We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansions On Fifth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mansions On Fifth Hotel to your Saves list
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5105 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15232   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was just here for the Hamilton wedding and I have to say that the hotel is stunning! I love the feel of the place. The rooms were all amazing, and so comfortable! The beds were just so comfy!! The staff was very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommed this for a long weekend (or longer) or a wedding! I hope to visit again!

Room Tip: 1207--this was our room and it was perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
40
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have now stayed at the Mansions twice, for events at Carnegie Mellon University. It could not be closer to the university, and allows you to experience the elegant atmosphere of old Shadyside, even on business. The combination of art collection and architecture creates the impression of a living museum. The service has been excellent both times. This latest time, our plans changed last minute and we ended up coming into the city early in the morning. We called as we drove in to ask if our room happened to be ready, and they told us to come on over. When we arrived, the concierge noted that he had mistakenly thought our room was already settled, but, as it was not, upgraded us to a complimentary suite. We spent the night at the top of the restored mansion with a view overlooking the city. Gorgeous.
Also worth mentioning is the Hotel bar. The drinks are great (especially the dirty martini, they have a house made olive juice mix that makes them delicious ;) ), the bartender is engaging and interesting, and Jennifer, one of the owners, is often there ready to talk Steelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rick and I originally booked a 2 night stay with our 7# dog, Madelyn. They have one room designated for pets which is located in a back building. We had a private entrance but the ground was loose gravel and messy so we had to use the front to walk her. We were not allowed in the main building where the bar area is located with our dog and that was very disappointing. Our room was small and packed with old furniture. The house itself has been well kept but very dated, dark and gloomy. I couldn't see a well defined decorating scheme and felt the surrounding attention to detail similar to an up scale consignment motif. We ended up only staying one night and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The service was attentive and exceedingly welcoming. I guess that we enjoy a more luxurious stay but would recommend this hotel without reservations if you enjoy a sense of the past.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This historic mansion is now a top-notch hotel lovingly restored to its original grandeur. The dark wood paneling and stained glass create an atmosphere of true elegance, the service is superbly attentive, and the food is top quality. The staff couldn't do enough for us during our two-day stay, and it deserves the highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The main mansion was built in1906 and the first floor is outstanding with spacious rooms and gorgeous woodwork.
The breakfast is served in style with porcelain dish-ware and excellent coffee.
Staff is pleasant and kudos to Charles for succeeding in interrupting the air conditioning in our room which could not be done from the room controls.
Weaknesses are in the area of modern comforts: besides the air temperature the TV was hard to operate.
The automated wake up call did not operate at all!
The location is convenient for a local trendy neighborhood
On the other hand you have to drive to get downtown,to our sorrow we found out that getting a cab in Pittsburgh is a lengthy ordeal..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want a luxury hotel, this is not it. But it is really clean and nicely renovated. If you want wooden, but spot on service, this is not your place. But, if you want to be treated well, and you want to feel like everyone really cares about your stay, this is the place to stay.
I loved Mansions on Fifth! There is something truly charming and quirky about this hotel. I loved the rooms, I loved the staff and I loved the location.
Breakfast was delightful and I have never seen staff so eagerly and authentically try to please their guests. Mansions on Fifth knows exactly how to strike a balance between intimacy and privacy. I will never stay at any other location when in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Just let yourself be surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mansions on Fifth for my nephew's wedding. The rehearsal dinner and cocktail party were hosted there as well. It could not have been better....fabulous home, fabulous staff, beautiful rooms each with a lovely bathroom. Plenty of room for the party...and you don't have to drive back to your hotel, just go upstairs! They even have an elevator! If you want to be pampered for a night or a weekend event, the Mansions is your venue.

Room Tip: My favorite rooms were 1205 and 1203 (second floor, front corner rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansions On Fifth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansions On Fifth Hotel

Address: 5105 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansions On Fifth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansions on Fifth is a grand yet intimate luxury hotel offering personalized service and comfort in its luxurious rooms and suites. Beyond, the Mansions offers the Oak Room where guests can enjoy wines, liquors and fresh, delicious foods, a comfortable library, a century-old wine cellar and inviting wine tasting room, a modern fitness room and the availability of relaxing spa services on site. The hotel is ADA compliant and offers specially designed ADA accessible guest rooms. Business policies include a firm commitment to earth friendly practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Mansions On Fifth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansions On Fifth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.