We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indian Mound, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I traveled to Pittsburgh last week on business. The normal Residence In I would stay at was booked solid all week, so I had to pick a different location. I stayed at the SpringHill Suites at Bakery Square. The hotel was very nice! Everything seemed new and was very well kept. The staff was helpful and attentive to my needs.

It took about 20 minutes to get to Smallman Street each morning - if you need to get to downtown, you may want to choose a different hotel. This is an area that Google is trying to revive. The hotel is wonderful, but I didn't feel safe enough to get out and walk in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    72
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
123
30
16
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here Labor Day weekend as an escape. The place is very chic. The lobby is absolutely fabulous. Justin was attentive and the lady at the bar was very friendly. The hotel is new and extremely clean. The room is (king) ample and I love that the toilet is separate (and they thought to put a sink in) from shower. I could hear hallway noise, however no noise from bedroom. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel on a family trip and couldn't be more pleased. The location is outside of the downtown core, but given the layout of Pittsburgh it was easy to travel downtown or to the South Side. It was conveniently located just a short drive away from CMU and the Carnegie Institute.

Given that this is a city location you can't park in front of the hotel. Free parking is available in an attached garage which is shared with a busy health club. The property appears to be new and all the public spaces were spotless clean and attractive in a modern, minimalist fashion which looks much nicer in person than in photos. An unremarkable, but free, breakfast is included in the room rate featuring the typical pastry, cereal, yogurt, fruit & coffee selections.

The guest room was great. There was a separate sitting area with a nice desk work area. This was a very comfortable area to sit and watch television. Our room had two extremely comfortable queen beds with very nice linens. There was no view to speak of from our room, but it was totally quiet and perfect for a good nights sleep. The bathroom was split into two distinct rooms: One had a large stall shower along with a sink and vanity while the other contained the toilet and a smaller sink. This arrangement is ideal if more than one person will be in the room. The decor, like the public spaces, was modern and minimal, but not stark. It was a wonderful restful space to spend time. Complements to the housekeeping staff: I have very high standards and all aspects of the guest room cleanliness were best in class.

If this location works for your next visit to Pittsburgh I would be hard pressed to imagine better accommodations. I highly recommend the SpringHill Suites at Bakery Square and will stay here on my next visit to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Beautiful new hotel; easily accessible; fabulous breakfast; staff that goes out of their way to find you restaurants, directions, extra towels, etc. Can't say enough. One of the best hotel experiences we've had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My teenage son and I stayed here for two nights. Highlights: huge, excellent health club next door, accessible without going outside - free to hotel guests! The hotel lobby area and rooms are a decorator's dream - lots of color and texture. The room includes a small refrigerator and microwave, as well as a desk for working. High speed wireless and wired connections in the room. My room had two narrow bathrooms, each with a sliding door. One had the toilet and a small sink. The wood sliding door was heavy and quite difficult to move. The other room had a large shower and large sink with a counter. The door to that bathroom had frosted glass and moved much more easily. Good free breakfast in the lobby, including cereal, whole fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausage, muffins, waffles, coffee and juice, milk, ...

The parking is a little odd - you take a ramp right up to the 4th level of the parking garage - which allows you to park near the elevators, go down to the 2nd floor and walk across an interior walkway to the lobby level of the hotel. To exit the parking structure (or enter it from the other side), you have to drive all the way down, circling around.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Penn Avenue. Behind the hotel is the bus depot for the regional transit syste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here with the family during a road trip vacation. Loved the location. Lots of activity in this area with a new Target and a relatively new Whole Foods close by; a Coffee Tree is steps away. Close to the zoo. Easy to get downtown. Close to some good restaurants on Highland Ave just into Shady Side. Swimmers take note: you have access to the health club in the same complex. But, kids cannot go the club so they have to be content with a puny pool on premises. The staff is great. The experience is nice--a typical SpringHill Suites experience (that is good!) with a decent breakfast, nice-sized room, two sinks, a fridge and the toilet is in a separate "room" from the shower.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was my first time at SpringHill Suites and I must say that I am impressed. The hotel is new and has a sleek, modern look for a budget hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The linens were better than average and the bathroom was perfect for business travel. I would recommend this hotel for business or vacation. The surrounding location is fine with nice shops, Frick park and several restaurants within walking distance. Also, there is a free shuttle for any trip within three miles!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square

Address: 134 Bakery Square Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pittsburgh hotel is ideally located in the innovative lifestyle Bakery Square Complex in Pittsburgh's East End. Our SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square is just minutes to Carnegie Mellon University, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, and RIDC Park. Enjoy our all-suite accommodations, complimentary BRAND NEW breakfast options featuring hot and healthy options, and free Wi-Fi. Maintain your healthy lifestyle while on the road with complimentary unlimited access to adjacent LA Fitness. While staying at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square shop at Anthropologie, grab lunch at Jimmy John's and catch up with friends at Coffee Tree Roasters, all located in the Bakery Square complex. Then enjoy a cocktail and light dinner at our lobby bar. Among Pittsburgh hotels, the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pittsburgh Bakery Square hotel stands above the rest with both superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Bakery Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.