to our concert. When first getting to our room there was a menu available for room service in the morning for breakfast and all you had to do was select what you wanted and leave it on the door handle to be picked up by 1am. We were spoiled when we got the knock on the door the next morning with an amazing set up. The bathrooms were neat, clean, and had great water pressure even on the 11th floor. Then, when checking out the morning staff members made everything very simple and easy to understand (regarding the bill and costs). Will definitely stay here only when I go back to Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the inner part of the arch at the hotel will hear the wind blowing, but provided fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRenPgh, General Manager at Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Lagtacaraya, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. As a first time reviewer you did a great job!!! We are delighted that you enjoyed the rooms, the views, the hotel and of course, the city. We hope to welcome you back soon. PNC stadium has great fireworks. Loving Life...Barbara McMahon, General Manager

p.s. I know what you mean about the snow affect and love it. You are the first to ever comment on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel

Address: 107 6th Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA is an inspirational landmark, a bold fusion of classic and contemporary, where stunning architecture meets sleek, modern design. Located in the heart of the vibrant Cultural District and as one of the most historic hotels in downtown Pittsburgh, the Renaissance is housed in the iconic Fulton Building and exudes the urban sophistication of this cosmopolitan creative hub. Centrally located, the Renaissance Pittsburgh hotel is close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, the Consol Energy Center and the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, making it the ideal locale for seeing the best of what our exciting city has to offer. Exceptional works by celebrated local artists lend the space artistic flair, while light spills in through the stunning glass dome ceiling into the lobby below. From the start, the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel promises to be unforgettable. Discover one of the only luxury four-star hotels in downtown Pittsburgh. The Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel combines artistic elegance and hip style with luxurious Pittsburgh accommodations and an excellent location, creating a hotel experience unlike any other in the Steel City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pittsburgh Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.