We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Museum of Natural History

Carnegie Museum of Natural History
4400 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (North Oakland)
+1 412-622-3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 78 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carnegie Museum of Natural History is the place for kids to discover science and the wonders of the natural world. Dig for bones in Bonehunters Quarry, get hands-on with real and replica specimens in Discovery Basecamp, grind corn in a Hopi home, and more. Dinosaurs are just the beginning! Free family-activities, touchables, and Bonehunters Quarry available each weekend and weekdays during the summer. OPERATING HOURS- Mon, Wed, Fri, and Sat: 10 A.M.-5 P.M. Thurs: 10 A.M.-8 P.M. Sun: Noon-5 P.M. Tues: CLOSED
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was alot of fun. My little guy liked the amimals and dinos. We are not a fan of all the art though. We had lunch there that was really good and didnt cost a ton.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    122
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must do in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Museum is a must do on your trip to Pittsburgh. Earlier in the week we had visited the American Museum Of Natural History in New York, so figured there was not much point in the Carnegie Museum, as we had seen it all. How wrong we were. What a fantastic Museum. Very carefree walk around for three hours and found it very interesting and informative. Their displays were very well presented. The whole Museum was spotlessly clean as well. Personally I loved both Museums, but Carnegie had something extra special that took your breath away. You haven't seen it all until you have been to Carnegie Museum. Entry fee was $13 Adults and $11 Children up to 18yrs ( that's a first ), would have been happy paying twice the entry fee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good Rainy Day Activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Those who visit Pittsburgh for more than a day or two, are inevitably confronted with the question of what to do when the weather suddenly collapses. Well, here's your answer: The Carnegie Museum of Natural History, located in Oakland (the city's University/Medical Center), is a treasure trove of information, curiosities and diversions-- certainly more than enough to fill up a rainy day in Pittsburgh-town.

Admission @$17.95 for adults,$14.95 for seniors and $11.95 for children (under 3 yrs FREE), may seem high at first glance, but you are getting both this, and admission to the adjoining Museum of Art, for one price. (Enjoy Book has a coupon.) Parking is $5.00 for weekend days at the dedicated Carnegie lot with entrance from Forbes Ave, just beyond the Art Museum fountain (across from S Craig St). Weekdays parking is by the hour, but still at reasonable rates. Also, city busses #61's and #71's access Oakland from Downtown and stop right in front of the Carnegie Museum. Consult Port Authority of Allegheny Co website for times and fares (exact change required).

Consult the Carnegie's very informative website for specific hrs and current events, but keep in mind that they are closed on Mondays and on a few major holidays. Also, they do not open most days until 10:00am, and at Noon on Sundays. If you have a whole day to spend here, you might want to go on Thursday when they stay open till 8:00pm. There are plenty of benches and other rest areas, just in case the thought of spending a whole day plodding around inside a Museum is
crossing your eyes about now. You can also leave the building for a meal (the afore-mentioned S. Craig St, directly across from the Museum, offers many good restaurants), and then re-enter with your ticket on the same day; or you may choose to simply eat inside the Museum itself.

As often stated here, kids love the Dinosaur Exhibit, in fact the entire Paleontology and Discovery Depts. There are plenty of hands-on activities, and special programs being presented daily by highly educated docents. Of course, these areas are also interesting for young-at-heart adults; and everyone enjoys the Gems, Geology, Native American, Egyptian, Arctic and Architecture Halls. Changing exhibits of special interest are offered several times each year, and I usually recommend visitors check out these shows when time is limited. You can always return on another trip in the future to take in the permanent exhibits. Right now, for example, there is a grand show on the World's Fairs' contributions to modern daily life, which is not to be missed.

If you only have 2-3 hours to spend here, don't worry; just be sure to take in at least a sampling of the Halls listed above. Otherwise, a visit to this Museum could literally take you 5-6 hrs, or as long as you want to stay-- there is just always more to see. Personally, I never leave the building without paying a quick visit to the Van Goghs next door, as if they're my old family friends. . . .

Christmas Time brings to the Carnegie the decoration of its beautiful front hall with elaborately themed trees and the antique Neapolitan Presepio, a Pittsburgh Holiday tradition. The gorgeous Carnegie Music Hall is located inside this same remarkable building and, if you ask politely, one of the guards may allow you to peek in at the ornate green-veined marble and sumptuous furnishings. There is also a beautiful green space outdoors,at Schenley Plaza, just to the right of the Carnegie, running along Forbes Ave, where you can take a break, and soak up some rays with the locals-- if you are lucky enough to visit Oakland on a day when the Sun does decide to make an appearence!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Impressive after a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had only 1.5 hours to browse the museum, but was pretty impressed with what i saw.
I have been to my fair share of museums around the globe, but i have to say the Carnegie is one of my new favourites.
I liked the way the museum seek to educate and provide information on each exhibit, rather than bombard you with sheer number of exotic artifacts or masterpieces (which a lot of museums are guilty of)

The dinosaur section was very nicely done, and all the fossils were imposing.
I loved the gem section, the crystals and their variety, and the way they were presented was fantastic.

The first section upon entry was on geology, and that was pretty informative as well.
I would say judging from the number of exhibits and unexplored areas left after my visit, this museum (coupled with the adjacent museum of art) would definitely take a full day.
Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best Dinosaurs collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Dinosaurs collection is incredible and the way they are presented is amazing. Very impressive for children and this museum has much to offer for all ages. We visit the museum followed by a decent lunch in the cafeteria and continue with the visit. One of the many "must see" in Pittsburgh.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.