We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the gift shop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator John Heinz History Center

Senator John Heinz History Center
1212 Smallman St., Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412-454-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 78 Attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: History Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Waldo, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Even the gift shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On a trip to Pittsburgh, we walked over the Heinz History Center. Now we did not actually go into the museum part as our teen-ager was not that enthused, nor was her father. So we ended up perusing the gift shop which was actually quite fun, plus was able to see and read a little of the Heinz history. Took some nice pictures of very large and very small ketchup bottles. Got a wonderful tee for my husband. Spent a very pleasant hour. I am sure that the museum itself is even more entertaining.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    102
    22
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went to the museum to fill a couple of hours between college visits with my 17 year old son. We really enjoyed ourselves. They have a very nice exhibit about 1968, history, pop culture, fashion, politics everything. It was very well done and entertaining. We also enjoyed the 2nd floor exhibit on the history of Pittsburgh. Informative and well presented. Overall good trip and worth seeing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“1968 Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to the history center to see the new 1968 exhibit.

This is a fun date and also it was pretty interesting. The sports museum was very interesting. But, when I left the museum I was feeling a bit overloaded with information.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What's not to love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Seriously. What's not to love about history? The Heinz History delivers in grand style. I go at least once a year, or whenever they have a new exhibit that interests me. The only thing I would caution you about is to make sure you set aside plenty of time. You'll need it. This place is fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good thing to do on Super Bowl Sunday when your team is not playing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The year 1968 was a great year despite all the tragic happenings. I didn't remember all the things that went on until I visited the Heinz History in the Strip for my birthday!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senator John Heinz History Center also viewed

 

Been to Senator John Heinz History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator John Heinz History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.