We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the New NFL Hall of Fame Exhibit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator John Heinz History Center

Senator John Heinz History Center
1212 Smallman St., Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412-454-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 236 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the New NFL Hall of Fame Exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great time at the new exhibit and also enjoyed the rest of the museum! There is a nice mix of older American history and more contemporary history including items from the 1900s.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    109
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There were a lot of great exhibits here. We had two 7 year olds with us and they were just as entertained as the adults. A great family place with something for everyone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Shannon, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of best kept secrets in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Heinz History Center has something for everyone. If you like sports, glass making or collecting, or just want to know more about the history of western Pennsylvania this if the place to see. The building is historic itself as an old ice house and the collections are wonderful. This is a true treasure.

There is a fee or it is free for members.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“History is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Interesting spot, large so take some time. I went to two floors out of six because my time was limited. Amazing information about what people and industries come from Pittsburgh. I was impressed and enjoyed my time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A musuem that would appeal to most”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great for everyone looking for a little bit of American History, obviously the Heinz floor is a must, I have the song "anticipation, its sloow good" stuck in my head, but i love it.

There's sports history for the guys and even my wife found it interesting. Then the most interesting was the section on innovation through the decades.

$10 admission was well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senator John Heinz History Center also viewed

 

Been to Senator John Heinz History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator John Heinz History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.