We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #47 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I chose this hotel for my friends bachelorette party. We had several out of town guests. How is it possible at 6 pm to only have 1 of my 2 rooms available? I booked 1 month ahead with a request of adjoining rooms and barely had them on the same floor! Will not stay ever again. Thank goodness they are building a Hyatt close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    87
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
73
33
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great stay at this SpringHill Suites last weekend, while visiting our daughter at the University of Pittsburgh. I had read the reviews of the loud trains after I had booked, but our room was fortunately located on the river side of the building and on the top floor - so train noise was not an issue. This hotel is located close to restaurants and shopping on the SouthSide, and close to Carson Street and it's multiple bars and drinking establishments that the college crowd likes to visit on the weekends. We did take part in a pub crawl - check out the Lava Lounge for 80's and Motown nights - really fun! Everyone was friendly and accomodating at the hotel and the breakfast bar was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Seriously?! How are you suppose to sleep? I'll never stay here again. Nice hotel, but I can't believe they'll get any return visitors given all the train noise. I can't believe Marriott would allow such a location. Isn't the idea to "sleep" at night?

Room Tip: On the other side from the train tracks. That might not even help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as we toured UPMC and Steelers/Pitt football facility. 5 minute walk. Rooms were spotless and driver found us a restaurant upon our arrival at 1030 pm. Only downside was no insight restaurant, but that is Springhill model. Great location to South works.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Awesome to stay right at Southside. The location of nearby attractions is the real selling point. But seriously, who builds a beautiful hotel right ON a train track? We stayed two nights......should have left after the first. We hardly slept at all. We were top floor, so being high up does NOT muffle the train horns. Incredibly overpriced for the train issue. It's really sad because the hotel is clean and beautiful. We would never stay here again. And......$14 to park in an outside lot. Really?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Pittsburgh for the weekend. Wanted to stay on the South Side. Read the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical about the train noise but I barely even know it's there. The location is great for all the fantastic bars and shopping in the area. Would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend in Pittsburgh's South Side.
This Hotel was located in walking distance of a really fun area. It sits along the river so the view from the room was very nice. The rooms are clean, with modern decor, includes breadfast.
It was cold while we were walking along the miles of river path, but I am sure that any other time of the year would be even nicer. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.