We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In a great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here as we toured UPMC and Steelers/Pitt football facility. 5 minute walk. Rooms were spotless and driver found us a restaurant upon our arrival at 1030 pm. Only downside was no insight restaurant, but that is Springhill model. Great location to South works.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
58
26
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Awesome to stay right at Southside. The location of nearby attractions is the real selling point. But seriously, who builds a beautiful hotel right ON a train track? We stayed two nights......should have left after the first. We hardly slept at all. We were top floor, so being high up does NOT muffle the train horns. Incredibly overpriced for the train issue. It's really sad because the hotel is clean and beautiful. We would never stay here again. And......$14 to park in an outside lot. Really?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Pittsburgh for the weekend. Wanted to stay on the South Side. Read the reviews of others on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical about the train noise but I barely even know it's there. The location is great for all the fantastic bars and shopping in the area. Would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend in Pittsburgh's South Side.
This Hotel was located in walking distance of a really fun area. It sits along the river so the view from the room was very nice. The rooms are clean, with modern decor, includes breadfast.
It was cold while we were walking along the miles of river path, but I am sure that any other time of the year would be even nicer. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a really nice hotel, but right next to it is the exposed portion of the rail way. Unfortunately my foom was on the same side of the hotel as the railroad. It is a very busy railway. Perhaps they will cover it like they did over in the works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a night from the suburbs; we also are loyal Marriott customers so were glad the one hotel by the Southside Works was Marriott owned. The interior is like a breath of fresh air-----especially when you get to your room; I like traditional but it felt so good to be in modern, sleek, fresh surroundings. It wasn't the same old, same old. Everyone was friendly and sincerely wanted to make sure you were enjoying your stay. Our room looked over the river and city---perfect. I love trains so I wouldn't have minded that side either. It's on the waterfront trail so we got our exercise that way but their fitness room looked as good as most. It's in very close walking distance to several good restaurants so there is absolutely no need for a cab. We bounced between 4 places, crossed the street and were back in our room. The free breakfast in the morning is better than most----plenty of sitting space----and again, they wanted to make sure you had what you wanted. $14 parking is lower than most cities; although it is an outside parking lot------but again, you save on cab fares or more parking fees if you use your car. There's a Hyatt being built close by but for our money, we'll head back to SpringHill!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location ... there are few hotels right in southside, and this is within walking distance of all of the restaurants/shopping/bars. I stayed here with a couple friends for a weekend.
The hotel IS right near the train tracks but honestly I didn't notice them at all ... neither did the friends I stayed with. The room was huge, very clean, and comfortable. It had a bar area with a microwave and refridgerator, which was useful. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was nicer than most but still average - eggs, bagels, waffles, etc. The hotel offered a free shuttle that took you anywhere within ~5 miles, which we used both nights. Parking was outrageous ($14/day).
The stay was nice and comfortable, but for the price, it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works

Address: 2950 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.