We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Modern Hotel and Loving it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ultra Modern Hotel and Loving it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great Hotel--

This is a fully updated hotel which includes a modern room, updated bathroom, and fully operational wi-fi that really works (free too). Additionally, this facility includes an ultra modern health club and two swimming pools on premise.

Staying at this place is a no brainer when you are in Pittsburg. The location even includes free parking, continental breakfast in the lobby and a small shopping mall with all the basics.

The only con is that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear conversations in the hallway-- however, a minor price to pay at this price point.

See you there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
sanjuan787,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel and value added amenities. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you’ll visit us again the next time you travel to Pittsburgh. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    69
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
115
28
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really nice decor and great staff. Kind of an odd "front door" lobby arrangement, but once you get in, it is classy. I should have slept well, but the smoke alarm was flashing a light all night. Wouldn't have bothered most people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
kansaskarenanne,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and we’re glad you liked our hotel and friendly staff. I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a restful stay due to the light on the smoke alarm. We value your business and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend (July 5-7, 2013) and loved the quiet strip mall atmosphere. It is right across the lot from a great coffee shop, which we visited twice.

The only drawback was the parking garage which was a bit of a pain, but at least it was free - huge perk.

The breakfast was very nice, lots to choose from with hot options, which was appreciated. :)

We did not use the gym or pool which was attached to the hotel, but it looked very nice.

We had one snafu: the glass shelving in the refrigerator broke one morning. We immediately called the front desk and told them of the situation, and they advised that someone would be up to clean it up immediately. We left about 10 minutes after calling and were gone about 6 hours. Came back and the glass was never touched. With two children in the room, this was a safety issue. Called again. Someone came with a broom and dust pan, and did not clean very well. We picked up shards of glass for the rest of the weekend from that area, and always had to wear shoes in the room. Bad bad bad. Where was the vacuum? Common sense.

That all being said, I do recommend this hotel - just don't break anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
EricaandJayinPA,
We appreciate you writing a review and sharing your recommendations of our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and all the nearby options that our central location has to offer. We are sorry for the incident you experienced with the broken glass from the refrigerator. Your feedback is important to us and we apologize that proper techniques were not administered when cleaning the broken glass. I have addressed this with our team to heighten awareness of such issues and improve our service. We value you as our guest and hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed overnight here to visit CMU. The hotel is located in a shopping center -- which was great because there's a high-end fitness club attached (and a parking garage, also convenient). Room spotless and modern with separate work area. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
drJessie,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting CMU and taking time to write a review about your experience. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, and found our convenient location to offer many conveniences for your travel needs. We hope you’ll return for another visit again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We bailed on a private rental we'd arranged for two nights in Pittsburgh after only one night and ran screaming to this hotel. I'd scoped it out online when arranging our trip, and the location didn't seem esp appealing, but once oriented in Pittsburgh (and needing very much to get away from the terrible place we'd booked) we liked the location, and loved the free parking! Not sure if it's convenient to public transit, as we used our rent car, but it was convenient to a Trader Joe's, and a bunch of well-reviewed restaurants on Penn Circle. Our room was large, airy, quiet, comfortable, very modern vibe, and front desk was beyond helpful. We used points to book, so can't really say how it compares price-value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
LuckyWest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We’re glad you enjoyed our location, free parking, helpful staff, as well as our comfortable accommodations. Please plan to visit us again soon the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel for one night. The front desk gave me all helpful information, including the shuttle to CMU. Unfortunately, I did not reserve the shuttle for next morning early enough. In the morning, I had to take a taxi to CMU. I did use the shuttle in the afternoon (picked up at CMU and then back). I also used the fitness next door. The hotel has a very nice night bar in the breakfast area. This is a very unique feature among similar hotels. The breakfast room is huge. The free apples were my favorite thing that this hotel offered. The room was nice, too. Overall, this brand new hotel is just amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
KMXlean,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our hotel. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent the night of May 10 and the day of May 11, 2013 at this hotel. We were having a baby shower for our Daughter-in-Law. The staff went out of their way to set up the tables and chairs in their lovely meeting room. We had a great time, our guests had no trouble finding the hotel, and it was a lovely day.
This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in! The rooms and common areas are immaculate!
It is also very quiet at night, even though there were wedding parties and other groups staying there!
Breakfast was the usual fare, although the food was better on our last visit. They apparantly got a new cook and the food suffers for it. They have a nice selection of food and drink for their free breakfast.
I enjoyed walking next door to do a little shopping at Anthropologie and we had lunch at Panera Bread which sits right under the hotel.
When the Bakery Square complex is complete it will be a great place to spend a weekend or longer exploring the Square and the local attractions.
Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for another enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: This trip we were on the 5th floor again on the front side of the hotel facing Penn Ave. It was sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Karen and Bob L,
Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Bakery Square. We appreciate you selecting our hotel to host your Daughter-in-Law’s baby shower, and we’re glad you had a lovely day. I’m pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our cleanliness, quiet rooms, and excellent service. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Justin Blair, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.