We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic Mexican fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Campesino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Campesino
460 Home Drive, Pittsburgh, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
pgh, pa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“authentic Mexican fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Always enjoy this little place in Monroeville which is now a big place. Chips and salsa are the bomb and the drinks are very good. I usually try the burito with beans and rice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel we were staying in had a 15% off discount if you showed your room key. Enjoyed the food & margaritas were Great! Forgot to show room key after paying, so the server came back & gave us a $10 gift check.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. We go here all the time. Not only is the food good but the price is great. You can't beat it. The pictures of beer are worth it and the service is excellant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I would do a hat dance for this Mexican Cuisine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great restaurant. Good food. Best poblano pepper in town. Big 23 ounce dos x drafts for $3.50. How can you beat that price. This is a local family owned chain with 4 restaurants.

Menu is large and very reasonable. Belly band busting dinners for 9.50 to 11.00. I love the chips. Crisp and made here. Order the hot salsa with the chips http://always.complimentary!

Owners and staff very welcoming. Overall the food is much better than national chains but not quite Mexico City.

Vote from me as best mexican in Pittsburgh!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Campesino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.