We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phipps Conservatory

Phipps Conservatory
700 Frank Curto Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-622-6914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 236 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The amazing glass dome greenhouse is so beautiful. A perfect Sunday afternoon break from all of the day to day chaos! I took 100 pictures, while I was there. The flowers and greenery are spectacular! I will be going back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    154
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Constantly changing, always amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Phipps Conservatory is constantly changing their displays as the seasons change. I have gone three times in the past year, and loved every display that they created.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tranquil and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely way to spend a frosty afternoon! Albeit, March has many plants still in dormant mode, there's still a lot to see as you meander through the rooms of this expansive greenhouse. Pitt students get in for free and the college discount is about half off regular admission.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This place is great just about anytime and for anything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Need an enjoyable 1 to 2 hour break from the outside world? This is the place!

From the Chihuly chandelier that bookends your entry and exit from this place, and everything in between, your visit will be breathtaking. We went as the Christmas show was opening, and as usual, it was very enticing. There are adventures around every turn ... always to the right as you are told when you first enter.

The number and types of orchids can be a little overwhelming. Just beautiful. But there is much more than just plants here. The train sets are pretty cool as are the Christmas trees decorated in different ways. And don't forget to find the little and large glass creations scattered everywhere.

It doesn't matter if you need to find a unique idea for a family trip, a romantic night out, entertaining out of town guests, or a place to escape for a few hours ... go to Phipps!

I would give this a rating of 5 if parking wasn't so challenging on the weekends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
468 helpful votes 468 helpful votes
“Pleasant Way to Spend 1.5 Hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My spouse and I visited Phipps Conservatory on a Friday afternoon in late November 2012 (on the Thanksgiving weekend). We had visited Phipps once previously, about 10 years prior, and we were pleased to see the new additions - the new entrance, greenhouse, tropical forest conservatory, new event space, and Chihuly sculptures installed around the property. In the warmer months, you can also explore outdoor gardens. Phipps is open late on Friday nights (until 10:00 pm, instead of the usual 5:00 pm closure). It takes approximately 1.5 hours to walk through all 15+ areas of the property. The greenhouses were decorated for Christmas, which was a pretty addition to the usual displays. (Last time we visited, it was mid-Fall, and we remember the seasonal florals being stunning as well.) There is an on-site café, as well as a lovely gift shop with interesting items for sale. Our visit was worth the $15 per person admission fee!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phipps Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Phipps Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phipps Conservatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.