We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Museum of Natural History

Carnegie Museum of Natural History
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (North Oakland)
+1 412-622-3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 236 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carnegie Museum of Natural History is the place for kids to discover science and the wonders of the natural world. Dig for bones in Bonehunters Quarry, get hands-on with real and replica specimens in Discovery Basecamp, grind corn in a Hopi home, and more. Dinosaurs are just the beginning! Free family-activities, touchables, and Bonehunters Quarry available each weekend and weekdays during the summer. OPERATING HOURS- Mon, Wed, Fri, and Sat: 10 A.M.-5 P.M. Thurs: 10 A.M.-8 P.M. Sun: Noon-5 P.M. Tues: CLOSED
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Used to be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Politically correct takeover ruined Indian exhibits. Good Dinosaur, Gem & Egyptian Exhibits. Took out the scarey Tyranasaurus Rex mural.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    137
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

good exhibits but half of the 3rd floor was closed. we found out when we tried to enter it and had to ask someone there. good for kids though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mostly a kids place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband & I went there when we were visiting Pittsburgh for a concert. Fee is kinda pricy for what it is. They have good exhibits, but it seems small.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Worked at the Carnegie Museum in the personal marketing department. The nicest people work at the Carnegie Museum.
Love the Natural History. Great design! Kids enjoyed their visits there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What they have is nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'm spoiled by living near the Natural History Museum in NYC. This museum in Pittsburgh is very nice and well-maintained, for the exhibits that they have. It's like a sampling of what I'm used to seeing in NY.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.