We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much variety!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hokkaido Seafood Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hokkaido Seafood Buffet
4612 Browns Hill Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15217
412-421-1422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #292 of 1,873 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So much variety!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently tried this asian buffet for the first time. When we entered, we noticed that 80% of the diners were asian - took this to be a good sign! The variety of food choices at this buffet is remarkable & makes it impossible to sample even half of the items. Fresh sushi, Chinese entres, seafood, Hibachi grill, salad & dessert bars & more.
We'll be returning so we can try the items we missed the first time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    5
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the Burgh's better Asian Buffets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lunch is a pretty good deal but dinner seems a little pricey unless you are there to devour crab-legs.

The hibachi grill is great-pick your meats and veggies then hand to the chef to grill why you stand there.

The BEST array of sushi to pick from

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ahhh, crab legs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Great value at $16 pp...we went mostly for the crab legs and they were fantastic. They were kept full and tasted sweet and fresh unlike most oriental buffets. The rest of the buffet was very well presented, and the service was terrific.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Crablegs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I and a friend visited Hokkaido Seafood Buffet on Friday night 2-16-12. The restaurant was very busy but we were seated within 10 minutes. I was impressed with variety of foods offered and my wife and friend sampled a wide variety and were very pleased with the selection and quality. What sets this place apart from other Asian Buffets is the seafood. The snowcrab was the best I have tasted in over 20 years!!! Hokkaido also offers smaller crabs, fried and steamed, as well as a number of different shrimp dishes. The service was cheerful and excellent and the restaurant itself was clean and very nicely furnished.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good seafood buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

When we visit Pittsburgh we went to Hokkaido buffet. For 8$ lunch it was variety of food, especially seafood. Salads, sushi, deserts, grill, everytrhing fresh and tasty.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Seafood Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Hokkaido Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokkaido Seafood Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.