We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding weekend with our then 6 month old daughter. We were lucky enough to be able to switch rooms, as we were first given a room on the noisy first floor, near the breakfast and lounge area. We were moved to a higher floor, and the room was very clean and nice. There was a "pak-n-play" promptly delivered to our room, and assembled. I will say that the bathroom set up is awkward (seperate shower and toilet rooms) and not having a bathtub made it difficult to bathe our daughter. The pool was a nice addition, and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The parking situation is pretty labor intensive, up the ramp, down and around, and then down the stairs/elevator to reach the hotel each time, however it was free of charge.

Overall, this hotel was clean and comfortable and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor- away from the noise of the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks TravelShopGirlVT for the review of your experience and your recommendation. I am glad my team was able to accommodate your needs. Our breakfast is something we work hard on and I am thrilled you enjoyed it! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Attentively,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    69
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
115
28
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Stayed overnight during a business trip. Clean, contemporary upgraded rooms in this new hotel. Free wifi and breakfast. Only complaint was the WC (toilet is separate from shower) had a pocket door with no inside handle!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The decor was modern and clean. The room was comfortable, clean, and while the layout was a little odd (separate toilet area with small sink right next to the shower and sink w/counter area - both had pocket/sliding doors - hard to explain but had to walk out of the toilet room and then walk back into the shower area) it had everything you need. My room looked out onto Penn Ave - was very quiet at night. Parking (which was free with validation from the front desk) is in a garage connected to the hotel by a covered walkway on the 4th floor then down the elevator to the lobby. The gym is on the other end of the covered walkway from the parking garage. Hotel guests get free use of the the gym (even fitness classes). No bathtubs in the hotel room (which isn't a problem for most travelers but if you have a young child with you it could be an issue). Staff was amazing - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent - breakfast meats, eggs, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, and waffles. The hotel also provides a bar menu for room service in the evenings. Only complaint is that there wasn't much within walking distance (a coffeehouse that I didn't try is the only thing I saw). There are a couple of restaurants that deliver and there is also a delivery service for a variety of restaurants available (with a relatively expensive added charge). Looks like it's still a rather new area and hasn't attracted any restaurants yet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

SpringHill Suites by Marriott are comfortable hotels perfect for business or pleasure travelers. The SpringHill Suites at Bakery Square is the newest to open in Pittsburgh and I was very pleased with my choice to stay there.

Parking at the hotel is free, which is always a bonus for any urban hotel. The lobby is typical for the brand and it was fresh, bright and very clean. The guest rooms were done in the new SpringHill style - I like the modern vibe I get from them, but I have yet to figure out why the toilet/sink are separated from the shower by a closet between them. Very odd. In the morning, the hotel offers an excellent breakfast - eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, etc. and all for free. Internet service is also offered free of charge.

Perhaps my favorite aspect of this hotel was that it was connected to an Urban Fitness gym. Even better - guests at the hotel have full use of the gym. What a deal! I actually regretted moving to the Renaissance downtown - this hotel was a far better value given all that it offered; while the location was a bit inconvenient, I would deal with that con for all the pros.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

If I could give this hotel a rating of zero, I would do it. My wife and I were staying at Springhill Suites with our 8-month-old son for weekend of relaxation while visiting Pittsburgh. The hotel was completely overbooked, standard amenities were not provided, and the employees simply were not able to keep up.

On the first evening, we went to give our son his nightly bath and the tub could not be filled b/c the standard tub stopper thats a part of every tub ever made was missing. We called down to the front desk and they assured us someone would bring up a drain stopper right away. We waited. A drain stopper was never sent and it became too late to bathe our son. Moreover until we called back to learn none was coming no one bothered even to call us back.

The next morning we called again to ask for a drain stopper. The front desk attendant responded, "Oh yes.. We forgot. Someone will bring it right up." Three hours later it was never sent. Again no one bothered to call us back, and when finally we had to leave for the day, we called down again to learn that they did not find it again. Finally, they told us someone would go out and buy the stopper so we could give our child a bath. It was not until we returned again that night to our room that FINALLY a stopp for the tub drain was replaced in the room.

On the second night of the stay, our frustrations with this hotel and the staff grew even more. An unruly crowd could be heard right outside of our window on the lower outside deck. When it reached 11:30 pm and my wife, baby, and I were still all wide awake, my patience had worn out. I called down to the front desk to tell them about the noise and they said they would take care of it. After 15 minutes, the noise had only grown louder. I called down again and was informed that a wedding was booked here and the outdoor area was being used for the night. At 12:30 am, I went down to ask if there could be ANY other solution. The front desk attendant refused to switch our room. We spent almost the entire night awake and dealing with clearly belligerent party-goers screaming outside of our room.

Hotels are supposed to provide, first and foremost, a comfortable place to SLEEP. I understand that hotels book wedding parties often, but it should never interfere with the comfort of other guests. While we were checking out, I explained to the manager that our stay was unacceptable and that I would like a refund. He told me that there was nothing he could do.

Our family visits the Pittsburgh area very often and, needless to say, we will NEVER be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear MF,

Our standard rooms feature showers which are very popular with our guests; we only have a handful of rooms with bath-tubs as those are features of our accessible rooms. After you checked in you brought to our attention that you preferred a bathtub, which we were able to accommodate. This was an unusual item to be missing from the room, and moving forward we will make sure it is not overlooked, and that we have replacements on hand.

We understand that noise complaints must be handled effectively. No two noise issues are the same, so for consistency we adhere to a strict policy that extends a courtesy warning, with the exception of extraordinary circumstances. In response to your calls that evening we vacated the area and locked out the patio outside your guestroom.
Thank you for your time and I hope you reconsider and join us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

All hotels in oakland were booked so we took a chance. Location is perfect,free parking, breakfast and wifi. Excellent customer service and great value ( u pitt discount).

Microwave and fridge in room, trader joes less than 1/2 mile away. If using gps, type in intersection - penn and fifth, bakery square not recognized. Skip the pool...use the free state of the art fitness center instead. Free shuttle also available

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Never stayed in a Springhill before and was pleasantly surprised. Nice and new, chic- staff was great -nearby restaurants were great - a bit overpriced. The only thing is to be prepared if you approach from the east. You go thru some very sketchy neighborhoods but things get better as you get near. Felt like turning around until we got close. BTW, Pittsburgh is an undiscovered jewel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#13 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.