We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Pittsburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strip

The Strip
Between Liberty Ave. and Smallman St., Pittsburgh, PA
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Activities in Pittsburgh
Type: Neighborhoods, Food & Drink
Activities: Shopping, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a narrow strip of land in a flood plain, scenic neighborhood features historic points of interest such as Senator John Heinz Regional History Center and Pennsylvania Railroad Fruit Auction Building.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quintessential Pittsburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The Strip is one of those places that defines Pittsburgh for me. From the amazing selection of fresh fish at Wholleys, to waiting in line for breakfast at DeLuca's, to the awesome deli at Penn Mac, and the huge selection of sports team apparel at Yinzers, the Strip helps define Pittsburgh. Just walking down the street is an awe inspiring experience for the senses. Quirky clothes, fresh flowers, produce, food vendors....it is all here!
This is an older yet vibrant section of the city that doesn't reek of modernization like other areas of the city... the buildings are older, the parking a little tight. Business goes on here as it has for years.
The Strip is a place i love to come to and hate to leave. It really does help define the city for me.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    167
    43
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Quick walk thru strip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I must have walked down the wrong strip last week while in Pittsburgh b/c I am not sure I would recommend that someone go out of their way to come here shopping. My husband and I were staying in the area and decided to walk around last week, and we did go into a few shops but there was nothing much to them. I felt that Smallman Street shops were pretty much non-existent and very deserted (with not much of a sidewalk to walk on). Penn St had more shops but nothing great - just little rinky dink shops. We walked the 'strip' in less then 30 minutes and didn't buy a thing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited The Strip with our adult son on a Saturday morning and loved the atmosphere. There were a lot of people, but I did not feel like I was too crowded. We enjoyed the ethnic bakeries, restaurants, and grocery stores. So much good food! Even found a great chocolate shop and fresh flowers.
We paid $5 for all day parking along an old warehouse - there are attendants who flag you when they have a spot available. You have to walk a block up to "The Strip", but I felt it was well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGETOWN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Only in Pittsburgh can you get this great experience! Street vendors, stores and great resturants!! LOVE THIS PLACE

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“True Pittsburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ok, I have always lived in Pittsburgh and I STILL love to visit the strip. Especially during Steelers season. Get there early, around 9 is best. Go straight down smallman-I think that's what its called- til you see a big church in front of you, go to the left of the church. right after you pass the church you'll see a little alley on your right. Turn in and then go up and turn left into the parking lot. Its a great location for everywhere you want to go AND its only $5. You MUST buy: a crazy steelers shirt or hat off one of the street vendors, some bread off the street vendor- the pepperoni bread is the best I have EVER had in my life, get some baked goods, and you MUST stop into a little store (close to the church but one street up) called Art and Steel. Its my favorite shop in the world. The have the most unique gifts and home decor. Very cool and not expensive. My girls love to go in a get a cool rock or geode. They have very pretty earrings too. The strip district is a must stop if you're visiting Pittsburgh or you need a little taste of the city. You never know what you're going to find!!! Explore!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strip also viewed

 

Been to The Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.