We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 North Shore Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Located directly between PNC Park and Heinz Field, this state of the art new hotel had everything from a helpful, friendly staff, to beautiful suites. Sure the price is high but there was nothing missing to give my family an excellent stay. The rooms have every technical set-up imaginable and the sectional sofas provide a relaxing area to enjoy the big screen entertainment center. Not one amenity is lacking and the location is perfect. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    160
    25
    18
    10
See reviews for
117
110
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed one night while driving through Penn. The location is great if you're seeing a game or concert-right across the street. We were mored interested in seeing town so we used the free shuttle to take us downtown and bring us back. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful. The shuttle driver even made sure we had his card so that we could call when we were ready to come back. Our room was absolutely beautiful! We stayed on the 4th floor with a view of the river. The decor was perfect and very soothing. We had a very large TV and a comfy couch. The king bed was great.The complementary breakfast was in a very pretty setting. Nothing hot, but more than sufficient. The only problem we had was with the A/C. It was working fine, but since this Hyatt is a "green" hotel, it went off and on while we were sleeping. The room would be very warm before the A/C kicked in again. A little uncomfortable, but better for the environment. I would definately recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Clean and recently built hotel. Staff was helpfull, and location was perfect. There were multiple decent eateries within close walking distance to this hotel which made the stay great. Right out the front door there there is a running trail that runs right along the river. Both stadiums are about a two minute walk from your doorstep, and there is a science museum, and casino also about a five minute walk away. Driving wise everything is easy to get to and traffic is managable when traveling to meetings. The room was spacious and had plenty of room so that you didn't feel cooped up. My only complaint was there was a moldy smell in my room and the hallway on the 5th floor. That's the only reason I couldn't give this stay a 5 out of 5

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel has the perfect location. It's between PNC park and Heinz Field and alongside the three rivers heritage trail. This trail is a paved path that is along the river. It allows you to walk to the stadiums, the science center, the casino, the Warhol museum, plus there are several bridges if you want to cross into downtown. There are many works of art and memorials along the trail, plus there are several plaques with information about the history of Pittsburgh. The hotel is easy to drive to using the West End Bridge. It has partly covered surface parking. Our room had a river view. The room itself was large, with a seating area, small desk, flat-screen TV, and king size bed. The bed area has a built in screen that separates it from the sitting area, allowing the two areas to be used at once. The shower is a large stall with a separate sink area, so that two people can easily dress at once. The bed was extremely comfortable with many pillows. The room also had a coffee maker and refrigerator. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. Our room was on the 7th floor and very quiet, in spite of numerous U2 fans staying there. There is a nice complimentary breakfast, with a variety of fresh fruit, cold and hot cereals, bagels/English muffins, and assorted beverages (including Tazo teas). There are several small tables and chairs near the breakfast area, so it never felt cramped. There is a small indoor pool. The water was too warm to be refreshing on a hot day, but it was nice to take a dip. I loved the location of this hotel and the amenities. I look forward to the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view, not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is an easy walk to either Heinz Field or PNC Park. There are also restaurants and bars close by. The rooms are large with a seperate seating area and were very clean. The staff were all very accomadating and patient, especially with a few guys who were boarderline obnoxious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Reserved two rooms with points for myself and family. Requested early check-in and a crib in one room. Both were provided. Hotel is fairly new. Nice complimentary breakfast, rooms were very nice and clean. The location is excellent - between the football and baseball stadiums. The shuttle was great -- we used it a number of times -- very prompt and they not only took us but also picked us up when we would call. Would definately stay there again. Oh -- and the beds are GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rootstown, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was nice and great location to the stadiium. The price was way overboard for what you get here. It is a nice place but not nice enough to justify the cost. We have stayed at Hiltons for less money with much more to offer. Keep in mind that the hotel offers a free shuttle within 3-5 miles radius so save your money and use this free service. Also good to know is that I could not believe that they charged us $18 to park our car in the hotel parking lot. I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore

Address: 260 North Shore Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.