We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went with a discount coupon, would go back and pay full price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sausalido - Pittsburgh

Sausalido - Pittsburgh
4621 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224
(412) 683-4575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sausalido - Pittsburgh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pearl
Transit: Throughout the neighborhood
Description: Sausalido is a intimate and classy B.Y.O.B. bistro and catering company focusing on fresh & seasonal European cuisine. Our culinary team"s passion for fine cuisine is evident by our attention to detail and the combination of fresh flavors that intrigue your pallet. Focusing on fresh ingredients, local produce, value, quality, knowledge, service and the independent identity, we are a premier destination in Pittsburgh's Little Italy, Bloomfield! Whether you are dining in or catering out food to your special event Sausalido prides itself on guest satisfaction and would love for you to come and enjoy the Sausalido experience!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went with a discount coupon, would go back and pay full price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We are native PIttsburghers and I must admit, had heard varying reviews of Sausalido, but took a chance on a Groupon. Everything about our visit was a pleasant surprise (except some service inconsistencies, see below). The seasonal menu included a super-yummy grilled zuchini - so fresh, with feta and red peppers and fresh herbs on top - and a gigantic smoked gouda slice (way too big for one person or even two); the biggest pork chop I ever saw with a side of about 1 pound worth of potatoes; and tilapia, well prepared but still, gigantic portions. I would prefer smaller portions and a reduction in prices, but I can't complain, I ate the pork and potatoes for days afterwards.
It's BYOB which is a very nice thing, too bad the neighborhood doesn't have a wine store but those in the know brought liquor and wine with them. We had a server who was friendly enough but a little sluggish; other tables had a really sharp server who fully informed them of the components of the dishes, and alerted them to options for substitution (soup for salad, for example). I wish our server would have done so, but it's a small beef.
It's a little pricey but given the portions and the fresh food, it's still a good value. We'll visit again and pay full price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quaint neighborhood BYOB find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

First time for us at this restaurant, had been established nearly 5 years, choices on the menu all sounded interesting, I went with crab cakes which were served over a risotto, nice but a bit salty, pork chop was excellent, pan seared sole was a special, also vey good. Unique bean dip for the bread with balsamic. Didn't realized salad came with entrée, excellent salad, I recommend the while balsamic dressing. Glad we made reservations for our party, not a huge place but did not feel crowded either. Nice ambiance with a couple tables on the sidewalk as well. Waitress knowledgeable and attentive. Minimal corkage fee. Would go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The food, atmosphere and service were all wonderful! We had dinner with a party of six and were very well taken care of the whole evening. Very tiny restaurant, so reservations are a must. Bring your own wine to enjoy with a nice selection of menu items. We shared three appetizers - the brown sugar bacon, smoked gouda, and the mussels - and they were all outstanding. Next, our group sampled a variety of dishes - risotto, pork chop, duck breast, chicken - and they were all delicious. The side salads were very tiny and served in little stainless steel bowls, so I may order a salad off the menu in the future. Portions of entrees are very generous, and there were leftovers to take home. Please do not let the comments about the restaurant size and number of tables deter you - it was very cozy and charming. A young couple at the table behind us in the window got engaged - which we all witnessed and the whole place spontaneously broke out in applause! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This restaurant looks like it would be a gem in a rather run-down area. The interior is cozy and inviting but the tables are way too close together, making it very difficult to leave the table for any reason. Half of our party were vegetarians and there was not much to choose from for us. The bread and bean dip and the salads with house dressing were good, as was the creme brûlée dessert. The salmon was tasty but was served on what seemed like a whole can of tasteless beans. The tilapia was too greasy. The ravioli was OK. Our server seemed disinterested in waiting on us. We went here based on reviews on this site. If I am in Pittsburgh again, I doubt I would return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming modern American restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We first went with a Groupon and decided to go back with some friends. The menu, billed as European, is actually more modern American. We shared 2 starters, shrimp bruschetta, which was really good, and quinoa meatballs in tomato sauce - they were also very good but we were all taken aback because there was clearly no meat, so meatballs is perhaps a bit misleading. Our main course were duck - looked beautiful, perfectly cooked; 2 had pork chops (the waiter didn't know what a French pork chop, as it was called on the menu, was so we had to explain to our companions) which they said were excellent; I had the chicken with rosemary which had a slightly gloopy sauce but the chicken was juicy and tender. Not a lot of taste of rosemary though. But overall a really good meal in a warm atmosphere. The waiter didn't know a lot about the menu, but that is a small quibble. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sausalido - Pittsburgh also viewed

 

Been to Sausalido - Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sausalido - Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.