We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party in the Tropics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Conservatory

Phipps Conservatory
700 Frank Curto Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-622-6914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 attractions in Pittsburgh
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Party in the Tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not only does Phipps Conservatory offer a respite from the challenges of life, it offers an immediate ZEN experience. I recently attended a "Party in the Tropics" event which I found out Phipps hosts on select Fridays during the year. Who new? And I've lived in Pittsburgh @2 miles from the conservatory for 30+ years.

Kathleen Kozak Meyer

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    115
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gorgeous conservatory, with loads of character. Perfect for wandering, especially if you love plants and flowers, but even if that's not your passion. The buildings are worth seeing (one historic, the other new and "green"). Highly recommend the Phipps (so glad that a waitress recommended it when we asked her what we should see while in Pittsburgh)!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must-see of Pittsburgh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were truly surprised by this hidden gem of Pittsburgh. The conservatory was expansive allowing us to have a pleasant time walking through lasting over 2 hours. Spots of particular interest for us were the "Desert Room" and the "Bonsai Garden." We also checked out the café and gift shop. The café had good food and was able to keep a long line of customers moving. Although the gift shop offered some very nice materials, the prices were a bit high to take anything home. I've posted some pictures but be sure to stop by yourself and explore!

Notes:
-Great rainy day activity
-FREE convenient parking outside the conservatory
-All but one of the many, many rooms are wheelchair accessible
-Beautifully kept throughout
-Friendly staff
-Senior/Student Discount of $1 off regular admission prices
-A few fun-looking interactive side activities for kids

As of 6/10/2013 regular admission was $15 and senior/student price was $14.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Out of this world!!!! Another great secret of Pittsburgh! This is beautiful and ssssooo enjoyable. They sometimes have people playing musical instruments. Such an enjoyable experience. Ssssoooo worth the time and money! Visit!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Two areas at Phipps were closed for special events. No one notified us about the closure of the areas at the time we purchased tickets. Discounts are not offered. So we ended up paying full price for three tickets and didn't see all rooms. Unacceptable!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phipps Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phipps Conservatory to your Saves list
;