We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times before. We live in Pittsburgh and use this as a "stay cation" sometime with our son and as a couple. It's a beautiful property with large, comfortable rooms. there is a bar in the lobby, breakfast is comp and always good. Pools, fitness center, shops are all connected in Bakery Square. The Coffee Tree Roasters have the best coffee ever. Down the road is a Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Target and some great restaurants in Penn Circle and Ellsworth Ave. It's always a nice getaway for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
loribob67,
Thank you for your review, and thank you for making us your getaway hotel. We're delighted to know that you enjoy our hotel, staff, and surrounding area. We hope you'll return to Bakery Square for another enjoyable weekend, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    69
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
115
28
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was supposed to stay at Springhill Suites Bakery Square for three days for a training conference in nearby Shadyside. Half way through the first day of the training, we were informed the rest of the conference would be cancelled because of Hurricane Sandy. Springhill suites was very understanding, and only charged me for the first night I had spent there, even though I didn't check out until 2pm my second day. I will definitely stay here again when I return for my rescheduled training conference.

My room was very clean and neat. I loved the soft bed, though fans of firm mattresses may not find it to their taste. It was nice to be able to relax on the sofa with my laptop. The wireless internet was fast and easy to connect to. My room was on the second floor, but I didn't hear any traffic noise. I think I would have liked a room on a higher level simply so I had a better view. My room overlooked a bus depot. The Panera Bread on the first floor is very convenient and even delivers to your room with a minimum purchase. I didn't have a chance to use the attached Urban Fitness, but it looked like a very nice facility.

My only complaint is that the complimentary shuttle is not on a loop, it is on a reservation basis. The time I needed the shuttle to get me to my conference was already taken, so I was forced to drive my car to my training site. It was a parking nightmare, with no public lots within walking distance. I had to park on the street and leave the training every two hours to put more quarters in the meter. Though, the staff at the front desk was very friendly and did provide me with a map and directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Celeste S,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you were our guest and enjoyed your visit. I'm happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your changing schedule and hope you will be able to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'll be up front about the one criticism of the Springhill Suites, Bakery Square, My wife and I have two teenagers (well, 12 and almost 14). We like to travel, but we, all of us, hate to share rooms with each other. They want to watch crap teenage TV, while we hardly watch TV at all. They apparently like to squabble, and we have gotten over that. We really need rooms that separate our sleeping accommodations.I expect that from a "suite" It is also nice to have at least minimal cooking provided . When we got to our room at the Bakery Square, we found it nicely appointed, but with only one room, and one TV, with beds next to each other. Fridge, but not even a microwave. There was a small screened-off area with a desk and a sleeper sofa, which is where our son set up camp with the laptop. An inquiry to the desk informed us that all rooms were this way, no real "suites" as we understood them. It was really like a large double queen bed room, not a suite. I don't think their website is deceptive. I should have checked more thoroughly, but it was recommended for a family event, and I just went with it. We got by, but it what not what we expected.

I had no problems otherwise. Bakery Square was nice, clean, comfy beds, good comp breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Very modern decor, about which I could not care less. Oh, also access to two pools, one small one on the first floor, the other, large, for lap swimming, that could be accessed through the desk. Free parking on the weekend at the garage just steps away from the lobby was really nice.
So, fine place to stay, but don't expect suites with separate rooms to protect you from your children, or whatever.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
newt46,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you and your family stayed with us, and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our suites are spacious and layed out in a way to accomodate families, but I understand your thoughts about giving teens their space. I'm glad you liked our breakfast, pools, and staff as well! We hope you'll plan to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is not a five star hotel, but its five stars for:
Behind clean and super comfy
Convenient to a beautiful fitness center (huge)
Yummy breakfast
Close to my relatives
Close to shops
Great parking
Whenever I visit home, I stay here.

Room Tip: All my rooms have been wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Rozalia J,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear from you and learn of your great visits with us. I'm glad you choose SpringHill Suites when visiting relatives! We love having you as our guest and hope you'll continue staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with a group for a wedding and did not have much of a chance to explore the surrounding area much. However the room was well laid out, included a generous lounging and work area, and an extremely comfortable bed. Daily breakfasts with a variety of options help get your day going. There is a shuttle service available to take you to the zoo, which is ranked #5 in the country. The city itself has been ranked one of the most livable as well. This was my second stay at a SpringHill Suites and I'm finding the chain itself an attractive option for future accommodations. There was even 'Hybrid Only' parking which made our car feel like a VIP compared to everyone else's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Luke S,
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you liked our suites, and pleased you found our beds extremely comfortable. Glad to hear you liked the special parking too. We welcome you as a SpringHill Suites fan, and hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We love the Spring Hill Suites. This was our third visit and everything was just top notch. I even used my wonderful TripAdvisor tote bag this trip. The rates have increased with the popularity of the property, however, there is good reason. The rooms are so comfortable and spacious that you feel like you are staying in a studio apartment. The staff is great. Breakfast has lots of options and has been consistantly good. This property still has all the great qualities you expect and more. (Do we have spellcheck yet?)

Room Tip: There is a bus barn behind the property, however, we found that is has less street noise than the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
LESLK,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to have had you return for another great visit. I appreciate your compliments and hope you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night last week because I was to see a specialist at UPMC/Presbyterian hospital the next day.
Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfy and our stay was very nice.
The breakfast is wonderful with real scrambled eggs with or without cheese, waffles, oatmeal with every fresh topping you could think of. My husband thought the turkey bacon was great!
Best breakfast we've ever had.
Staff was courteous and friendly and very helpful with all our needs. Our trip to UPMC the next day took us 10 minutes.
This hotel is geared toward the business traveler and has many amenities. All in all our one night stay was lovely, not just because our son works there! Would stay here anytime.!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor facing the bus garages and we found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Karen and Bob L,
Thank you for your delightful review. We loved having you as our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased you liked our delicious breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.