We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Conservatory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Conservatory

Phipps Conservatory
700 Frank Curto Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-622-6914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 233 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Conservatory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Phipps Conservatory was a beautiful attraction. Loved the many different gardens. One of my favorites was the cacti room. I also loved the artwork displayed throughout, esp. the Chihuly glass sculptures. Although I was not there with a small child I loved the children's area, very interactive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    153
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas at Phipps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife found out some information about an event they were having here. It was very impressive! My wife was in awe over how pretty everything was; the building and flowers were. When the holidays arrive again, I plan to take her again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“worth visiting if into horticulture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best when the flower shows are there. Great light show outdoors in the winter. in the heart of Oakland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a lovely and quite large conservatory in Schenley Park. They have many interesting varieties of gardens including the typical tropical as well as an India Garden and butterfly garden. My favorite was the desert garden with some huge succulents. They also had a nice collection of Bonsai and an outdoor garden for kids. The conservatory is in the large Schenley Park, near U Pitt and CMU, it is a great location to just hang out or maybe bring a picnic lunch. Nice place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to the Phipps Conservatory on multiple occasions and with family members as well as friends. No matter what season you go you will see beautiful and informative displays of flowers and plants. They have outdoor areas as well as indoor. Everyone who admires the natural beauty of plants and blooms should visit at least once.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phipps Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.