We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Conservatory

Phipps Conservatory
700 Frank Curto Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 154 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a lovely and quite large conservatory in Schenley Park. They have many interesting varieties of gardens including the typical tropical as well as an India Garden and butterfly garden. My favorite was the desert garden with some huge succulents. They also had a nice collection of Bonsai and an outdoor garden for kids. The conservatory is in the large Schenley Park, near U Pitt and CMU, it is a great location to just hang out or maybe bring a picnic lunch. Nice place!

Visited June 2013
Thank rjs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to the Phipps Conservatory on multiple occasions and with family members as well as friends. No matter what season you go you will see beautiful and informative displays of flowers and plants. They have outdoor areas as well as indoor. Everyone who admires the natural beauty of plants and blooms should visit at least once.

Visited March 2013
Thank Pittsburgh_PATeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Party in the Tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not only does Phipps Conservatory offer a respite from the challenges of life, it offers an immediate ZEN experience. I recently attended a "Party in the Tropics" event which I found out Phipps hosts on select Fridays during the year. Who new? And I've lived in Pittsburgh @2 miles from the conservatory for 30+ years.

Kathleen Kozak Meyer

Visited June 2013
2 Thank mtkkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gorgeous conservatory, with loads of character. Perfect for wandering, especially if you love plants and flowers, but even if that's not your passion. The buildings are worth seeing (one historic, the other new and "green"). Highly recommend the Phipps (so glad that a waitress recommended it when we asked her what we should see while in Pittsburgh)!

Visited February 2013
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must-see of Pittsburgh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were truly surprised by this hidden gem of Pittsburgh. The conservatory was expansive allowing us to have a pleasant time walking through lasting over 2 hours. Spots of particular interest for us were the "Desert Room" and the "Bonsai Garden." We also checked out the café and gift shop. The café had good food and was able to keep a long line of customers moving. Although the gift shop offered some very nice materials, the prices were a bit high to take anything home. I've posted some pictures but be sure to stop by yourself and explore!

-Great rainy day activity
-FREE convenient parking outside the conservatory
-All but one of the many, many rooms are wheelchair accessible
-Beautifully kept throughout
-Friendly staff
-Senior/Student Discount of $1 off regular admission prices
-A few fun-looking interactive side activities for kids

As of 6/10/2013 regular admission was $15 and senior/student price was $14.

Visited June 2013
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed


Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing